Wander logo

Two trips to grow up

Xiamen; Beijing

By Bella LiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Xiamen, taken by me

In 2020, I finished China's college entrance examination, left busy high school life and entered a university. What I don’t know is that, I was accepted to the college in my hometown, which was only 15 minutes' drive from my home. However, I am in a Sino-foreign cooperative education program, and I will go to the United States to study in my sophomore year. Though I was still adjusting to college life in my first semester, 2021 was a big change, as I completed two trips that allowed me to grow.

The first thing is that I went to Xiamen by plane for the first time to see the sea.

Because I went to college locally, I didn't have the opportunity to come to school by train or plane from other places like my classmates, or to take transportation home alone at the end of the holidays. I want to try this thing too.

Preparing for IELTS was very tiring. In order to motivate myself to study, I bought a plane ticket to Xiamen one month in advance. I finally finished my IELTS exam at the end of April, then flew to Xiamen on the third day of China's five-day Labor Day holiday. Why do I fly to Xiamen? Because I haven't seen the sea for four years. There was no time to relax and have fun in high school. When I was little, my father would take me to the seaside every two years. I missed the sea very much. When I was preparing for an exam, I was under a lot of pressure. Thinking about the roaring sea helped me decompress.

Flying alone for the first time

After my father dropped me off at the airport, I dragged my suitcase to the airport alone. Since I haven't taken a plane for many years, my parents used to take me on the plane, but this time I need to finish it alone, so I am really a little nervous. I checked in, I went through security, I found the gate, there was no long delay, I got on the plane very smoothly. I proudly took a selfie and sent it to my family and friends.

Arriving in a strange city, waiting for the bus at the airport, dragging my suitcase to the hotel, and meeting my friends who are studying in Xiamen, I did all these things in a nervous mood.

I almost cried when I finally heard the waves and saw them crashing on the rocks. Although it was raining heavily, I stood on the beach and felt very happy.

For me, the trip was like an adventure that confirmed my ability to travel independently.

Beijing Tian'anmen Square

The second thing, I finished my five-day trip alone in Beijing.

Since I will go to the United States to study in August, I need to apply for a visa in Beijing this summer holiday. The last time I visited Beijing was ten years ago, and this was an awesome opportunity to see the Chinese capital before heading to the United States. With the experience of flying alone in Xiamen, I was not so nervous this time. I plan my trip in advance and plan four or five attractions for each day. But Beijing is really too big, the first two days of the fresh feeling found himself particularly tired.

A bookstore in Beijing

So I improvised my itinerary, got a good sleep on the third day, visited some Beijing bookstores, found a teahouse and sat down for a cup of tea, walking through the hutongs of old Beijing to see the signs of time. Although I didn't visit any famous scenic spots that day, I realized that traveling is not about visiting many places, but about relaxing my body and mind.

Above all, it was these two trips that made me grow up and feel less nervous when I flew from Shanghai to the United States half a month ago.

Beihai Park in Beijing

student travel
Like

About the Creator

Bella Li

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.