Wander logo

When I Look at the Stars, I am a Traveler

Nothing but atmosphere

By Reese MariePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Third Place in Landscape Mode Challenge
5

Out of the window of an airplane. No one had ever told me that this was the perfect vantage point for viewing the stars. On my right, the man next to me was asleep, somehow, slumped over with the airplane-provided pillow under his head and airplane-provided blanket draped over him. I had spent the better part of two hours trying to get those airplane provisions situated in a comfortable– or comfortable enough– way to let me sleep... with no luck. Sleeping on the plane was a challenge too great for me. But I didn’t mind anymore. Because I had opened my window. About two hours before, I had closed it as part of the equation that was supposed to equal sleep. I followed every step of that equation but could not get it to yield the expected result. I should have known. I’ve never been any good at performing equations. Looking with wonder. That’s what I’m good at.

So I looked with wonder at the stars. It didn’t matter to me at the moment that I would land in Italy with no sleep to operate on. I figured the excitement would kick in and take over the control panel anyway. How wonderous it was to look at the stars. They were still so far away from me, but being up in the plane, I was closer to them than I had ever been before, those little specks of light on the navy blue sky. Soon, I started to see little specks not only above me, but below me too. This was Europe appearing in my sight. And I would be there for the first time in my life, farther away from my Midwestern home than I had ever been before.

Europe would take a homebody and turn her into a traveller. This was my resolution. Me, young but not getting any younger, too afraid to take many a chance but regretful in the aftermath. I had a few lessons to learn so I could start living before another moment passed. I wanted to carpe every diem, and what better place to do that than Europe? I had four months ahead of me, four months of living in Italy. Italy was different from Illinois and I was disappointed in myself when I felt homesick the first couple of days. How could I possibly want to be in Illinois, rather than Italy? But this didn’t last forever, in fact, it hardly lasted at all. Within a week or two I found myself achieving the goal I had set. I traveled to England then Switzerland then the Czech Republic, and explored Rome in the in-between.

They say, “all good things must come to an end.” This end came much sooner than I expected. A month and a half after landing in Italy, I was leaving. Coronavirus was spreading quickly, and the program had to evacuate all American students. Sitting on the plane, heading home, I was disappointed because I didn’t have the chance to prove myself. If I had lived abroad for four months, I would have been able to call myself a traveler, and adventurer, something other than a homebody. But, I thought, anyone can spend a month and a half away from home. I can’t call myself any of those things.

Then I was home. I was sitting in my backyard in Illinois as the light drained from the sky. This felt like a visualization of the disappointment I was facing. The light went quickly, as if unexpectedly. But soon, the first little pinprick of light appeared, followed by another and another. The stars were sparse that night, but present; small reminders that hope can appear when darkness is falling over the world. I looked up to the stars. They were so far away from me, farther away than Europe. But I was taking part in them. While my hands touched the cold Illinois ground, my eyes touched the lights that lay millions of miles away. And there was nothing but atmosphere between me and the stars. Nothing truly separating me from them. They were far away from home, and I was there with them. When I looked at the stars, I was a traveller again.

humanity
5

About the Creator

Reese Marie

"That the powerful play goes on and that you may contribute a verse"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.