Writers logo

A Parting letter to April

April taught me to be kinder to myself and love myself a little more.

By Hridya SharmaPublished 21 days ago 3 min read
Like

Dear April- A parting letter to all of your imperfections and mundanity

The abundance and scarcity of existence is a rite of passage of time, its magnanimous flair leaves us astounded and keeps us in wonder of how it transforms its course over the dualities of the world we live in. Though fleeting, time imprints certain memories that can never be forgotten, that dwell both in amazement and animosity, in smiles and sadness, in rage and lavishness, in tears and fears. 2024 has been a roller coaster ride for all of us, plonking us from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows, in this steady stride of this year, we bid adieu to the month of the onset of Spring- April.

Letting life flow through, not forcing anything, and most importantly, not resisting change are the keys to feeling liberated. Our lives get better, in my opinion, in direct proportion to the frequency with which we encounter circumstances that compel us to question our deeply ingrained convictions and distorted perspectives in order to become better versions of ourselves. We fail to develop into the individuals we were destined to be when we become overly at ease in the comfort zones we create for ourselves.

April, the beauty of your presence was enthralling yet excruciating. I spent my days in the contradictions of merriment and melancholy, in the warmth of sunlight and smiles and the somberness of midnight and tears. You witnessed me through it all, the moments where I cried in pain and the times when I was living every day in the beauty of gratitude. I will never be able to forget every moment I spent in your embrace, but here are the most beautiful learnings that I grasped in your embosom.

  • Trusting the divine timing, nothing that is ever meant for you will lose its way to you
  • The pain, the agony and the joy and merriment are all parts of humanness, acceptance of wherever you are and how you are is the key to living.
  • No one is coming from the stars to save you from your darkness, be the light.
  • It is in the mundane dwells of your mortality that you find the greatest of pleasures, there is immeasurable joy in small things- like having your coffee while watching your sunset, hugging your best friend or falling in love with the smell of the mud while watering the plants.
  • Be grateful for the ones who love you, not everybody is that fortunate to have people in their life that they can call their own.
  • You are not worthy in the terms of only and if, you are worthy because you are, just because a beautiful soul like you exists, not in the conditionalities of your achievement or success.
  • You might not believe this but you have a lot of silent lovers, the ones who smile every time your name is mentioned in a conversation, the barista you smiled at when he took your name incorrectly, the woman who still remembers how you were kind to her, the random person who saw you walking across a certain street and admired how beautiful your smile wad

Lastly, I learnt to not take myself so seriously. April taught me to be kinder to myself and love myself a little more.

To April,

You fostered the belief of light I can be,

Even when the darkness around me surmounted the goodness around me,

In the journey of unlearning and learning the lessons that life imparts,

April, your warmth, will always have a special place in my heart.

-Hridya

Writing ExerciseWriter's BlockVocalStream of ConsciousnessShoutoutResourcesPublishingPromptsProcessLifeInterviewsInspirationGuidesCommunityChallengeAdviceAchievements
Like

About the Creator

Hridya Sharma

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.