Wheel logo

Chasing the Mist in Ooty

A Memorable Journey of a Lifetime

By ChitraPublished about a year ago 15 min read
2
Ooty Garden - Yellow Rose

Hello, readers, and future acquaintances. I would like to share my happy memories on my Ooty trip. You will undoubtedly want to visit after reading this.

I'm just a newlywed middle-class woman on wheels going backwards. This article not only provides information about Ooty but also explains the mental state of a typical couple. Every minute of our lives is beautiful, and whether we have money, support, or comfort is irrelevant; we should enjoy ourselves throughout our lives. I am confident that by the end of this article, you will be at ease and understand what I am saying. Are you all set to go?

Everyone is unable to arrange a car. It is extremely expensive for a middle-class family to travel anywhere. We go to Ooty with our apartment people because I am also from a middle-class family. We are still unfamiliar with many people yet because we are new to the apartment. Only the secretary is known to us. He coerced us into joining them. We also joined that trip because it was affordable. They only had one bus. We must begin on Friday evening. We lack enough time to plan since both of us are working. My spouse and me both hurriedly burried our clothes after returning from job. We must proceed to the bus stop where our bus is waiting. They said the bus would leave at 8 p.m.

We arrived at the bus stop at 8:10 a.m. Everything has already been accomplished. We are the last to arrive. When we arrive, every seat is taken. For us, the back wheel seat was left unoccupied. It is suitable for three-person capacity. So there wasn't no alternative for us to get into that seat. I sat near a window, with my husband beside me. One tall white thin person came and sat next to my habby. He, too, wears glasses. Though the seat is inconvenient, we have no choice but to adjust. The bus leaves Pondicherry, my home state, at 8.30 p.m. At 9.30 p.m., the bus reaches at Villupuram and stops at a hotel for dinner. Some people get off the bus; others bring their own food and start to dine inside the bus.

We get out of the bus in tandem. While getting down, the smell of egg appeared. How can we then leave it? We had a mild tiffin and an egg omelette. The bus is scheduled to leave at 10:15 PM again. I slept solely because I was tired and had good food. We slept despite the fact that there was no convenient place to keep our leg.

I could now feel a breath of fresh, cool air. I awoke and peered out the window. The bus is making its way up the mountain. I believe we've arrived at Ooty. The bus travels smoothly through a hairpin bend. It's foggy.

Mountain covered with mist.

Fog flows around it.

Chilled Climate

Killed my Heart !

It's now about 6 a.m. I catch a glimpse of him, who appears to be full of life and happiness. He's fast asleep. And there's another man sleeping on my spouse's shoulder on his left side. I tap him on the shoulder to wake him up so he can appreciate the beauty of the mountains. The bus stops in front of a row of white buildings.

And the secretary descends and enters the restaurant reception. We all disembark from the bus. I'm just looking at the road we just came down. It resembles a snake. On one side of the road, there is red sand and rocks, and on the other, there are small trees and shrubs. On the other hand, we can see the entire Ooty state. When I look down the mountain, everything is green and foggy. After a long time, my eyes were treated, and my heart was satisfied by the beauty of nature. My hubby called out to me. He summoned me and showed me a key. Then we took our luggage and went to room 288. The secretary instructed us to be ready for breakfast at 8 a.m. We were accompanied by an office boy who showed us around our room. I assumed it would be a room in a building, but he led us to a narrow corridor. Then there were so many steps down. We go through the steps. Each room serves as its own outhouse. All of the structures are the same shape and color, with orange tiles and white walls.

Both sides with the same dimension are neat and appealing. We arrived at our destination. It is a separate dwelling. We opened the door and entered the room. The cot is sufficiently spacious, and the curtains are all white. We didn't have much time, so we rested and prepared. Then we proceeded to the entrance, where everyone was already gathered. We all went to the hotel for breakfast. We ordered Dosa, Chapatthi, and coffee as usual. We finished our food quickly. A family in the back of us had ordered everything in that hotel. One lady in particular consumed a maximum of seven items. Our hunger was satisfied by witnessing her eating.

They all decided to go to Boat House and park nearby. Then, after lunch, take a break. But we don't want to waste our time just going to the boathouse. So we informed the secretary and decided to go somewhere else on our own. We arranged a car through the hotel. In Ooty, the car driver is a guide. We intended to visit every location along Mysore Road. So the red car arrived, and we got into it. Now, we're all going to see everything on Mysore Road through my eyes. Readers, are you ready? Okay, get in.Let's get started.

