Wander logo

Time For People To Admit Ghana's A Racist, Xenophobic, Colorist, Tribalistic & Corrupted Place [Screenshots of Racism in Ghana]

Unless you have wealth you will rarely see this people live segregated lives

By IwriteMywrongsPublished 10 months ago 8 min read
Like
CREATED BY AUTHOR USING HATEFUL COMMENTS FROM GHANIANS

Sunday, 9 July 2023

By: TB Obwoge

Ghana is a funny, cruel place. The government knows the issues and problems facing their citizens but they decide to throw millions of US dollars into the most wasteful things.

Even homophobic & hateful Ghana MP Sam George, who once went onto social media to make fun of a Ghanian proclaiming his electric bill was more than the persons salary. Last I checked the Ghana government paid the utility bills of their elected officials.

Sam George who I met in my local super market, treated employees as if they were his personal slaves. Sam admitted to paying his way into office and said the average Ghanian is corrupt as well.

I paid to get elected - Sam George says the average Ghanaian is corrupt

Ghana's government wants Africans and the rest of the world to drool over it's beauty of architecture. There is not much natural beauty, unless you're in the Eastern Region or the Volta Region, where they have not yet starting chopping trees down.

Most of Ghana is not developed, there is more than 60% that isn't even lived in. Then when Ghanians live in a place the government refuses to maintain it. Roads are horrible, so bad there have been protests during the entire spand of 2023.

Screenshot from Ghanian on TWITTER Insulting the LATE Chrisitan Atsu's MIXED RACE CHILDREN

Striking fuel tanker drivers, school feeding staff have been sleeping outside on the ground for 3 days because they haven't been paid. While Akufo-Addo spent $3.5 million to renovate a memorial. Grant it the memorial was for Kwame Nkrumah, former president of Ghana & PanAfricanist. However even he would ask Akufo-Addo why he hates taking care of Ghanians.

With all this going on... the average Ghanian is still practice colorism, xenophobia, tribalism and racism.

Screenshot from Facebook POSTING A DEAD BODY SHE THINKS IS CHRISTIAN ATSU IN TURKEY EARTHQUAKE

Here are excerpts from articles I've written over my 2 year living in Ghana.

The insults hurled at dark skin people exists in Ghana, the calling people ugly for being dark is common place. I don’t blame those who skin bleach in West African countries, I don’t blame them at all they’re trying to escape being bullied incessantly, especially from other Ghanians. Because baby, it is constant and brutal the street harassment in Ghana.

A Ghanian man asked why I write about my bad experiences and I am as honest as can be, “I am ANGRY!” I’m damned angry, so angry I could cry and I do cry, Black to Africans don’t do their research They don’t travel alone to African countries and see what life is like.

They see the tourism and the famous hotels, beaches and built up places, because I know that is all I saw before coming.

Because of my marriage and relationships I heard things that many won’t hear or see on their tour guided visits. Or learn the political shit that has been choking some of these countries either.

It is all fun and games I’m gonna take my American dollars and live big because for $100 USD to $150 USD (a month full time) I can have a maid. When you’re knowing damn well in America that would get you a cleaning lady come to your home once.

Race in America is too much and I’m tired of it, only to find out that Ghanians gonna beat me over the head everyday with race. Ghanians are going to insult me and call me white all day long, not to mention fat mommy, Rasta, man, biggie, obolo (short form of fat in Twi), then when I complain call me crazy for saying I’m not White, I’m Black.

Darker skinned American man said he didn’t care, see now you know how dark skin women been getting treated all their lives. When I added that a Ghanian said my Kenyan husband and all Kenyans are, “All dark Black and ugly!” Not to mention they use “darkie and Blackie” as names to call people whom are darker in skin color many whom don’t like it!

He ignored that part, in Ghana you can’t win, so what do they want? If you’re light skin you can’t win and if you’re dark skin you are called ugly.

Source: Had I Known Colorism & Xenophobia is Rampant in Ghana I Wouldn’t Have Given my Life Away to Relocate. MEDIUM

Authors Photo Ghanian Child

I was seated in a quaint, little bar in Greater Accra's East Legon section, it was across the road from where my ex-fiancé worked. It was the first time I learned the Ghanians called darker skinned Ghanians like my ex-fiancé "blacky & darky" with such pride in their voices. What ignorant bastard would think that these names even remotely sound cute and should be directed at Black people?

When I said something another ignorant bastard claimed that all Black Americans use these terms towards one another. Black, Black is a surname (last name) for many Black Americans ands calling someone Black is not the same as "Blacky"

Screenshot from Facebook Ghanian TALKING ABOUT SLAVERY

Another thing that always happens in Ghana, they blame all the evils of America on the 12.6% of Black Americans. Black Americans who are 40-35 million of the 332 million Americans. Even everything the American government does is blamed on Black Americans.

