Writers logo

A Druid and an Elf Walk in a Tavern

The first chapter I wrote that got me started

By Georges-Henri DaiglePublished 9 months ago 2 min read
Like
A Druid and an Elf Walk in a Tavern
Photo by Chris Spiegl on Unsplash

The spark of an idea came to me one day when I was working. I had never written for my own enjoyment before, and I found myself imagining the characters my wife and I had played for a Dungeons and Dragons campaign going on adventures of their own. Once I got home, I pulled out the computer and started typing away until I had a full chapter, that I titled “A Druid and an Elf Walk in a Tavern”.

I wrote a few lines every day before leaving for work, thought about what I wanted to do while I was away, then wrote some more as soon as I got home. I soon ended up with a book, then I did the next logical thing; I started writing the sequel, then the next sequel.

At some point in between writing these stories, I came across Vocal and the first challenge I would enter, titled ‘The Runaway Train’, for which my entry was ‘Old Number 139’. The challenges have given me varying levels of interest since I joined, but that first one was important to me, if only because it led to my participation in several others.

Not long after, I finished writing my first draft for my first book, I asked a friend to help me review my first work, and got many pointers, such as being more descriptive of surroundings, or moods. Other useful pointers came both from my friend and from reviewing my own work, such as describing body language to let readers know how characters feel. I had a habit of creating run-on sentences and using words such as ‘began’, or ‘started’ every few paragraphs when a character initiated an action.

It has been nearly two years since I started on this writing journey, after not having written a thing save for inspection documents for work. I don’t know where this will lead me, but I aim to continue improving and maybe even get published on day.

ChallengeProcessLifeAchievements
Like

About the Creator

Georges-Henri Daigle

Trying to make sense of the worlds in my head, since the one outside often doesn't.

I mainly write fantasy, sci-fi and mystery, though I see no reason to limit myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.