Wander logo

Visiting New York City

Tips and Tricks for the Big Apple

By Becky StanwayPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Top of the Rock 

I was lucky enough to travel to New York in September for my 21st birthday but while I was there, there were a few things that I wish someone had told me, so here I am, telling you lot!

Now bearing in mind I went in September some of my advice is geared towards the later months rather than the summer.

First things first, it can get hot and humid. While you can't see the sun due to the multitude of high rises, it is most definitely there so I would suggest packing some sunscreen to keep you protected.

Shoes

I would definitely recommend walking or using the subway rather than a cab. With all the traffic in New York, it just doesn't seem worth wasting money sitting in traffic when you can be walking and taking in the sights.

As with any long walk, wear sensible shoes! While I was there I lived in plimsolls and trainers and because you'll be walking an awful lot, make sure to wear shoes that you've broken in. Don't buy shoes out there and then walk ten blocks; you will get blisters. Speaking of, make sure to take some blister plasters with you; they are always good to have on hand.

Eating Out

As you can expect with any bustling tourist city, there are an array of places to eat, from In 'N Out and McDonald's to high-end restaurants. Just walk Broadway and you can see the vast amount of places to eat, most of which you can just walk to and be seated straight away. I will say, however, that if there is a specific place you'd like to eat in, try booking in advance to secure your meal rather than turning up and risking no spaces.

Tipping

Unlike the UK where tips are a few pounds (for standard restaurants), the US service industry expects a tip between 15-20 percent to anyone from your concierge to your bartender and waitress so always make sure you have a few dollar notes with you.

Most servers that I came across in NYC were amazing, asked us where we were from, what we had planned, and even gave us advice on the best places to visit; however, some servers might leave a sour taste in your mouth. However they make you feel, they still expect a tip, something I found out the hard way.

Some restaurants work out your tip for you at the bottom of your bill but be careful. They sometimes up the tip by a few dollars hoping you don't notice, so always double check!

Broadway

I would definitely recommend going to see a show while in the city. I saw Aladdin and it was fantastic. When it comes to getting tickets, I highly recommend looking around for same day tickets instead of going to your concierge, who will charge full price.

Days Out

Plan your day. If there is something you definitely want to see while you're visiting then book ahead. You never know how busy the thing will be. For example, at the 9/11 Memorial/Museum, you have multiple choices for tickets, all of which are cheaper online. You can have a tour guide or walk around at your own pace. It's definitely something I would recommend, a very emotional experience.

Personally, I wouldn't recommend the Zoo; it's quite expensive for what it is: the zoo itself is relatively small with little to no other activities and the animals looked terribly sad.

Something I would definitely recommend would be the top of the rock. I watched the sunset on the top floor and it was absolutely mesmerizing, looking at the skyline and listening to the muffled sound of the city below is definitely something everyone should experience.

New York is such an amazing place to visit and can be quite inexpensive if you look for some deals. Look at the place you're staying in. Do they have deals with any restaurants? Two for one meals in larger restaurants or smaller restaurants slightly outside the city are cheaper than chain restaurants.

I love New York: the place itself and the amazing people I met while I was out there. I hope these tips helped and I hope you have an amazing time!

america
Like

About the Creator

Becky Stanway

Writing about a little bit of everything

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.