Authors Photo ME EX ON THE LEFT

In a viral TikTok seen by millions of people a Black American woman speaks about having a resturant write "darky" on her order. She's almost in tears as she's telling the story, this happened in Atlanta of all places. She tried to cancel her order but they refused, she asked the man why he did it and he acted as if it was no big deal.

I've spoken with Ghanians that are called "darky and blacky" with the exception of my braindead ex Ernest Addo, who thinks this is just a nickname and no big deal. The same man that thinks making and leaving multiple babies is no big deal either, his ideas of what is right doesn't matter.

The caretaker at my old apartment building cried as he told me his family called him 'darky' for his house name, Ghanians use the word house name instead of nickname.

Screenshot from Twitter

I've watched a Ghanian threaten a white man for no reason, the man was outside of Accra Mall in Ghana, trying to park his motor cycle. For no reason other than to be a racist prick the man started yelling at him, he told him to get out of the way of his car. The man was not in his way, the motor cycle parking area was not in his way.

He got out his car to scream in the man's face, he then said "don't talk to me like that in my own country!" Who says that? Who is to say that the white man is not Ghanian and in his own country?

Africans, especially Ghanians don't think anyone but Black people can be citizens in African countries. When asked how I was a citizen of Kenya, a man told me that's not how citizenship works in Africa. When I told him Africa isn't a country but you can also become a citizen by marriage.

I've been told to GTFO of Ghana, I hate you people, get out of my car because a Bolt driver thought I was white and refused to speak to me or reply when I spoke to him.

Screenshot from Twitter

Ghanians on Twitter replied to a Lebanese man Tweeting that he's bothered everyday in Ghana because of his skin color. He's told everyday 5 to 10 a day to go back to his country, his Tweet gained over 10 thousand replies, I was one of them.

I re-tweeted his and replied that I too as a Black American am told that I'm white and to go back to my own country. The man who had almost 100,000 followers got some hate, I got a lot of hatred.

From Twiter

Ghanians started telling me that Black Americans treat Africans bad in America, so what you get what you deserve. At the time I didn't think to capture screenshots, I blocked them and didn't copy their comments.

It was funny to see, that since I was not popular, famous or rich I was given hateful replies. This is what life is like in Ghana when you are different and don't have money to buy their respect.

from Twitter

In one comment this man is telling him that learning to speak the 'local language' English is not enough. So the Lebanese man might speak all 3 of the languages spoken in Lebanon which include Arabic. Now in order to get respected in Ghana he has to learn another, local language?

Does this not sound like the hatred said to Africans outside of Africa? English is the official language in Ghana. Twi is only spoken by 17-18 million of the 30.8 million people in Ghana. Why should he learn another language?

The top person commenting claims, Where in Ghana have you heard Nigerians must go?

Here is where I've heard and saw it:

Tribalism, in the comment above a Ghanian who says he's of Hausa orgin, which is a West African origin commonly seen in Nigeria but it's all over Western African and Nothern Ghana. See the hatred for their own people? This is very much like Western Nations but why are Ghanians and Black Africans allowed to get away with this?

There are no laws for people who are vitctims of discrimination in Ghana, this is common in most African countries. As North Africans have displayed act of anti-Blackness to darker skinned Africans. As if being Arab makes them white people.

The top comment, Ghanians who have never left their country, will speak for all the 30.8 million people in the country. Ghanians will often speak on how other African countries treat people, when they've never been to these other countries.

There are very welcoming African countries that don't worship skin color. Perhaps those that skin bleach less won't be so hyper focused on skin color? Not sure. The wording Ghanians use, it's like European telling the world all of Europe isn't racist. Or a white American proclaiming there is no racism in America. (United States for those that think North America is called America)

From Twitter

Ghanians will go onto to claim this is only a few of them, this is a lie. These comments, these posts and some articles were shared, liked and loved by hundred of people on social media. Those without internet connect have more of a closed mind and limited understanding of things and often say and do racist things.

It doesn't seem to get better, people who are Black or White who claim this hated doesn't exist, are fine to say that. There are probably many Black people in America to claim nothing racist ever happened to them either. There are still laws to punish those who commit acts of hate and hate speech. Ghana will never do this to protect even Ghanians from hate speech from other Ghanians.

Tribalism, racism, colorism and xenophobia are rooted in ignorance or superiority. When is Africa going to take a hold of this beast, in order to make everyone feel safe?

Thank you for reading, Please consider buying a coffee for Lacey's House efforts in Gender Equality & Children's Rights.

©️TB Obwoge 2023 All Rights Reserved

humanity
Like

About the Creator

IwriteMywrongs

I'm the president of a nonprofit. I've lived in 3 countries, I love to travel, take photos and help children and women around the world! One day I pray an end to Child Marriages, Rape and a start to equal Education for ALL children 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.