Wander logo

Two hometowns?

Is it possible to claim

By Michael James MoïsePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Is it possible to claim two hometowns? “Where are you from?” is a good question that is always thrown around. I am originally from a city where most people tend to mispronounce the name or ask “where’s that?” so my most typical response is “it’s about 20 minutes from Boston” to save emptiness chatter.

The city I am referring to is Lowell Massachusetts aka Mill City. Lowell is where I spent the better half of my childhood and adolescent years. For Lowell will always be home, the memories that are instilled in my journey. In this piece, I want to introduce my adopted hometown, how I got there, and the impact it has made on my adulthood.

Furthering educational pursuits or simply wanting to just get away, is why many individuals leave their hometowns.

In my case, leaving Lowell was intertwined with having to leave for personal growth and education was the sole key for making that come to fruition.

Earning stripes at two different state community colleges and rightfully earning the grades and credits to transition to a well respected University. Coming from an educational background that suited the trajectory of school to prison pipeline; this was a feat within itself.

One of the main reasons I decided to take this University leap is that I’d be close to Canada, which alone sounded cool and two, most people had nothing good to say about the city other than the university.

Common feedback was, it’s too cold and it snows all the time, what are you going to do over there because there ain’t much out there and much more inexperienced views. The rebel in me internally wanted to prove these naysayers wrong. With one family friend and no other connections living in the new city, I aimlessly made my move.

Funny, when I moved to the city, I had no idea there was a professional football team nor that Buffalo wings originated from the city. Mind you my very first introduction to my adopted hometown was when I moved into my dorm room.

As a student, the two years I spent on campus I did not venture much into the city, never explored much of the community. The university did a good job not intermingling much with the city from my undergraduate perspective.

With little city exploration under my belt, midway in my 20’s, not wanting to go back home, I made the choice to stay and get a place of my own after receiving a job opportunity prior to graduating.

That is when things slowly changed. And I was transitioning upon my life journey.

One day at work, while explaining my passion behind advancing self through personal development to embetter others and self to a coworker.

She introduced me to a friend who introduced me to their friends who and then their friends became my friends. Learning and experiencing more about the culture of the city. Also, discovering the non-commercialized spots where locals reside.

My appreciation grew simultaneously with my love for the city.

Spending most of my adult years in this city. I’ve gained friends who I now consider family and we’ve been through life changing experiences together, started a business to empower self and others, earned the responsibility of having my first God-daughter, met a young woman and fell in and out of love, and learned how to navigate through many parts of the city without a GPS. With my years of experience in the city, many are shocked to learn that I’m originally from Lowell.

I intentionally did not mention the name for a reason, for the city is known as “The city of Good neighbors”. From my personal experience it rings truthfully .

The love I have for the city of Buffalo will always be real, for it is my adopted hometown. I’ve etched myself within the community, participated in movements to bring awareness to Black humanity. Nothing but pure love and having watched the blossom of the community in front of my eyes. I’m glad that I made the step outside of my comfort zone at a young age .

This city will forever be imprinted on my soul, Buffalo New York a home away from home.

Downtown

humanity
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.