First, we went boating in Ooty Lake, which is located behind the bus stop. We rented a pedal boat. We peddled peacefully for half an hour in a very pleasant climate. Peddle boat, Streamer boat, Row boat, and skating are all available. We can choose our own raid based on our own interests.

After that, we went to the Botanical Garden. We only paid the entrance fees. Before entering, the driver advised us to arrive as soon as possible because we needed to visit Pykara before evening. However, it is difficult to spend more time in the garden. It's overgrown with grass. There are a lot of tourists there. Every year in May, there is a Summer Festival held there. They arranged grass and flowers in various shapes at the time. However, even though we only visited in June, some Elephant, Camel, and Girl shaped plants are arranged. Relaxing on the green grass in a free mind with a chilly wind, just experience it and you will feel the true enjoyment. We won't be able to stay any longer. We then went to Rose Garden.

As I step into the breathtaking Rose Garden of Ooty, my senses are overwhelmed by the tantalizing aroma of these exquisite blooms. I find myself spellbound, unable to tear my eyes away from the stunning display of over 3600 varieties of roses that surround me in NILA MAADAM.

As I stroll through this verdant paradise, I am struck by the sheer diversity of colors, each one more captivating than the last. From the classic hues of red, rose, and pink to the more daring shades of orange, black, and even green, these roses are a symphony of vibrant colors that dance before my eyes.

I cannot help but be entranced by the yellow roses, their golden petals bursting forth in full bloom. The mere sight of them fills me with a sense of warmth and joy, as if the very sun has descended upon this earthly paradise.

As I walk along the garden path, I am reminded of the old adage that says "stop and smell the roses." But here in the Rose Garden of Ooty, it is not just the scent that captivates, but the sheer beauty and majesty of these blooms. And I am grateful to be able to experience this stunning display of nature's bounty.

As I stand here in the rose garden, my eyes feast on the beautiful display of nature's artistry. The roses, like delicate velvet, bloom in hues of yellow and orange, each petal perfectly placed. I am tempted to pluck one of the roses, but I know it's not allowed. Instead, I watch as a tourist takes photos with his professional camera. The camera is like a long suit-case, and he keeps changing the lens and zooming in to capture every detail of the flowers. His wife and son stand far away, and I can see him zooming from where he stands. I'm mesmerized by the camera and decide that I want to buy one too. Just as I'm lost in my thoughts, the driver calls us to hurry up as we need to reach Pykara before 3. We quickly exit the garden, and as we're about to get into the car, my husband surprises me with a yellow rose. I'm thrilled and ask him how he plucked it, to which he confidently replies that he's the king of this game and plucked it without being noticed by the guards. I blush with happiness and wear the rose as we enter the car. The driver slightly smiles, witnessing our sweet moment.

We got to the top of the hills in fifteen minutes. It's Doddabeta Peak, South India's highest peak. Due to the low pressure, I noticed that my two ears were slightly drained. Then we went to Telescope House. This is all we can see in Doddabeta. The telescope house is a separate structure made of wood. We take the first step. There was a long line for that, and we joined it. In my turn, I looked through the telescope. I can see the entire Ooty through it. What a vibrant place it is. Full green between the red soli and the rocks. Some small structures resemble matchboxes.

We had arrived at the Tea Factory. Estate of tea and eucalyptus in Glenmorgan. We are not permitted to enter the Tea Estate. We only came here to see the tea factory. The queue after bringing the token is also very long. We can see how tea power is produced in the factory. I used to believe that tea leaves were dried in the sun before being ground. But I saw something completely different. A group of people carrying a sack full of tea leaves.

After that, a small group of ladies separates the leaves and removes the dust and yellow leaves. Two ladies take the cleaned leaves and place them in the large machine, which has a large tray that shakes with a heavy sound.

As I watch, the leaves placed on the tray start to shrink and turn black. It's an artificial drying system used to dry out the tea leaves. Once dried, the leaves are put into a big funnel, which takes them down to the ground floor where they are collected and dropped into another machine for grinding. The grinding machine separates the finely ground tea powder on one side and the leafy bits on the other, which are collected by a group of people who pack them into packets with their labels and correct measurements.

As we make our way to the exit, we pass by several shops inside the factory that sell various items. We decide to buy two packets of tea and also check out the Capes and Mufflers made of wool. The shop offers them in a range of colors, and I finally settle on a red and black Cape and Muffler set. The quality of the wool is impeccable, and I know it will keep me warm during the winters.

Finally, we step out of the factory, and I can still feel the warmth of the tea I just bought in my hands. The aroma of the tea leaves still lingers in the air as we make our way back to the car.

