Wander logo

Why move from Philadelphia to Vilcabamba (a tiny village) in Ecuador?

The big question I receive as an ex-pat/digital nomad.

By thewellnessxploraPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Why move from Philadelphia to Vilcabamba (a tiny village) in Ecuador?
Photo by Gleb Albovsky on Unsplash

I’ve opted out of the rat race and I don’t regret it! At — all. Seriously!

After 5 years of living in New York City, and a year of living in the city of Philadelphia, I knew I was done with living in big cities.

Simultaneously, I knew I was also done with living in the United States of America, as a whole.

So, as soon as the pandemic hit, I knew it was time to go!

My time to leave!

In a matter of months, I packed my bags, sold everything I could, and downsized my life to 2 suitcases, a backpack, and hand luggage. Turned my keys in, to my landlord. And boarded a one-way flight out of the United States.

There was no looking back! No matter how scary the journey ahead seemed due to all of the uncertainties in the world.

Many people I know, questioned my hasty decision and judged me as irrational and crazy.

Now, 11 months into my journey as a digital nomad, and an ex-pat living in a small village town in Ecuador, I look back at my decision to leave with peace and gratitude, knowing I made the best decision for myself and finances.

Especially now, when I read headlines of potential upcoming food shortages and rising costs of food in cities in the United States.

You can already tell it’s going to be brutal winter for many middle to low-income households living in many cities across the United States in this pandemic economy.

Watching from afar, I know I made the best decision for myself as a human being, and an entrepreneur, because I don't know how I would have been surviving on a beginner freelance income. Especially, at this point in time!

Balancing $1,200 rent, phone bill, electricity, gas, car payments, car insurance, paying for my credit cards, student loans, the costs of purchasing healthy “organic” produce, on a beginner freelance income would have been an absolute nightmare!

It was already costing me and my partner close to $3,000 a month, for our basic survival and upkeep.

The quality of life I was getting in the United States was certainly not worth all the amount of money I was shelling out each month for my basic survival needs.

I decided I wanted to have it all:

I needed to cut my cost of living in half, while I pursued my entrepreneurial path.

I wanted to pursue a career as a creative and a writer, without sacrificing the quality of my life.

I wanted to pay less for rent.

I wanted to have access to better quality food at affordable prices that didn’t break the bank!

I wanted to live closer to nature.

I wanted to live closer to my food sources/supplies.

I wanted sunshine and heat all year round.

I wanted access to cleaner, pesticide-free, chemical-free water.

I wanted to live in a clean serene peaceful environment that was conducive to creativity.

I wanted to be under less financial pressure without sacrificing my dreams.

Months after leaving the US, I’m grateful and happy to share that I have everything that I set out to have

· I now pay $400 for rent for a fully furnished 2-bedroom apartment (which includes water, electricity, gas, and unlimited WIFI)

· I spend less than $50 a week on organic locally farmed and sourced fruits and vegetables.

· I am surrounded by the opulence and natural principle of abundance in nature. There is an abundance of oranges, tangerines, and many species of local fruit growing in abundance all around me now. On my work breaks, I get to walk through nature to an amazing crystal clear stream where I can dip my feet in, and relax.

· I live in a community of small-scale organic local farmers, and I am closer to a constant supply of fresh food.

· The weather is spring-ish all year round. There’s lots of sunshine and of course rain in the rainy season.

· My drinking water now comes from a fresh supply of water from the mountains

· I live in a clean area surrounded by lots of trees, nature, and greenery, which gives me so much peace and comfort.

· I’m under significantly less financial pressure, and therefore under much less stress.

Overall, the quality of my life has improved, while the amount of money I spend each month has significantly reduced. I can already tell that soon my income will also increase exponentially. (Fingers crossed.)

Since I have much peace of mind, mental clarity, and focus to continue to create and pursue this entrepreneurial more vigorously.

I’m happy to inspire you today to continue to make the best decision for yourself.

Take a leap of faith. Move. Travel. if that's what your spirit is telling you to do.

humanity
2

About the Creator

thewellnessxplora

Multi-faceted freelance writer, seeker & explorer. I blog about travel, the digital nomad and ex-pat lifestyle, personal development, entrepreneurship & spirituality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.