Wheel logo

When Asked for Pictures of Our RV, We Seize the Opportunity to Brag

As retirees, we understand age is not an appropriate criterion to make a judgement

By Brenda MahlerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image from author's photos

If someone asks my age, proudly announce, "I am sixty with a few wrinkles and I earned every one of them." If they want to see my picture, I will show them several. I understand some things get better with age.

When I made reservations, Cathy answered the phone with a welcoming personality. After explaining we wished to make reservations, she asked for the age of our rig. This is a question I am getting used to, and since it is over 10 years old wasn't surprised that she wanted pictures. The first time I heard this request, it disgruntled me. Then I started thinking.

When we travel, we alternate the type and quality of accommodations we seek. For instance, if we are making a long trek from point A to point D with overnights stops at points B and C, we often spend more time in the rig driving each day with a goal to get to our destination. It is important to reserve a spot early because, as we all are getting accustomed to, spots fill up quickly. But when we do not plan to spend much time to use the amenities, we look for more reasonable priced RV parks. This has resulted in us spending the night at places that didn't match the pictures and advertisements online. We have found we truly get what we pay for.

The place we rolled into last night was unkept and rundown. One trailer had a window covered in cardboard and outside of another spot was a collection of odd and ends that made the environment look shabby. The dog park needed attention and somehow many of the pet owners had missed the sign that asked them to pick up after their animals.

Sure, once we arrive if the spot is unsatisfactory, we could go somewhere else but then there is the question of how to get a refund if it is even possible. Then comes the problem of no place to park for the night. We tried truck stops and found them too noisy. Parking lots are nice in some cases (i.e. Walmart, Cracker Barrel, etc.) but our pup goes out once each night, and I prefer the security of a RV park. However, we don't want to spend too much money if we are just planning to eat dinner, sleeps, have breakfast and go.

So, when an employee asks for a picture of our 17-year-old motorhome, I now interpret the request as a means to protect me as well as their establishment. It increases my confidence that the owners wish to protect their investments by offering an upscale, clean setting. I figure if they take pride in their business, I can share my pride of our motorhome.

Image from author's photos
Image from author's photos

I keep pictures on my phone so they can be forwarded easily. Since my husband works diligently keep our motorhome in great condition, I am not ashamed to share and in fact, believe each time we are asked to share pictures, it our opportunity to brag. I even point out his handiwork just to make him feel good.

So far, we have never been denied a spot. The pictures also serve as great conversation starters - one of my reasons to travel is to make new acquaintances. Since one picture has Dagney, our Yorkie, on the front dash it usually starts a conversation. Cathy emailed me a note that started with the comment, "Love the pup on the dash!" When we talked later, she joked that the business policy is to keep dogs that are as cute as Dagney. We laughed and shared pictures of our babies, an instant new friend.

Image from author's photos

I have read several Facebook posts from RV owners who are insulted when asked for a picture of their rig. The request doesn't have to be negative; it can be your chance to boast. The goal is to maintain a level of dignity and decorum in the park. Since I have seen some rigs and met some people, I would rather not park next to, I appreciate the intent of the request.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.