Wander logo

Mazatlan

Attending A retreat in Mexico when I retired was great and I recommend this for retirement or anytime!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 29 days ago 3 min read
4
Mazatlan
Photo by Carlos Gomezcésar on Unsplash

In 2016 I retired from my job and decided to take the year off before going back to work part-time. I really did need the break. I was invited by a friend to go to her retreat.

The retreat was in Mexico. I had been over the border a few times in Mexico and Canada and had traveled to most states in the United States, but this would be the first time in another country for more than a quick shopping trip across the border.

We watched the setting sun each night and it was a highlight. Authors photo.

We were in Mazatlan for 7 days and the retreat was for 3 of those days. That meant we did everything together for the first 3 days and the next 4 days could be on our own. Most of us spent time together for most of the 4 remaining days.

A highlight was having plenty of time for rest. I was a new retiree and wasn't sure I could do that, but I found I could have fun with the group and much of our time together was restful. A few of the women were close to my age.

Another highlight was that I spent a few sessions with a massage therapist. Once at her shop and the next time in my quarters. If I had known upon arriving that a massage was so cheap, I may have had one every day while there. The cost was $25.00 for an hour massage.

The place I stayed was on the beach, had a swimming pool and a tree house restaurant. The food was great and the pool was just right. We took walks on the beach and did some yoga while at the retreat and both were great!

We went out in the evening and we had fun and a guided tour with the two friends who lived there for a part of the year.

The retreat was great but I can imagine it is difficult to book as it is a bit pricey. I treated myself and my husband agreed that I could use it as a retirement gift and he wasn't interested in going along.

Here is the group in front of where some of us stayed.

Women's retreats are some of my favorite experiences, and the Mazatlan retreat is one of the best. Once in Mazatlan, friends picked me up at the airport. I noticed right away some differences. People didn't always stop at stop signs but they did stop for yield signs.

There were a few other noticeable traffic things. I saw whole families on motorcycles and bicycles. I rode with the group in the back of a pickup-like vehicle with an overhead cover and seats. As we drove along on my first adventure away from the beach, we saw police frequently.

Our hosts told us that the police were there for our protection as they knew it was important for them to take good care of the tourists. We were assured that we were safe. And I did feel safe the entire time of my trip.

We had fun at the beach every day and saw just a few critters. A few in our quarters. Salamanders were here and there and almost everywhere.

The pool where we stayed.

There were plenty of places to relax in the sun or shade. I had a great time and we all did. My friend Kay asked when there would be another one. I would love to go back. There hasn't been one there since. Most are in Minnesota.

I told my friend who has the retreat business that I would have to help plan and recruit and be a part of the retreat staff to afford to go. Women's retreats are great and I recommend you try one.

naturetravel advicefemale travelfeatureactivities
4

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran28 days ago

    Lol yes, you could have gone for a massage daily! Loved your photos!

  • Babs Iverson29 days ago

    Loved reading about your retirement retreat!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.