Wheel logo

Human Error Driving The Fourth Industrial Revolution

The Importance of Vehicle Inspection Reports

By Opal A RoszellPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Image of Opal Roszell

AI Technology

We are all aware of the divine advancements in technology that are launching a shift into future innovations. With things such as new hybrid vehicles or self-driving cars, maybe even Singapore’s design of the drone vehicle, we feel the global economic changes first hand. “Artificial Intelligence” (AI) Technology is creeping upon us. New clerk less shopping outlets such as Amazon Stores is popping up in more and more locations. Shipping and manufacturing are changing rapidly. Now ask yourself this; what is accelerating this fourth industrial revolution?

Maybe self-driving cars will one day replace taxies and other services. AI tech is the next up-and-coming realm of innovation. Who or what is driving this movement? What if it is the everyday day person, like you or me? Without realizing it? Could countless human errors be the leading factor in the development of AI tech?

For those of you that are not familiar with AI, I have provided a link below to give you an idea of the direction that shopping may be evolving.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NrmMk1Myrxc

Can An App Fix That

Logbooks play a significant role in determining expenses and maintaining your investments in vehicles. Most commonly used for commercial vehicles. But why don’t more people use them for their cars?

People Make Mistakes

Before you came across this article, most people would assume that logbooks or Vehicle Inspection Reports are for company use exclusively. I beg to differ. The value of pre-checking your vehicle is far too often underestimated.

Vehicle Inspection Reports & Log Book Importance

One evening, I was driving an old beat-up Honda Accord. It was lent to me by a farmer friend to get to and from work. Well, this particular evening, it had been storming. I mean hail, heavy rain, lightning. A human didn’t have the thought cross my mind to walk around before hitting the road. Had I noticed the tires were nearly flat, it may have changed the course of the night. So in my ignorance, I took on the treacherous highway driving without bothering to check absolutely anything.

At the time, I was still young-minded. I ran my first car out of oil numerous times, by way of negligence, regularly. (Not good)

Well, this night was terrible. My windshield wiper flew off into the dark rain-filled night as I raced at 100+ km/hour down the road. La de da, I go to pass a semi-truck on a portion of highway with double lanes. Boom, one tire blew. I started to hydroplane, desperately trying not to slam into the semi-truck beside me. Boom, the second tire on my passenger side exploded. I was on rims, skidding sharply behind the semi, barely making it to safety on the side of the highway. When the vehicle stopped, I was so thankful to be alive. But still, I was stranded in the dark, in the rain alone. Some random person ended up stopping. Seeing me stranded, and did lend me their phone to call for help. I survived. (random people stopping when your stranded could be very bad.) I could have died just because I was too lazy, or in a rush, or whatever. No excuses. Inspect your vehicle before driving.

To buy the car of your dreams means taking care of the one you have first.

Millionaires (not exclusively but to the point) keep receipts for fuel and log their expensive vehicle maintenance logs, service logs, incidents reports.

Destruction of the Vehicle By Human Error

They pay attention to the cleanliness and depreciation value alongside other things like checking the oil every use. Get into better habits when driving on the road and properly prepare before you endeavour on an adventure. Even just going to the mall. We have all seen that one broke down vehicle blocking traffic, as we swear about how late we are.

My little black Volkswagon Beetle had a few pistons blow and ceased the engine because I forgot to check the oil on my way back from a job in Lethbridge, Alberta.

Not only did I have to scrap the car, plus my initial investment in repair costs and purchase price, wasted money. I also had to pay my employer over $900 to get it towed and to get diagnosed. For the following three years, I used a company vehicle (with restrictions) that ended up putting me between a rock and a hard spot—invoking me to purchase an “off the lot” Jeep Patriot. At that time, I could only get approved for one of two models on the lot. (Watch for my blog: Behind the Scenes at Your Local Car Dealership) The Jeep Patriot model I purchased has the most atrocious fuel consumption. It cost me an excessive amount over its amortization period. A vehicle I would have else wise would have never purchased.

Vehicle Expenses

I should have bought a used vehicle that was better on gas. I don’t recommend always going to the dealership but certainly do as you please. There is a lot of lost cost in interest and other expenses when buying brand new. Not to say buying second-hand is good either. It would help if you made the right choice for your lifestyle and needs.

Suppose I were to calculate how much not checking my oil in my little black beetle cost. I’d be in tears.

The most important thing to do in both these scenarios is to have planned. Have a safety kit in every vehicle and done a VIR. I was in my early 20’s way back then. My driving has improved, I promise.

Of course, my knowledge about VIR’s didn’t come until I worked in the power utility industry.

Why You Should Use A VIR

With new apps that track logbook entries and VIR’s, there are no reasonable excuses. I’m sure out of laziness. We could all find a reason not to do personal VIR’s. These apps are essential to help save money, track spending, get the most out of an amortization plan, and the list goes on. Example; BigRoad

At Work

At my old job, I woke up at 4:30 am. We were starting by firing up the trucks. Alongside the owner as his fleet assistant by 5:00 am as my shift started. No matter the weather, we worked. We did our paper logbooks for the longest time until learning about apps that do that. The app revolutionized our industry.

This includes checking every truck for; Documentation and expiry dates, checking oil/fluids, fire extinguishers, incident reporting kits (all on physical paper), and of course, warming the trucks up for the crews after everything was checked.

This is commonly called a “Vehicle Inspection Report,” with a combination of filling out logbooks, these tasks became crucial to running a legally smooth operation. It reduces costs and assists in identifying needed repairs. It also lets you see your driving habits.

Financial Loss

I can’t say the exact math for your lifestyle, but it’s fair to assume that more people inspected their vehicles and did regular maintenance—making it a priority. A person could change driving routes to reduce cost. Get maintenance done on time to prevent the car from needing significant repairs later down the road. It would also prevent numerous windshields from being smashed each year, from the human error of not latching your hood after digging out your outlet to plug in your vehicle for those cold winter nights. A simple walk-around check would have prevented that exact thing from happening to me a few months back.

Lesson Learned: Always make sure your hood is closed and latched before driving!

Laws About LogBooks & VIR’s

It’s not only the law for companies, but it is just common sense. You can retrace your steps or track fuel consumption. It can also help you save money by addressing issues such as a headlight going out or a crack in your windshield before you end up getting an expensive traffic ticket or worse.

Try this one cost-cutting tip for a year. Not only will your vehicle remain healthy but also see where you can save and spend to get the most out of your transportation.

Consequences of Poor Habits Advancing AI Technology

It is a fearful thought to think many people, with new vehicles, expensive vehicles, classic or high tech, if we over-look this simple business approach to safety, will be replaced in the world of transport.

More To Come

More to come about my crazy driving and hit-ditch stories in future blogs. I hope you take away a new look at inspecting your vehicle, checking oil, doing a full VIR and Logbook for your driving. Download an app to make it faster, more efficient, and ultimately save lives and save money.

Contact Opal A Roszell for Freelance Content Creation opal.a.roszell@gmail,com

Sources:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r211u89eUaY

https://www.mdpi.com/2673-2688/1/2/8

http://hephaestus.nup.ac.cy/bitstream/handle/11728/9254/THE_FORTHCOMING...2017_Full.pdf?isAllowed=y&sequence=1

https://www.emerald.com/insight/content/doi/10.1108/09574090810872604/full/html

industry
Like

About the Creator

Opal A Roszell

Promoting Social & Emotional Growth in Online Communities. Content Creator for hire [email protected].

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.