Wheel logo

Episode 4: Welcome To The Pack

Challenged for a Duel? Yep, Thank You!

By OmayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

When you get a common car, you see cars in the road that are the same model, different or same color passing by like going on commute or going somewhere. You don't feel anything. It is just there. It is normal.

But when you have an import or a muscle or a sports car, things turns out pretty different, pretty exciting and you get looks in their eyes like you never believe. Once you have these types of cars, you're welcome into a certain group.

Three days after buying my Camaro, I was taking my former boyfriend for a errand at a semi empty highway. The rush hour from lunch has been ended so the roads are easy to go through without the constant stopping and going. In the first traffic light, in the left lane, there was an orange Camaro with black racing lines on it's sides and basically was revving up their engine. Oh, snap, did I see a drag racing? On me? Right now? Why? Should I go? Should I just say, I don't want Popos on my tail, no thanks? I didn't see anything in the horizon and it was near a military base, where military youngsters with full of zeal drive these streets with such challenge as if they're in a war. And I just got challenged. A 47 year old, in a brand used muscle car after years of pretending to be a soccer mom with no kids or a husband with a SUV, and a passenger of a Camaro taunting you for a race; I think should I scream "Yolo" and faced this chick who was driving.

My former boyfriend added fuel to the fire as I just mentally facepalm on myself.

The light turned green. And we're off! And I was afraid. Very afraid. I'm always fearful. Fear was my crutch on everything everyday. I couldn't risk a change, neither a challenge such as this and yet I choose the hit the gas like the day I push it on my test drive. The fear was changed gradually to exhilaration and thrill seeking. The excitement covered my fear afterwards, allowing me to hear both our engines revering up like going to a guitar contest. In a certain spot, I see the orange Camaro passing through for the next traffic light that signaling red.

Another challenge? Sure! It was awesome the first one, why not a second row? And all while chatting and taunting. While my former BF put more words of challenge like he was the one at the wheel. But it was me who was at the wheel! I only said: "I bought this car a few days ago!" Like I'm asking them for mercy on my soul. Rev it up the engine one more time. At the change of the light to green, we're up again. And we did and I got passed again, but the excitement and the thrill were intensified. I was like on top of the world. It was surely an amazing feeling, better than sex, better than any mundane things we take for granted. We parted ways at the third traffic light, where the passenger of the orange Camaro congratulate me on my new/used car and to enjoy and have fun with it. It was like welcome to the pack, showing myself what can I do and what I need to change. It was pretty unique, since I never had that opportunity of doing so in real life. Playing racing cars on a console isn't compared with real life scenarios.

But just keep in mind, always obey the rules of the road, and do NOT attempt anything stupid. But then again, if you get a sports, muscle or even a bike, there's going to be challenge by one of their own. If you want that experience, better get your car into a legal raceway.

racing

About the Creator

Omay

Hitting the so call wall is compared to having to think that a plane will arrive with no problems but the reality of it is that it will have faulty issues that can lead to a hard and perhaps disastrous landing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    OmayWritten by Omay

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.