Writers logo

500 Tales

Milestone Musings

By Mother CombsPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Photo by Thiago Giardini on Pexels

I would write 500 tales.

And I would write 500 more.

Just to be the writer who wrote 1000 tales.

And to lift you.

I would write 500 tales.

And I would write 500 more.

Just to be the writer who writes 1000 tales.

And thank you with my words.

Oh, I would write 500 tales.

And I would write 500 more.

Just to be the writer who writes 1000 tales.

To help you understand your uniqueness.

**********************************************************************

Yeah, I know; I just plagiarized a song. I took it, beat the heck out of it, and made it shape to my own. It is not as good as the original, but more fitting for my article. I hope my readers and fellow writers will forgive me for this blatant, malignant disregard for classic music, this once

This article wouldn’t be a Mother Combs Milestone piece if I didn’t have some musings and advice, so here goes:

  • Making friends on Vocal has been well worth my time and energy. Vocal friends will be the ones who read your articles, stories, and poems. They will give you the feedback you require to grow as a writer. No one understands what you go through as a writer but another writer.
  • Subscribers do you no good if they never read your stuff. Really. This is one reason you need to write engaging content, no matter what you choose to write.
  • I read every one of my subscription stories, and when done, I click the heart. If I like the story, I leave a comment behind. If in a hurry, you get a sticker comment; if I’ve got the time, you get an actual text comment.
  • Only you can stop yourself from writing, no one else. Don’t be that sh*t. Write something, anything. Let your ideas flow. Unleash your creativity. It doesn’t matter what you write about; just write. Don’t let your being afraid stop you from doing what you love.
  • I’m deathly afraid of snakes. Deathly.
  • I’ll catch a lizard and play with it. Let it run up my arms or in my hair.
  • I name the wolf spiders around my house.
  • Wear what you are comfortable with when writing for obvious reasons.
  • Don’t forget to put your pants on when you answer the door. No explanation.
  • Writing is hard work. You can’t just give up just because it takes longer than 30 to write a poem or some crap like that. That is why you must write every day. Practice. Practice. Practice. That’s the only way you’ll birth a masterpiece in less than six months.
  • Writing is fun. There are so many topics and ideas to write about. So many different prompt combinations. Oh, the possibilities for one picture are endless. So do it your way, and HAVE FUN!
  • Don't stare at your stats all day. They only update once daily, anyway.
  • Go outside, take a walk, and get inspired. You won’t be inspired cooped inside the house all the time.
  • Look for a prompt if you don’t know what to write about. Vocal is full of them. Google can supply a fair amount of ideas also. There is no end to the ideas for you to write about. Some Facebook groups even have prompts and challenges of their own. If you can’t find one, ask someone. “Hey, know of any good challenges?”

That’s all for now; I hope you all enjoyed my ramblings.I’d like to add something before I go: Thank you to everyone for reading my work. Without the encouragement you have given me, I would never have made it this far. Thank you all from the bottom of my heart.

By Howie R on Unsplash

AdviceInspirationCommunityAchievements

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Wooohooooo congratulations on 500 pieces! Also, now I know why sometimes you just comment a green heart or something else. All this while, whenever I see that, I would think that you had nothing to say about what you read. Lol 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Congratulations on your milestone. This is wonderful... I especially enjoyed your advice at the end!!!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Woohoo!!! Congratulations on your 500 tale!!! Love it and your advice!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Lana V Lynx8 months ago

    So lovely! Got some new insights into who Sharon Combs is.

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Lol...even though I love that song and would normally be up in arms about the roughing up of it...I appreciate the sentiment and think you did a fine job! Congratulations on 500 pieces! Funny old timing...I just hit that milestone today too!

  • Daphsam8 months ago

    Congratulations! That is a fantastic accomplishment! Thank you for the advice- yes stop staring at the followers!! Will work on that and to remind myself to have fun.

Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.