As we approached Paykara Lake, the driver informed us that we needed to arrive before 4 pm because after that time, the authorities would not allow visitors to the falls. We nodded in agreement and soon reached the lake by 3:30 pm, hungry but determined to explore the area before it was too late. We purchased our tickets and began the walk towards the falls, passing by some ladies selling fresh carrots along the way. We couldn't resist the temptation and bought two bunches, munching on them as we walked.

After a short while, the magnificent Paykara Lake came into view. The falls were located a little further away, but we could hear the sound of the water as it flowed like a white snow. We took some pictures and decided to venture further by standing in the lake. As I dipped my feet in the water, a sudden chill went through my body. The lake water was ice cold!

Despite the cold temperature, we played in the lake, taking many photos and enjoying the beautiful surroundings. The weather was perfect, not too sunny and not too misty, giving us a clear view of the lake's atmosphere. After some time, it was time to leave, but we didn't want to go. The lake was just too beautiful to leave.

As we made our way back, we stumbled upon a mango vendor who was selling mangoes with chilly powder on them for just twenty rupees. We couldn't resist trying it out and were pleasantly surprised by the perfect combination of the cool climate and the spicy, sour mango. Even now, as I reminisce about that experience, my mouth waters at the thought of that amazing flavour.

It is now 5.00 PM. Driver travels at a breakneck pace. Then, on the way to the road, he stopped and told them to get down. We both get down. He pointed out a short, narrow path.

"Sir, if you go this way up, you can reach the 6th mail, shooting spot," the driver said. If we take the main route, it will take longer, but after visiting, you can get down to the front side and I will wait in the entrance."

"Is it safe?" we asked him as a group.

"No worries, sir. We don't have time, so I'll show you a shortcut." He responded.

We only climbed in that way with a small scar. Little walked through a large expanse of green grass. And the ground is not level. Ups and downs with a lot of green in the background. We run fast, jumping here and there with delight. When we turn around, our driver is standing behind us.

"You said you'd wait in front?" we inquired.

"I followed sir because your faces were filled with fear," he explained politely. We were very pleased with his work.

"So thanks for your care, you wait down, we will come a little later," we both smiled. He then smiled and continued.

This is a shooting location between miles 6 and 9. But there was no shooting that time. But I recall seeing it in the film Bombay. By seeing that they shot one song in this location, I understood. We can also raid horses there. A man on a horse approached us. I'd like to go riding. But my husband is not ready to raid because he is afraid to mount the horse. So I decided to raid horse by myself. I ask my husband to climb up on the horse at least once for a photo. I handed over the camera to the horseman, and we both climbed up on the horse. I realized why my man was afraid to ride the horse; just taking one photo on the horse caused us a lot of trouble.

That photo was taken solely by the horseman. My husband then gets down. The horse is then raided. Horseman is also running alongside me. The horse is also walking rather than running. If it runs, I will fall. I raid on the horse from a short distance. But it is something I will never forget in my life. It's a very pleasant experience. We gave the horseman 50 rupees for that raid. Then we leave that location. Our car was parked nearby.

We also stopped by the pine forest along the way. It's dense with pine trees. The ground was also very slanted and slippery. We can't walk, so we run down to it. Many movie stun scenes are shot in this pine forest. When we finally get down. There is a silent river nearby. It's precisely sunset. The sun gradually submerged itself in the river. The rivers are gold and red in color. My two eyes are insufficient to see such a lovely scene. Bushes and plants with thrones line the riverbank. However, it is adorned with small yellow flowers. It has a strong hold on my heart. We slowly approached the road where our car was parked after sunset. The current time is 6.30 p.m. We have no idea what our group is doing there. So we began. I believe we went to almost every stop on the Mysore Road.

As I return to the hotel, it is 7 p.m.Everyone had gathered in front of the hotel for the campfire. We're running late. They yelled, "Come fast, come fast," and we dashed over to join them. They ran a number of programs. We all sing at the same time. They also had a small competition. We only had introductions to everyone that day. This tour gives us the opportunity to meet all of our neighbors.Then we had a beautiful moonlight dinner.We had a fantastic experience. We're all going to Black Thunder tomorrow. In my next article, I'll tell you about my encounter with black thunder. Now I'm exhausted. I'm going to bed. Good evening. Bye, see you in black thunder.

travelfact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Chitra

Hello everyone, I'm Chitra, and I'm here to share with you my articles, which are all based on true incidents. I am a storyteller at heart, and I love to share stories that are both captivating and informative.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.