Wander logo

Underwater

Finding Yourself

By Makayla NorftillPublished 4 years ago 3 min read

" We have to be honest about what we want and take risks rather than lie to ourselves and make excuses to stay in our comfort zone." (Roy T. Bennett, the light in the heart.)

As many may think traveling alone can be scary, it can also bring us to the realization of how much being alone can benefit our own wellbeing. Traveling on your own can create a new space and new image that you never knew was possible, you're given the open state of mind without interruption. You can transform a room of darkness into a masterpiece of your own just by what you surround your mind with.

Fiji, an island made up of islands. An underwater creation, coral reefs of color, shape, and living matter. A getaway for most and new space of mind, a place to create your own reality without other human interaction, an escape in paradise.

Fiji, my choice of a solo getaway, this is why.

24 hours before departure, packing, organizing and scrambling together. The rush before I step foot onto a flight that could change my personal perspective and help me find myself. Takeoff, blue skies and a clear flight. I take a deep breath and lay back 5,863 miles later, we land.

Officially it's day one and the view is breathtaking, I can't wait to try the culture's food from island grown foods such as pineapple, coconut, guava, lemons and many more, to underground oven meals like lovo, tovioka, and mahi mahi. Although I'm a fruit lover I'm not much of a fish lover, but isn't this what this trip is about to branch out and find yourself? Fish is on the menu and I can't wait. From old ways of prepping and cooking to all the new dishes and flavors I will endure, cultural food is a way of getting to know more about the culture itself.

Now that the food has been explored how about we take a look at some of the attractions. One reason I wanted to make Fiji my solo trip of my dreams was due to the amazing sceneries and tourist attractions. I've always loved the water growing up from fishing, to wake boarding and boating, but I have never seen the ocean with my own eyes. Wow, what a beautiful piece of nature it is. Watching the waves crash with white tips and the clear blue waters that stretch for miles past what I can see, a breath of fresh air into new beginnings.

As day two comes to a close I look out my window that overlooks the waters and think, what is all out there? I've always loved the water, maybe I can discover something one day. A marine biologist that's what I wanna be, letting my mind flow as I go to sleep that night of all the amazing things that I will see.

Day 3, I wake up, have my breakfast and start off down to bequ lagoon. Bequ lagoon is known for over 100 different dive sites, from soft coral reefs to diving with sharks.

Being able to experience this would show me a side of nature I've never known, a place to explore more than we will ever know and a feeling of peace.

The moment I jumped into the blue depths of the open ocean I felt a rush of water over me, filled with never ending space and aquatic life all around me. The feeling of fear, happiness, and wonder overwhelmed me and I knew that diving was what I was meant to do. Diving is a passion and a dream for me, to something that creates a new level of unknown. It makes me want to never stop, to keep looking and showing everyone around me that until you put yourself into the unknown and do it yourself you may never find what you truly have passion for.

solo travel

About the Creator

Makayla Norftill

There is something we're all afraid to write about, but that something could be the exact thing that someone needs to read so don't stop writing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Makayla NorftillWritten by Makayla Norftill

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.