Wander logo

Travel With Three of My Children

What a great birthday gift it was!

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 3 min read
Authors photo.

We went to North Carolina. I didn't want to have a 70th birthday party, so the kids suggested a trip together for my birthday. I loved the idea and thought our trip was the greatest! The best trip I had ever taken.

Was it North Carolina? No. My birthday is in January. They had a record breaking cold temperature. It was -7 degrees while we were there. They broke cold temp records. So, the mountains were closed and other roads where there were touristy things.

We were leaving MN for a week in hopes of getting into warmer temperatures. Our winter tends to be cold. This year, not so much. When North Carolina had their record-breaking cold temp., we were seasonably warm in Minnesota this winter.

What made the trip the best is spending time with my kids. My oldest son Caleb has 4 children that keeps him, and his wife busy along with his career. The youngest just finished her 4-year degree while she pitched for the college she attended.

The only way to see them was in the baseball bleachers.

My daughter has 8 children. 5 are now out of the house, 3 with children of their own. Leaving her with 3 children at home. A now 17-year-old, a 10 and a 9-year-old. She will continue to have basketball, and school for 2 for some time to come.

My youngest, even though he is soon to be 46, has a 4-year-old daughter. She is the joy of he and his fiancé's life. They both have very busy work lives and between work and other obligations, we don't see enough of them.

So, we took the trip that my husband didn't mind not going on and their partners didn't want to go either. Lucky me. We hung out together. We caught up with life. We ate great food and did some touristy things together. We played cards and enjoyed the scenery.

Authors photo of my children and I in Asheville, North Carolina.

It was a blast!

A trip with my grown children at last!

Celebrating me turning 70!

The trip really was quite heavenly!

We didn't have snow or ice!

There was a time or two of a pie slice!

Laughter filled the air!

As we brought back memories to share!

I have the stories!

There were no vainglories!

Is that what happens when all grown up?

I'm sober, and no one filled their cup!

I wasn't going to mention!

And there was no sign of any contention!

Overall, the very best time of all!

Face it, we had a ball!

And Everyone wishes to do it again!

Amen!

~~

The things I learned will be with me the rest of my life. My children are self-sufficient, strong and capable. They have the ability to care for themselves and their family. They could relax and enjoy the company of their siblings and mother.

They have struggles and are handling them. When they moved out as soon as they finished high school, I thought I failed, because I had friends that still had their children living with them.

I found out; I did my job. They know how to take care of themselves, and they have proven that over and over again. I can go to my maker and not worry about them. Our trip was so important for me.

This trip was much more important than celebrating my 70th. 69 was a tough year and I am hopeful that this year will be better. It already is and I won't have to worry about getting older again. 70, is the new 50 some say.

Well, I have two children that are 50 and a son and daughter in law in the 50 age range. And I don't think that is true! When the kids were climbing rocks, I was on Facebook in the car and listening to music. I told them to get some pictures for me. That was enough!

naturefamily travelamericaactivities

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    If 70 is the new 50 then 60 must be the new 40. I will be 60 in a month. Way to go in life and the story.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I remember this trip, you've written about it before. Reading this was a wonderful walk down memory lane!

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    You are lucky. Glad to read this!

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.