Wander logo

Thoughts from an English Pole

In search of the Greener Grass

By IzPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Being English AND Polish in tandem is actually very confusing. When I am with my friends in England I feel like just another British kid going out for a pint with the bois, getting wasted on sports night and complaining about tfl being so spenny. But when I board that Ryanair flight to Krakow and land in my home place I feel like I am missing something being in England.

My family recently relocated to this little village in southern Poland 20 minutes away from the famous Tatras mountain range. The community here is second to none. I met a family 5 months ago and today one of the boys said he feels like I am his sister. I go with them to classical concerts and encourage him to read out loud to raise his confidence. Every time I go to someones house they know who I am, hug me warmly and question me whether I would like sugar with the tea they were brewing for me. People think living in the countryside in Eastern Europe is sheltered to the rest of the world but it is probably the realest place I’ve ever been to.

Holidays in the UK consist of a group of young boys or girls saving up for their flight ticket to Zante or Malia and them drinking away their day and night in a cheap bar on the strip. I envy and I feel a sort of loss from the opportunities I have missed in Poland. The kids all pilling into an old car that is barely making it down the highway with tents to pitch up at the local lake or the seaside. Pulling out a bottle of voddy whilst watching the sunset over the lake and singing along to Disco Polo by the campfire. The sort of days that make you feel that you’re alive and young.

The pressure of British society squeezes every last bit of positivity and spontaneity. The rent prices in London mean that a lot of kids or young adults cannot afford to think about freedom and excitement, they need to make a living. With prices dramatically increasing and TFL causing me a mini breakdown every morning when it comes through on my Monzo account, the free spirit of youth is slowing disappearing into a depressing reality of the rat race to make a living. Because you are not successful unless you get that shiny bank job and that mortgage on that zone 1-3 flat that probably is just about big enough to fit your 5 remaining friends as the rest have given up trying to arrange things with the constantly busy you.

Welcome to our reality, the truest testimony of why the grass isn’t always greener.

europe
Like

About the Creator

Iz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.