Wander logo

Why Hotel Living Is Better Than Ever Imagined

An attractive, affordable option abroad that many travelers overlook

By Victoria Kjos Published 3 months ago 5 min read
1
Why Hotel Living Is Better Than Ever Imagined
Photo by Vojtech Bruzek on Unsplash

Why a hotel?

Living in a hotel was never contemplated, even while gallivanting in a few countries for over a decade. It wasn’t discounted as a possibility…just not envisioned.

I might stay in a comfortable hotel or homestay — often a distinction without a difference — for a month or two. An apartment, however, was my preferred choice if I remained somewhere for an extended time.

To my utter surprise, hotel living is exceedingly appealing and comfortable. Perhaps it’s because I’m older, a solo traveler…and admittedly, basically lazy.

In Indonesia, and specifically Bali, hotels are common “residences” for several reasons: Vast supply. Good value. Convenience. Service. Amenities. No Long-Term Commitment.

Multitudes of inns, guest houses, and homestays abound — from a bedroom in the owner’s residence to a kitchenette or studio arrangement. This was also the case in India. Widespread and often inexpensive, these are a frequent staple for my residence hunt.

Supply and demand

Like anywhere, you “get what you pay for.” It’s why the glossy brochure propaganda in the living abroad publications touting the ‘extravagant lifestyle on a shoestring’ mantra is amusing.

The supply is substantial. Prices are all over the map, from ridiculously inexpensive to staggeringly exorbitant.

For two and one-half years during the pandemic, Bali, whose economy had grown to between 30 to 50% from tourism (depending upon the source), suffered enormously.

Therefore, for owners to survive, rental charges plummeted. Whether for brief or extended stays, visitors benefited beautifully from living in cushy digs at a fraction of the pre-COVID rates.

Fast forward. The pandemic ends. People begin traveling again. Russia’s invasion of Ukraine drives millions from both countries, many thousands of whom find their way to Bali.

With increasing demand, rental rates have increased — substantially in some instances — over the past year. Nevertheless, by standards of comparable properties in industrialized Western nations, they remain attractive.

Service and amenities of hotel living

Popping into a hotel, having your bags schlepped to your room, with 24/7 staffing, is a blessing! Even the most seasoned traveler appreciates these basics.

As written about previously, service on the island is unparalleled. There isn’t a mentality that service is menial or degrading, as in some countries.

Occasionally, my white guilt surfaces when allowing staff to clean my small 700-square-foot space. I could easily manage its upkeep myself.

Even when working crazy hours eons ago and fortunate to have a cleaning lady, I never felt comfortable being at home while she worked. That’s from my middle-class Midwestern upbringing where the only cleaning staff was yours truly, every Saturday morning.

Then, though, I take a reality check. As part of my rent, I pay for twice-weekly cleaning, fresh linens and towels, and a supply of the basics. Use it, silly girl, I tell myself. So, I do.

And, indeed, I adore returning every three days to a spanking clean “villa,” which it is not. However, it’s trendy now to refer to everything as a villa.

It’s more akin to a hotel suite, studio apartment, or timeshare at a resort in the United States or Mexico.

Comfortable with marble tiled floors, a large bathroom, a bedroom area separated from living space, a small kitchen with sufficient room for my office, a front terrace, and a back patio, I need no additional space. Importantly, it’s quiet and private.

All utilities, gas, water, and electricity, are included in my rent. A lovely koi pond gurgles outside my front door, and a decent-sized swimming pool is steps away.

Another benefit is ordering breakfast any time, which this “owl” appreciates. And, if I’m not home, the front desk personnel collect food deliveries, packages, and the like. They also serve as a buffer with CCTV cameras for security.

An enormous bonus as a tenant is to have no worries or expenses for maintenance, repairs, upkeep, or replacement of appliances. The landscapers and pool chap tend to the outdoors. During the season, we can even avail ourselves of fresh mangoes from trees on the grounds.

Though I tend not to be a devotee of icy air conditioning, one evening, it seemed warmer inside than usual with the A/C unit running.

Well past five p.m., I texted one of the front desk staff. Immediately, three attendants and technicians materialized and, most importantly, fixed it. I had ice-cold air conditioning within one hour.

I might have waited several days in the United States, Mexico, or India.

In fact, in a Mexico apartment, while residing there, I did survive sans air conditioning in one room (gratefully, there was a second unit in a bedroom) for five days while the realtor, owner, and repairmen dithered around.

Hotels, at least well-managed ones, address maintenance issues pronto. We are viewed as “guests.” And Internet reviews and online hotel rating services matter.

My landlady is phenomenal; she loves me and I her. She, as well as the Balinese staff, have become “family.”Other rental options

Likewise, on Bali, rental options are plentiful across all price points.

The least expensive is a room with a toilet, called a kos or kost, situated in a boarding house or low-slung complex. In certain areas, one may be had for less than USD 50 monthly, plus electricity. Indonesians with four or more family members often live in them. But tourists and long-staying visitors also book these budget-friendly spaces.

At the opposite end of the spectrum are high-end, posh digs for celebrities and the affluent, where a multi-bedroom, fully-staffed villa could run thousands of dollars nightly.

Sandwiched between the two are hotels, homestays, guest houses, and affordable villas. Rents can be extremely reasonable, at least by industrialized Western country standards, under USD 500 for studios and one-bedrooms.

Digital nomad spaces with more upscale options than traditional hostels have likewise mushroomed. These are appealing, with chic coffee bars, swimming pools, shared workspaces, and living spaces.

For extroverts or those desirous of companionship, it’s not uncommon for single travelers to share larger villas. I met two thirtyish-aged New Zealand guys working in the tech field who keep a villa. Various buddies wander in and out, depending upon visa dictates and allowed time stays.

Hotel convenience and lack of commitment

When not saddled with a lease or long-term commitments, moving is relatively easy and inexpensive if a person becomes disillusioned about a chosen abode. There are no security deposits, written agreements, or other limitations. If planning to remain for three months, for instance, but something transpires to change one’s mind, it’s bye-bye.

And, due to the transient nature of an economy so dependent upon tourism, hoteliers are accustomed to people moving in and out after brief stays.

Most properties are affiliated with at least one Internet booking site and have a mix of clientele, from long-termers such as myself to the weekend Aussie holiday crowd to the one-month European vacationers.

Conclusion

At this juncture, I give a hearty thumbs-up to hotel living.

Your time is valuable. Thanks for spending some of it here. Victoria 🙏

© Victoria Kjos. All Rights Reserved. 2024.

asia
1

About the Creator

Victoria Kjos

I love thinking. I respect thinking. I respect thinkers. Writing, for me, is thinking on paper. I shall think here. My meanderings as a vagabond, seeker, and lifelong student. I'm deeply honored if you choose to read any of those thoughts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Victoria Kjos is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.