Wander logo

Why do people view change and action as running from your problems?

I believe in imperfect action, and it means people think I am running, then run run run my friend.

By sara burdickPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Colombia

Today I am leaving my little hotel. I have been at this little pueblo about an hour north of Bogotá for five days. Recently I have been traveling very fast; usually, I stay a month in a place, but I am on a mission.

Plus, I only have limited time left here in Colombia, sadness.

If you have been following my crazy journey, you are aware I am looking for a home or a semi-permanent home. However, at this moment in my life, it is about travel.

Colombian Views

My short-term plan is to travel around and explore the small pueblos and learn about this beautiful country’s deeper history and meaning. Plus, I love going to places where no one speaks English so that I can practice my Spanish; it is part of me staying outside of my comfort zone.

This morning at breakfast, I spoke to my hosts (in Spanish) for about 30 minutes, and they told me so many good places to visit. My secret tip for how I travel, ask a local.

I have added three more little towns to my list, all based on the Natives route and the search for El Dorado.

It also made me grateful to myself for learning Spanish; well, I can understand almost everything; on occasion, I have to ask you to repeat, but overall, I understand 80%, which is way better than how I was 1.5 years ago!

I can also speak, but it’s a bit rockier, yet every day I am entirely immersed helps me; I even think in Spanish now, which is weird. In my head, it sounds better than when I open my mouth, trust me!

Yet, if I had never learned Spanish and never talked to people and shared with them my goals and what I want to see, I would never be where I am now. It can be said for almost my entire life.

I have been laughed at my whole life, especially when I told all my co-workers one day I would walk away and never return. First, I got laughed at; now they are not laughing, instead asking me how I did it; it’s easy.

I set a goal and took action. Life is simple.

Like now, I have a plan, and with each person I talk to, I talk about my writing, my new blog, my YouTube channel, and my purpose here in Colombia.

It’s easy to learn the culture, the history, the people, and of course, practice Spanish. When you tell people this in a place where you might be the only foreigner, they will go out of their way to give you advice.

Also, don’t be a dick.

People all over are the same; we want to share our experiences and know about other people. Colombians are the same; they want to share their beautiful country and let you know that it is different from what you saw on Narco’s how they are transforming into one of the most visited countries in Latin America.

I made that up, but tourism here is booming. Advice on that in the next post, if I remember.

When you get off the beaten path, just like in life, when you turn left when everyone else turns right, you will learn something new and new about yourself.

Resistance, resilience, and, most of all, it’s not complicated.

Decide and do it; much easier said than done. This past year, I learned that if I am unhappy or uncomfortable, I will not sit and try to figure it out; I will leave.

Many think that is running, yet as my cousin says, if a book is terrible, I will stop reading it and pick up another.

Juice, Views, Writing = Perfection

If my life choice is not good, I will change it and hope the next one is better. Life is about choices, and not all our choices will be stars.

Accept that you made that choice, which wasn’t good; now, make another choice and use what you learned from the last choice to make a better one. It might not be better, but keep going.

Keep changing and evolving as we are a species of continuous movement. Monotony is a killer, well, for me, at least. I am not saying to run from your problems; those buggers don’t leave you.

Instead, face the problem head-on, and deal with it, if it’s fixable; if not, cut your losses.

I have had to do this many times, and I am still learning. Most of the time, when people call you out and tell you that you are not dealing with something, it is because you triggered them.

You may take action even if imperfect, but you are still doing it. Many will see you as running, but maybe saying goodbye is the ultimate way to deal with a problem.

I say all this from experience. I left my ex, a toxic situation I did not realize was as bad until recently.

I chose to come back to Colombia because of this country and did not want him to spoil the memories I have made here. I may still buy land here; I, of course, have been looking.

This time around, I have changed my outlook, and the people I have been meeting are reflecting how I feel on the inside.

Your external world will always reflect your inner world, so pay attention. I now have to have my second cup of coffee ¨when in Colombia¨ and catch the bus to my next destination.

cafecito

Don’t forget I am documenting it on YouTube if you are bored and want to follow along (plug hehe).

Nos Vemos Pronto.

XOXO

S.

Originally published here.

Free E book.

humanity

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    sara burdickWritten by sara burdick

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.