Wander logo

Why Should I Study Abroad?

Advice From a UK Girl Studying in the USA

By Melina NotidouPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Melina Notidou (Me)

It all starts when you say yes...

In 2018, I was in my second year of my undergraduate degree. I was given the opportunity to spend my second semester studying at the University at Buffalo, New York.

Before I get into this, I have my friend to thank for my brilliant US adventure. If it wasn't for her, I would not be able to share this advice with you!

If you're considering or have considered studying abroad, whether it be through your university, workplace or another area, here is the first piece of advice I will give you: DO IT. This might sound like empty advice, but simply going for it is the best step you can take to experiencing something truly life-changing.

So, why should you study abroad? Here's three reasons why:

1. The People (Oh My Goodness, the People)

When you arrive in a foreign country, it can be daunting. You may know one or two people. Maybe you don't know anyone. It can be even scarier when there is a language barrier. Of course, there wasn't a language barrier when I was in the USA, but meeting new people was something I knew I needed to do.

I was lucky to have some family friends in a neighbouring state, but I didn't know a soul in Buffalo. I actually can't stress enough how beneficial it is for you to not know anyone when you first arrive. I was introduced to three wonderful girls from Singapore. We clicked from the moment we met each other, and I know we are family for life. You never know how things will work out for you! I learned so many things from the people I met in Buffalo, from their culture to aspects of my own character I didn't even know existed. I can honestly say that I have never felt more at home with these people, even when I was so far away from the UK. People from all around the world come together to share the same experiences as you. There is so much beauty in that.

2. The Place

This one seems pretty obvious. If you're going to study abroad, chances are that you're going to that place because you like it. After all, you'll be living there for quite some time! Maybe you like the look of the place or the great reputation of the institution. Either way, the thrill of exploring a new place gives you newfound freedom. I always knew that I wanted to go to the USA, I just didn't know that the opportunity would present itself so soon.

There is so much to see and so many things to learn. Everything is fresh and new and you have plenty of time to take it all in! You may also get to visit places you never thought you would. My friends and I (quite spontaneously) went to Florida for spring break. We even managed to get out to Canada. We visited Niagara Falls and the city of Toronto. A new place comes with its little surprises!

3. The Employment Prospects

There is no denying that employers value an individual who has studied abroad. Studying abroad demonstrates the following:

a) You can make global connections (both personal and professional).

b) You are adaptable because you become accustomed to living in a new country. You also become accustomed to a new culture and educational / working environment (with potential language barriers, too). Employers will, therefore, be confident that you will be able to adapt in your potential job.

c) You are willing to take risks. Going abroad and leaving your family, friends, and home behind is not easy. Showing that you have the courage to do so is both impressive and favourable.

d) This point relates to point a) above. If you manage to get work experience abroad, this is fantastic. You can demonstrate to your employer that you can work as part of a different system. Whether you work independently or as part of a team, you gain experience and skills well worth adding to your CV or resume.

So, if studying abroad is something you're interested in, go for it! You won't regret it.

student travel
Like

About the Creator

Melina Notidou

BA Hons Linguistics graduate with a hint of wanderlust.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.