Wheel logo

NASCAR #22 Joey Logano

Superior On and Off the Track

By Dan McGinnisPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Penske Team Driver Joey Logano

This is my sixth season following NASCAR, so I'm definitely considered to be a new fan of America's racing sport. What amazes me about NASCAR fans is the passion they all have for their favorite driver or drivers. I laughed about it in the first year I watched the races, but then quickly discovered that I was drawn into that same passionate frenzy that other fans share.

Obviously, I'm a Joey Logano fan and have been since the very first race I watched on television. Back then, he was a self-confident, young 20-year-old that was having extraordinary success in racing's top tier. Sure, he had a touch of cockiness—or was it just self-assurance?—but that only added to the mystery of this young driver. The problem for his critics was: he really is that good!

Fast forward five full seasons and I have watched an amazing young man blossom into one of the sport's top drivers. They call him "Sliced Bread," but I just call him one of NASCAR's best. He is passionate about winning, and that is often misunderstood by racing fans as being overly aggressive. I honestly don't see any of that in the man.

I see a very good driver doing his best to win for his team, for his sponsors, and for his fans. I've never seen him cheat, but I will admit that, if given an opportunity to break away from the pack, Logano will seize the moment to put the #22 in contention for a win. If another driver makes a mistake, Logano will capitalize on it. I salute that. I respect that. That's what driving is all about.

Logano's success is in his statistics. With the exception of 2017, he's had an amazing ride every single season. What happened last year is anyone's guess. What I suspect is he has been the topic of conversation all off-season, which makes me believe the Penske team will bounce back this season with a fury. I'll be glad to see the #22 in Victory Lane more often in the months ahead.

I've only been to one NASCAR race, but I was surprised to see the very mixed fan reaction to Logano. It stymied me for a little while, because regardless of which driver a fan supports, I don't know how anyone could deny that Logano is among the best drivers on the track. I'm no Matt Kenseth fan, but I give the man props for all his achievements and the incredible athlete that he is. That doesn't seem to be returned by fans outside of Logano Nation.

Joey and his wife, Brittany, run a great non-profit organization, The Joey Logano Foundation. Partnering with sponsors and fans, the foundation supports children and young adults who need a second chance. Joey is actively involved and the foundation is making a difference for all the lives it touches. When Logano won the All-Star race two years ago, he donated the entire $1 million prize to the foundation. That's dedication.

Every NASCAR fan has a favorite driver. I'd encourage everyone to take another look at one of NASCAR's premier athletes and a genuinely good man. We always welcome new Logano fans! Joey is all over social media, including Instagram and Twitter. A great fan group on Facebook is LoganoNation22.

2018 is going to be an awesome year for the #22 team. Hopefully, it begins with a win at Daytona. I'm looking forward to it!

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Dan McGinnis

Freelance writer, screenwriter, author

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.