Wander logo

When Visiting Colombia, Do Not Skip The Boyacá Region

Some of the most beautiful pueblos in Colombia are in Boyacá

By sara burdickPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
2

Yesterday, I went to explore Pueblito Boyacense. This little pueblo is located in Duitama and is the only reason to come here.

Unless you stay at the same guesthouse I am at, the people who run Casa Familiar Centrica are amazing. Otherwise, Duitama is a dirty city with a commercialized downtown, and I would call it a large town.

There is nothing special.

I thought the entire town was a Pueblito, but that is only one area, and you must pay to enter.

I only research a little before going somewhere; I look up photos and hotels; renting a room is as fun as finding out what to do from the locals. Sometimes, when I research, I am disappointed because of the hype I create.

Here, they told me Pueblito Boyacense, and that’s it. So yesterday I went.

It was cute, it is an enclosed fake pueblito that represents 7 of the nicest pueblos in the Boyacá region (Villa de Leyva, Tibasosa, Tenza, Sáchica, El Cocuy, Mongui, and Ráquira).

I did not realize that until I stood inside the Mongui area. I had thought it looked familiar since I was in Mongui last year (plus, I overheard someone saying this is Mongui, hehe). I also went to Villa de Leyva the previous year.

After I explored, I came home and looked up what other pueblos the artificial structure represented, which I listed above. I realized that one was only a 20-minute bus ride from where I am staying, so I went today.

Why see a replica when I can see the real thing?

Tibasosa

Today, I went to Tibasosa, the feijoa capital of Colombia. Feijoa is a delicious fruit that grows here; I previously fell in love with it in this region. It grows on a tree and is green and white on the inside.

You can eat it raw or as a juice, and it can reduce cholesterol and help with hypertension. Nature is fantastic.

I wandered around the town for a few hours, took random pictures for groups traveling together, had lunch, and returned to my room. The city was empty, considering most pueblos in December are complete, as many Colombians take a holiday in December and celebrate Christmas. It may get busy at night.

I want to see El Cocuy since it looks amazing and is near the mountains. I almost went last year, but I was here during the rainy season, and it was not recommended to visit; however, now it is the dry season.

Tibasosa Cathedral

I am currently looking up hotels to see if it is worth me spending a few days up there; it is a bit further up and might be a bit of a hike to see, but since I am so close, just maybe.

It also depends on whether it will break the bank; the smaller and more remote the towns are here, the more expensive it will be.

Enjoy my photo tour of Tibasosa. The flavor of a feijoa is sweet/sour and delicious. Do not eat the skin as I just did; it is bitter! Even though they say you can eat it, I recommend to peel!

Just my personal experience.

One thing to note in Tibasosa is that there is an ATM; however, it did not work with my foreign ATM card; if you plan to visit, bring cash!

XOXO

S

solo travelsouth americafemale travelbudget travel
2

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.