Wander logo

What to know before visiting Iquitos, Peru

I ended up loving Iquitos

By sara burdickPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Like
What to know before visiting Iquitos, Peru
Photo by Hans Luiggi on Unsplash

Red/Green lights or any form of a stop sign is a suggestion.

There are so many moto-taxis. I feel like I am in southeast Asia, and it is so loud that I have not heard myself think for at least a week. Even in the hostel and at night!

I am used to Latin America, and it’s being loud, but Iquitos is on another level.

The ceviche and food is so good and spicy, and I have tried every juice and fruit I can find. They eat everything, including turtle.

The other day there was some political drama, as I believe the president is corrupt, and he was arrested, that same day, I was at a market, and the police showed up, and we all ran. I ran because they ran.

Running in 100-degree heat was not fun; I sweated out every toxin I may or may not have in my body. So yes it is hot.

The people have been friendly to me, and the catcalling exists here. I have learned to ignore it, smile, and keep walking.

I have heard that it can be dangerous in some areas; however, I practice the same level of caution I would go in any big Latin American city; so far, I have had no issues, and I hope that luck continues.

The ATMs here give soles and dollars, because many retreat centers want to be paid in dollars.f

The Wi-Fi here is awful; I have it sometimes, and it works for an app, but loading a blog and writing has been a challenge.

It is not a place to come if you have to work online; luckily, I knew that and have planned accordingly.

While I was here, my goal was to find somewhere to go into the jungle and learn about medicine and how the locals live. I was unsure this goal would come true, and then I started talking and asking questions.

I found a shaman in the jungle who works at a retreat center. The owner will be leaving and needs some help with translation, caring for the guests, and teaching English to the children in the village.

I will pay for room and board, but for anything that goes to education and helping the locals, I will always support them. The center is the most affordable in the area because the local shaman also works as a doctor in the village of 8 families, and he kept them all healthy throughout the pandemic.

I am always nervous about my Spanish. I met him today, and he was so grateful that I am willing to go and help them and that I want to learn more about plant medicine, as it has always fascinated me, he told me to bring a pen and paper and he is my new teacher.

He is so sweet; I am so excited to get away from the city and learn about life in the jungle; he said we could even walk into the wilderness. He told me that not many come here are curious about what they do here, so I feel so special to be taken under his wing, and my Spanish will dramatically improve.

I will plan to spend a week, or two, or three; who knows, I do not have to make my way back up to Colombia until the middle of January, when I will be meeting a friend visiting Colombia for the first time, and then to collect my suitcases from my old home.

I am nervous and excited as I leave tomorrow by boat, as I am told that everyone knows them and will know where to drop me off.

So into the jungle, I went.

XOXO

S

volunteer travelsouth americasolo travelfemale travel
Like

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.