Wander logo

Till death do us part.

Lost but never forgotten.

By TPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Hello friends, I would love to hear your feedback on this story. I hope you enjoy.

"I never should have even looked at that dirty witch!" Look how I ended up; I was just minding my business, walking up the street to meet up with some friends. And along comes some lady saying that I ran into her. Lady, are you seriously going to go there right now? I generally go out of my way to be kind and think well of all.

But sometimes, people must pay for what they have done. And whether it be in this life or the next. I' l make it out of this fish tank, and if I'm still a shark, I'll gobble that lady up—her and her pinhead goons that locked me in here. I'm barely even fourteen. Who the hell is she to come along and trap me like that? Do I deserve to be trapped here forever? I’m not that big now, but I am a shark in a fish tank. I don’t know how long I will be able to stay here before I get too big and shatter these walls. And end up on the floor gasping for air. That sounds terrible! I’d rather be Hung by the Gills, "wait, Hung by the gills?" "Oh, no I'm losing my mind too. Soon enough, I will be craving these goldfish like freshly cut ribeye. I’ve got to snap out of it. I wonder how I can get out of here. Just as I was sitting there contemplating my escape. A bloblike face began to appear on the side of the aquarium. And he heard a muffled voice screech through the water. "I’m going to set you free tonight little demon, don't you worry." The fear began to creep through his body again. What did that mean? What had he done to deserve this? As the blob-faced lady walked away, he let the scenario play back in his head. He was walking on the street minding his own business, and the next thing he knew, some lady was yelling at him, saying that he had shoved her. He remembered pleading and trying to get away as strange people began to hold him down as she cast her spell. And just like that, they vanished. Everything seemed like a dream. He had woken up on the sidewalk, confused and disoriented. He ran home and even had supper with his mother. Telling her that he swore something strange happened today. But it was only a dream. That is until the woman showed up in the middle of the night again. Scooping him out of his bed into a fishbowl and carrying him off through the night. His mother must have been worried sick about him. He never left without a goodbye, ever. And here he was getting Kidnapped by some strange witch and her ghouls in white outfits. "Man, that was the most terrifying thing ever to me." He began to swim around the fish tank as if he could break out of the water and set himself free. It wasn't long before the witch lady returned and carried him over a bridge that crossed the Tallahatchie River. As she reached the bridge's highest point, she looked over the water for a moment before turning her hollow gaze into the aquarium and revealing her broken teeth. "I hope this teaches you some manners." the lady then dumped him over the side of the bridge, and he fell deep into the icy cold waters of the Tallahatchie River. He was lost down here and alone for a very long time. He was worried and couldn't help but cry for his mother. She must have been worried sick about not being able to find him. He stayed by the bridge, hoping that someone might pass by and see him under there. Until one day, he looked up and saw many figures gathered around, looking down into the water where he was waiting to be found. A moment later, he saw a net cast into the water, scooping him up and pulling him to land once more. As he was brought to the surface, he could feel the warmth of body heat as he was scooped into the loving hands of a kind soul. He laid still for a moment before looking up to see that he was gazing into his mother's eyes. He could see the relief in his mother's eyes as she held him, finally free of worry but still saddened by what had happened to her son. She held him one last time and took him down to the riverbank, where she could gently place him back into the water. Goodbye, little fish. She muttered as a tear shed from her eyes. It was unclear to him whether she recognized him as her son. But the love she had was unmistakable and equal among all things. The cool water felt welcoming to him this time. He could feel the warmth of his mother's gentle hands release him and fade away as her fingertips slowly brushed away from his body. He turned back once more to let her know that he loved her, and that she would see him again someday. After blowing him a kiss, he swam into the calm waters, finally at peace

art
1

About the Creator

T

Hi guys,

I’m a new explorer on my writing adventure. I can’t wait to make friends and learn with all of you together through this journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.