Wheel logo

A Lady And A Camaro

Episode 3: Some Specs, Some Experience

By OmayPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

For starters, I'm not an expert in car mechanics. I'm far away from it! So bear with me and have mercy on my soul for these muscle car enthusiasts could smite me at any minute if I say something to make them cringe!

The first night that I drove my Camaro back home, it felt like I won the lotto. After I gave my former bf a ride to his house, when I was driving back home it felt like I was inside of a spaceship. It was so peaceful, that I put some spiritual songs in the mix and praise and give thanks on my route to go back home. Now, let it sink in. Because the next day it's going to be incredibly exciting and frightening because I have to go back to work the next day.

Day 2: Who's Driving That Car?

I was extremely anxious and nervous to go to work in a new car. I'm very reserved and shy when it comes to new things and this is the biggest. All I wanted was just of the normal routine, when it consist on saying hello, clock in, do my job and get the hell out after my shift is done. But have to face the music, and the comments. So, my tactic was a little different. Parking the car in the back, and pretend nothing happens and go in my merry way. I was so wrong! Went to the front of the building instead and parked the car in the back. See what I went wrong? I didn't entered the building in the back! So, I got looks. Very shocked looks.

When I entered the doors to be scanned and signed, the receptionist was asking "Who is this person driving this car?" And I just jumped at the chance instead of keeping my mouth shut. "Oh, it was me!" I replied, and at first she didn't believe it. Her eyes popped in disbelief. "Ok, what?" She thought at first. But then she was complementing me of how beautiful this car is. For the first time in my life, I felt elated, like my self-esteem went higher as if I'm climbing the Everest and finish it in record time. The news of me getting a new car went out like wildfire. Specially a type of a muscle car as this! All I got during two days were how beautiful my car is and where do I got it. I felt like a celebrity using my 15 minutes like Andy Warhol.

Day 3: What Type of Gas Should I Use?

Every time we get some new things, we often find information about it, read the manuals, understanding how it works and it's maintenance. This is my first car and I'm still have a lot to learn about it.

In a interior compartment I found the big manual book along with a original sticker of the Camaro. It was valued at $28,000. Now, it's valued at $15,500 when I bought it. It runs at 22 mpg on highway and 18 mpg in the city. Fuel capacity is 19 gallons, the transmission is a 6 speed shiftable automatic; meaning you can have the option of using automatic or manual using paddle shifters located at the steering wheel.

And then, what type of gas I have to put in my car?

During the first days, I was figuring out what type of gas should I use. I never had a muscle car before in my life, and I thought, maybe I have to use premium gas in it. But here's the kicker, premium gas is very expensive. Almost like $3.09 a gallon. I was like damn! I have a monster of a car like the plant from Little Shop of Horrors screaming "Feed Me!" So, I joined a Camaro enthusiasts on FB and I asked what type of gas should I use. A guy first commented "I have the same model and I use Premium and I used Synthetic Oil." I got frightened! Having a muscle car require a lot of cash! Then my former Bf at the time, was giving me an answer: "It used Unleaded Gas, because it's a V6." If it's V8, definitely you have to use Premium." At first, I didn't believe him. But later on I was in a big surprise when I checked the manual and find out what type of gas it uses. And I felt relieved when it says if it's a V6 you have to use Unleaded gas! My worries were freaking gone!

When I opened the glove compartment that day, I also found an original sticker car information in pristine condition along with the manual. Most people threw that information away as soon as they bought it but this car has a story. The owner took a great care of this car. Took a good pride in it. Didn't do any extra enhancements with it. And it's a blessing that of all these people looking for a car overlooking this one I finally got to choose it.

Baby Bear, Mother Bear and Father Bear

To make this easy, there's four types of Camaro beginning with the LS, 1LT which has the V6 engine, LT1 which has a V8 engine and for the serious performance and interior features, the 1SS. For the beasties looking for the ultimate power, handling and speed the 2SS and the ZT1 offers premium performance accessories and extras like Brembo anti-lock brakes, among other goodies. It's like you have a baby, a kid, a teen and an adult Camaro. I for example, I have a kid Camaro. I was impressed on power so much that I got out of my midlife crisis. That temptation of hitting the gas at full power, when I have to drive the speed limit hits me every time. In the end I have to obey the traffic because I ain't gonna have my first ticket! It is not like driving a normal boring car, this is it! This is an adventure of my life! Now, I have to learn how to use these paddle shifters!

product review
Like

About the Creator

Omay

Hitting the so call wall is compared to having to think that a plane will arrive with no problems but the reality of it is that it will have faulty issues that can lead to a hard and perhaps disastrous landing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.