Wander logo

Where Will The Sky Take Me Next?

How I traveled from being stuck inside

By Raven Williams Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Where Will The Sky Take Me Next?
Photo by Adeolu Eletu on Unsplash

I lay out on my sunken brown couch around 4 or 5pm everyday. I often try to find something to watch on TV but I can’t seem to find anything when I want to half the time, almost like it’s not meant to watch TV at that hour. From the corner of my eye, I can see the reflection of the sun beaming off the trees that sit in front of my large windows. The trees become this super dark yet bright vibrant tone of green. I become intrigued to watch the gold sun make its way out of the world creating a lavender sky for the evening, paving a perfect tone for the moon and stars to appear… if they do. I can’t see the sky directly from the view of my couch, little parts of it may bleed through the trees though. I determine when the sun is walking towards its goodbye when the trees begin to lose its vibrance and turn to pastels. I guess it’s my way of seeing the sky change. Because one blink, and the sun sets without saying a word like if we watch her fall, then we know all the secrets of the world.

I always wanted to see the transitions of the sky changing the way it does when we’re not looking. I’ll have to settle for using the color of the trees for now. The birds sometimes will sit on the corner of the little rusted balcony attached to my window. I believe it’s the same ones that come visit me every morning. I used to put on some music around this time when quarantine first started, a way of unwinding, setting a vibe for myself. But I learned to just sit and enjoy my silence with the bird’s abundance of chirping symphonies.

That’s not even the half of the arousing moments I’ve captured of the nature that sits in front of my window. What’s been medicine is seeing the gloomy sky sit still before it becomes flooded with rain, and the trees are drinking God’s tears. I’ll be painting, reading, or doing whatever to keep me sane. Even through my heavy thoughts, and my loud enough Jazz that plays in the background, it will stop me from what I’m doing just to sit in front of my windows and just listen. Like I’m hypnotized by what the sky has to say today. I watch the soft ash grey fade to a pitch black and before you know it the rain stops, and it feels quiet. Even with small amounts of chatter from the people walking by.

I usually snap back to hearing the music, and ironically it’s always a melancholic jazz song that comes back to hug my ears. Except I don’t feel sadness, I feel peace, and even imagine a lover dancing with me to this tone of the early night. Some nights weren’t always rainy, the wind sometimes cleared out the sky enough to see the depth of a navy black sky being lit up, by whatever phase of the moon might be in. My favorite is seeing the full moon of course. Though I have to raise my blinds all the way up to see above my trees. At first I was hesitant to do so because who knows if there’s a peeping tom, but the luxury of living on the second floor, which is the highest my apartment building goes, the thought didn’t bother me as much. I would turn all my lights off, let a few candles illuminate my studio apartment and embrace the well lit sky of the moon’s presence.

You can say that quarantine has allowed me to watch the seasons change or travel to different parts of the world, all from the view of my sunken brown couch. Watching little flurries of snow, to a consistent high in the sky sun, the beautiful birds that carry an auburn color on their bellies, to heavy rain that sounds like I’m walking along the Niagara falls. What an adventurous time I’ve spent being inside.

nature
Like

About the Creator

Raven Williams

A renaissance woman who loves every art form. Though, writing is my first love. Welcome to my journey of putting my writing to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.