Wander logo

Welcome to Palau!

VIRTUAL POSTCARD

By Maelisha KahlbaumPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Welcome to Palau!
Photo by Massimo Virgilio on Unsplash

Since I was born and raised in Hawaiʻi, I have seen pretty much everything that most tourists come here to experience; we have crisp blue water, lush green landscapes, amazing food but I want to take a vacation to the beautiful island of Palau.

Fun Fact! one of my parents is from Koror, Palau and it is astonishing to live vicariously through their stories of adventures on the island. There were multiple times my family wanted to go on a trip here and unfortunately we kept putting it on hold for some reason, but after the pandemic is the perfect time to my family and Myself to Carpe Diem (seize the day) and book a flight to Palau and begin my “Things To Do in Palau” bucket list.

By Milos Prelevic on Unsplash

Side Note: If you didnʻt know - Palau was featured on national television as the filming location for the tenth season of the competitive series Survivor which was aired in 2004 and the islands are breathtaking and for sure viewers across the nation booked their flights after the filming.

By Massimo Virgilio on Unsplash

Visit my Family:

My Grandma that lives near the filming site of Survivor and I definitely want to spend quality time with the whole family and eat my favorite delicacy of fish and crab that is freshly caught every other morning and cooked in soup or Hibachi (BBQ) style. My Grandma has been asking for us to come for a visit for a few years now and I know she will be delighted to see her grandkids.

By Wang Yi Chen on Unsplash

Dive into Jellyfish lake:

You may think that sounds dangerous but according to my family it isn’t as bad as you think. Jellyfish Lake is located on Eil Malk island in Palau as a part of the Rock Islands and millions of golden jellyfish migrate on a daily basis. It’s just like Finding Nemo when Dory was bouncing around and sure it looked fun, except for Dory getting hurt, but the best part is the stingers are so small that they are harmless to humans so you can touch the crowns and watch these beautiful creatures swim around you.

By Sara Dubler on Unsplash

Palau Pacific Resort:

I did my research on this resort and it is five stars all around! They offer a spa center and a private beach area with an outdoor fresh-water infinity pool. I definitely want to stay here for a few days to go through the sightseeing tour and enjoy the bungalow overlooking the crystal-clear water.

By Dušan Smetana on Unsplash

Swim with dolphins:

There is a place called Dolphin Bay where people can interact with dolphins through a program called Close Encounter where people an educational tour of the dolphin environment and encounter dolphins to see how their bodies are in the water and see them jump and the tour group doesn’t allow personal photos so the family will have to pay $20-$30 for a professional photo.

By Massimo Virgilio on Unsplash

Rock Islands:

I want to experience the tour that would take us from Koror to the Milky Way. The boat stops above this bay of milky clay that has therapeutic and anti-aging properties, the tour people help passengers gather clay into a bucket then everyone lathers up in the clay and when it hardens you just jump into the water and it washes right off.

By Massimo Virgilio on Unsplash

Hiking and fishing:

There are a whole bunch of hiking trails in Palau and my Aunties walk them every day and it great because I love being out in the sun and climbing trails with my family and after that we can join up for a fishing expedition and learn from my Uncles and maybe catch some fish back in Hawaiʻi.

guide
1

About the Creator

Maelisha Kahlbaum

Musician/Artist from Hawaii. Pop Culture Nerd. Spreading Aloha through music and writing. Mahalo Nui!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.