Writers logo

2024 Breaking Through

A Love Letter To Vocal Media

By DaphsamPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
2024 Breaking Through
Photo by Unseen Studio on Unsplash

Dear Vocal Media,

We have been in this relationship for over three months now. I have read and contributed stories and tried my hand at several writing challenges. And this is what I have learned from you. Your platform has motivated me to become a better writer. Thanks to your wordsmith storytellers, they have inspired me to come out of my tortoise shell.

Yes, I am metaphorically a turtle who has used my dyslexia as a shield for believing that I could write. I've been content to live with my daydreams, my thrilling stories that play in my head my whole life. I have written poems and stories on scraps of paper but never for other eyes to see. I didn’t' think there were good enough.

But it was when I stumbled upon Vocal Media and began to read the other creators on your platform that I paused and said I wanted to try. Your site gave me some the chance to believe in myself.

So, trading my paintbrush for a pen, I began using my paintings, iPad drawing, and photography to springboard me into the realms of poems, children's stories, and psychological thrillers with a touch of romance thrown in.

Since I started writing on Vocal Media, I have had 4 Top Stories, collected over 65 Subscribers, and have posted 104 stories. This was just for starting in early November 2023! Then I received recognition and came in 2rd place for being an emerging creators, ME?? Well just you wait for me to continue into this story telling journey and see where I go in 2024!

The genres that I write are children's stories, drama, holidays, psychological thrillers, a touch of horror, playlist, and nonfiction. I want to continue developing my writing in a thought-provoking way for the reader, leaving them wanting more.

I am aspiring to sharpen my skills in the craft of storytelling. I look forward to learning more about wordplay, metaphors, and similarities and telling in condensed forms, which are just a few of my goals.

Writing daily for either pieces that inspire me to post or just for practice, will be part of my plans.

Crafting a piece worthy of posting is another one of my writer's goals. My mantra will be posting quality, not quantity.

When I go to post a story or article, it must be worthy enough to be part of the excellent collaborators I have been reading from these past few months.

From reading many different creators on your platform, I have learned that writing and telling stories is an adventure I am willing to stop hiding and want to participate in.

One of those ways is to participate in the vocal challenges either the official or unofficial from other creators. Not only will that have me try different writing styles and genres, but I want to get out there and throw my hat in the ring!

As I continue to work on my goals, I want to become a valued contributor to vocal. So, I'm tossing away my tortoise shell, and I'm ready to play, to create, to learn, to support others in their quest for writing excellence and to be heard on vocal media!

Thank you, Vocal Media, for being that light in the harbor of my writing journey.

Sincerly,

Daphsam

VocalChallenge

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (16)

  • J. Delaney-Howe5 months ago

    Congrats on your succeces and great goals.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    This is wonderful. Well done.

  • Addison M6 months ago

    I really like how you did this as a letter, nice touch. Best of luck with your 2024 goals, and the next chapter of your writing adventure.

  • D. A. Ratliff6 months ago

    It is important to find a haven where we feel safe to create, even while learning. I am glad that Vocal has become that haven for you.

  • Tressa Rose6 months ago

    Love this so much!

  • I’m glad you found Vocal and threw away your shell

  • L.C. Schäfer6 months ago

    Tortoiseshell cats are known dor being feisty. So, one from tortoiseshell to another? 😀😀😀

  • Misty Rae6 months ago

    Congratulations, you're doing great! I'm sure the best is yet to come...

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Nice job! Congrats on your accomplishments and good luck with the Challenge!

  • Congratulations on whay you've achieved so far and I wish you all the best for this year and years to come! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    🤍

  • Wow! We sure have a lot to look forward to. I can hardly wait! ❤️ from one of your 65 happy subscribers

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Way to go Daphsam. In your short time you have achieved a lot. Thanks for reading some of my scribblings, I am sure you will be making waves on Vocal. Good luck with everything.

  • Suze Kay6 months ago

    I love this! Can't wait to see what you come up with next, Daphsam.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad6 months ago

    A well-written declaration! Good luck on your writing journey this year. I can't wait to see what you produce.

DaphsamWritten by Daphsam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.