Beat logo

Music is Medicine for the Soul..

- Nathan West, Frontman of East of Eli

By Maelisha KahlbaumPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

1-20: Jess Glynne

At the top of my quarantine playlist is the iconic Jess Glynne; starting with my favorite collaboration with Raye. I first discovered Jess Glynne in 2015 when she collaborated with Clean Bandit to create ‘Rather Be.’ Since that song came out she has released a few albums and they found their way to my playlist, some of the albums have a feel to it that makes you want to dance or the dishes and the others make you contemplate emotions like ‘Thursday’ or ‘Why Me.’ My absolute favorite from her recent album ‘Always in Between’ will have to be ‘I’ll Be There’ because it is uplifting to hear this amazing song about someone being there when you are at your lowest. I listen to Jess Glynne when I draw or walk around the block to get a clear head.

21-38: East of Eli

I have expressed my love for this band in my previous writing ‘How East of Eli Changed my Life’ and just by Watching music videos on YouTube – I notice that Nathan West and Chyler Leigh honestly have the best chemistry on stage and it is proof that they have found true love in a world that is lacking love and their music is resonating the message that love will break through and travel millions of lightyears to be the light that will bring everyone out of the darkness and that is exactly what their music has done for me in my lowest points in life.

39-41: Jonas Blue and Jax Jones

Jonas Blue and Jax Jones are my favorite cover remix and electric artists who came across the music scene and the songs are perfect for cleaning or to shower for the fourth or fifth time of the day. They are so creative to have taken on the challenge of covering songs like Tracy Chapman’s ‘Fast Car’ and creating great tracks with Jess Glynne, Years and Years, Indie Artists JP Cooper and William Singe. Something interesting to watch for fun or out of sheer boredom is the album called ‘Snacks’ from Jax Jones and each track is a grocery item - a box of cereal or bottle of soap every item is present on a grocery checkout conveyer belt in the song ‘Play’ ft. Years and Years.

44: Captain Cuts

The song ‘Love Like We Used To’ is probably my favorite song from this band, it has this pop and funk feel that is great for dancing in the kitchen while cooking breakfast and I’m so happy that the Writers of Supergirl included this song in the Valentine’s Day Episode of season 2, and it was stuck in my head for a long time and one day the radio played this song at the department store that I walked into and it was fate that I download this song for cooking or working.

45-70: Mamma Mia!

Mamma Mia! It brings me back to High school theater watching this play and we wanted to compare it to the movie. First of all, it is Meryl Streep, need I say more… The amazing ensemble of singers and dancers working together to bring this phenomenal story to life. Recently, the cast reprised their roles in the sequel with the Iconic Cher and Andy Garcia and both soundtracks have made their way to my playlist and my shower concert lineup.

71: Toploader - Dancing in the Moonlight

This version is a cover from Toploader is a classic party song with a pop 70’s feel and I love this one because it was in a dance scene of The Umbrella Academy with Luther and Alison having a moment and they broke out in a dance that was perfection and hope to use this time of quarantine to learn this dance or learn a new recipe.

72-82: P!nk

There is no way that I could get through quarantine without the incredible P!nk. This lady got me through high school when I needed to turn to music for emotional support and I hope during these times that I can get the same support. The first song I heard from her was “Get the Party Started,” and it was the song that my cousins and I used to dance to when we got out of school and went to the park with our walk-mans.

83: Kygo – Higher Love ft. Whitney Houston

I didn’t normally listen to Kygo, but they did a remix of Whitney Houston’s Higher Love and I fell in love with them and the song. The original song is amazing, but this version really brings out Whitney’s vocals and it sounds surreal. I highly recommend everyone to listen to this track remix when they need to unwind after a long day of work or just because.

84: Tina Turner – The Best

I love Tina Turner, especially the movie biography and recently I binge-watched Schitt’s Creek on Netflix as one does, and (SPOILER) there was an episode of an open mic night where they cover this song and I had all the feels of love and joy, since the series ended I had this song on a loop.

85-86: New Wave

In the Early 2000’s there was movie out called D.E.B.S and it was hilarious and original. It centers around an academy of spies that look like schoolgirls, Amy - one of the spies, falls in love with Lucy the villain, and there is a great sequence of the two falling in love with the song Temptation playing in the background. After they were caught and broke up, there was an amazing scene where Lucy is lip syncing to A Little Respect when trying to win Amy back.

bands
1

About the Creator

Maelisha Kahlbaum

Musician/Artist from Hawaii. Pop Culture Nerd. Spreading Aloha through music and writing. Mahalo Nui!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.