Wander logo

WESTWARD BOUND

California Here I Come

By Nathonia SmithPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
WESTWARD BOUND
Photo by Viviana Rishe on Unsplash

As a married woman, it’s not often that I consider taking a solo trip over a certain distance. But, as individuals we could all use that solo quality time to self-reflect. It is great time to appreciate your own company, increase your spirituality (if you’re a spiritual person) and connect to our Creator.

All of my life I have been trying to get to California to enjoy the sites, visit the beautiful beaches and spend time with family there. As a young adult, I had my sights on moving to any city in Cali that would allow me to occasionally see some celebrities. For years I’ve had relatives there, many born and raised there. There’s always been an invitation to visit certain relatives near the LA area. But my funds have never been enough for me to really enjoy a week long visit there. But I digress. When this pandemic is finally over, and I have faith that it will be soon, I am doing something I’ve never done before. I am flying, yes on a plane, to California. This will be a first for me in two ways, getting on an airplane and traveling west. It something I’ve always wanted to do and I believe the time is near.

My mental itinerary is already set, from start to finish:

On that warm early Sunday morning, I’ll get up and pray. Then, I’ll shower, brush my teeth and dress in clothing that is adaptable to any climate, in case of long layovers. I’m guessing it will be in my best interest to have a bite to eat before I leave home. Whether I’m flying coach or first class, I would rather eat before I leave home so that I can attempt to enjoy my first flight anywhere. I’m going to savor ever moment of this solo trip, from the ride to the airport to waiting to board my flight. I’ll have my cellphone charged, as well as my new digital camera ready to capture nature’s beautiful scenery along my path. This is definitely a journey to remember. With each stop during the journey to my destination, I’ll take in some scenery, if only through a brief glance because the layover may not be long enough for me to explore that particular city. As always, I’ll be aware of my surroundings as I admire my different persons, places, and things.

When I finally hear the announcement that the plane is about to land at my chosen location in California, I’ll be filled with so much joy, excitement, and anticipation. “Thank God I made it.” is the thought in my mind. The joy and excitement of finally getting a chance to visit a place filled with so many famous people whom I admire because of their ability to entertain others through musical and/or acting talents. I already know that there’s a chance that I may not see any celebrities. But, just knowing that I’m in their city will have to be enough for me. After all, I’m no longer that starstruck teenager eager to meet actors and singers.

I’m anticipating the scenic views, white sand and blue water, while riding along the beach boulevards. I’ll capture pictures of residents and tourists enjoying the great outdoors on California’s beach. Maybe I’ll take a walk along the boardwalk, By the end of my first day, I’ll have taken in so many beautiful sites and captured so many photos before arriving at the place I’ll spend the following week. As dinner time approaches, I may just try a plate of seafood from a neighborhood restaurant. I’m curious to taste the seasonings California cooks and chefs use to season their seafood. I’m sure I’ll enjoy because I’ll be enjoying it while in California.

Each day of my week in California will be an adventure to me, filled with gratitude and I’ll take advantage of it. Looking up at the bright blue skies covering the city, feeling the sunshine on my skin while a cool breeze blows across my face. It won't take long to tell the differences between my usual southern climate and the western climate. Whatever the differences are, I can appreciate it. More than likely, I’ll probably purchase some California scratch off lottery tickets. Who knows, I could win big in the state where the dreams of many have come true.

And, at the end of my trip, my self-pride will have increase because with one solo trip, I’ve completed two things on my bucket list, riding on a plane and visiting the state of California! That’s my long awaited solo trip, adventure, that I am so looking forward to!

solo travel
2

About the Creator

Nathonia Smith

I am a wife, mother, grandmother, inventor and online published writer who recently completed studies at Ashford University earning a Bachelors Degree in Human Resource Management. Writing has always given me such joy and fulfillment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.