Wander logo

The Very Best Travel Bag…Ever

Referred to as "my wonderful bag" in fourteen years of travelogues

By Victoria Kjos Published 14 days ago 5 min read
Author's Photo

Mea Culpa

I eschew what's claimed in the title - the "best" or advice that people "should do or adopt this." To violate such self-imposed rules indicates how much I really, really, really love this bag. (With apologies to the writing pros for the "really" abuse, but it's really a terrific bag!)

Hence, consider this a public service announcement for 1) avid travelers and 2) anyone who appreciates an all-around stellar daily bag. 

However, I always also state, "Don't listen to anything I say." Nevertheless, if it sounds intriguing, please read on.

Our Personalities and the Bags We Carry

Committed travelers are diehard aficionados of their personal can't-live-without luggage and favorites that have held us in good stead when globe gallivanting for business or pleasure. And, if in need of advice, tomes of travel articles and consumer reviews extol the virtues of this line over that brand. 

I have shlepped a particular carry-on for decades despite the inconvenience of its regular wheels. This was the generation before the miracle 360-degree spinners, one of the greatest travel inventions after Wilbur and Orville's aeroplane.

Otherwise, I love everything else about my Travelpro…say no more, right, when learning the brand? In excellent condition despite being thrashed on scads of trips, I can't bear to part with it. 

On the other hand, regarding the spanking new, just-out-of-the-carton hard case Samsonite (well… sort of…today's acclaimed hard-side luggage bears little resemblance to the iterations of yore), which handle broke before dragging it down one flight of stairs on its virgin voyage, needless to say, I'm not a fan.

Minimalists roam the world with lowly backpacks, albeit some rival the size of a small vehicle. I've never been, nor ever will be, of that ilk, being far too lazy to endure the physical agony of a massive pack on my back. Nevertheless, I marvel at those enterprising souls. Even when packing frugally, my shoes (the most critical item that intrepid travelers discover never to scrimp on), electronics, and vitamins alone exceed a 22" x 14."  

By Mohammad Alizade on Unsplash

Others refuse to check any baggage whatsoever, carrying half of their earthly possessions onto planes, devil be damned about the comfort of fellow passengers. 

Whether hard cases, soft side, spinners, designers, or cheapies, most of us have experimented with various models and swear by some while avoiding others. My choices for checked bags are set in cement; no earth-shaking disclosures, merely personal preferences.

Then, there are those whose status must be announced to the world by the exorbitant price tag of the brand they flaunt. I once represented a client whose six-figure Louis Vuitton luggage collection had to be transported by a hired driver in its own hand-made, protective individual bags. Whatever works....

Unfortunately, this is closer to my luggage for extended trips of many months! 😉🤣Photo by Tommaso Pecchioli on Unsplash

The Pièce de Résistance

Bar none, the best, the best, the best (can you tell I adore it?) bag ever purchased, I've referred to for fourteen years in my travelogues as "my wonderful bag." It's the only one I'll replace again and again. 

Upon my first extended five-month trip to India in 2012, I purchased a plethora of travel gizmos, packing cubes, chargers, universal plugs, and more. Of the varied paraphernalia, though, this bag was without question the most prudent expenditure.

Now, on my second one, I recommend it...not only for travelers but as a day bag for outings around the city.

The Wonderful Features of the Wonderful Bag

So what's so special about it? I give top reviews for its material, design, safety features, spacious interior space, and comfort of carrying.

Appropriate for all genders and ages, mine was purchased in the United States at REI, a purveyor of outdoor sporting and camping gear. Other similar styles and brands are likely available. However, because I love this one so much, I've never shopped for another.

Perfect size

The pouch size is small enough for daily use without being cumbersome or inconvenient. I also love that it fits in the small storage space on my motorbike seat.

Nevertheless, a wallet, large sunglass case, cell phone, pens, lip gloss, etc., all fit easily inside the main zippered pouch.

Author's Photo

Handy exterior pockets

On both sides are open pockets with snaps large enough for a small umbrella, 600-ml water bottles, or cloth masks. For all-day trips, I often carry two, grabbed from the freezer with icy aqua that thaws throughout the day. (And, yes, being environmentally conscientious, I reuse any bottles purchased a zillion times and eventually recycle.) 

In countries with unexpected rains or during the rainy season, the pocket for an umbrella is an enormous bonus.

Author's Photo

Fabric and security features

Its treated nylon material is durable and easy to clean. When traveling in heavy rainy areas, I've exoccasionally experienced an issue with mold. Therefore, if it rains heavilyI try to protect it. But for normal spritzes or occasional rains, it holds up well.

The heavy-duty strap, which extends and can be worn cross-body, is reinforced with metal, so thieves and purse-snatchers can't cut it and snatch your bag. This is always a concern in crowded spaces, if riding a motorbike with a bag on your shoulder, or in other outdoor venues where dubious characters look for easy marks.

Its sturdy plastic hardware is durable. None has ever broken on my two bags over fourteen years of regular use.

Reinforced, adjustable-length strap. Author's Photo

Zippered enclosures

The bag zips with an excellent, strong zipper. The back side has another zippered pocket. Here, I place a comb, medications, toilet tissue, and other possibly needed items.

Back zippered pocket. Author's Photo

An additional excellent feature, accessible under the front flap secured by velcro, is an RFID-protected inner zippered pocket to safeguard one's passport, credit cards, and other trusted items. An attached clip allows for securing keys.

The inner pockets (oops, upon photographing, I note the need to clean the interior 😊) with RFID protection and clip for keys, zippered and accessed under a velcroed flap. Author's Photos

Try it; you'll like it 

In my humble opinion, this is a workhorse if you're looking for an all-purpose bag. I hope the same model is still available when my current one bites the dust. 

I purchased the first one in 2011 and carried it for several years before it became a little tattered and shopworn from too much humidity in India and Thailand. It could have been cleaned or restored; however, replacing it was easier. 

When I commenced on the vagabond junket, my designer bags found their way into my nieces' closets. At this stage in life, with changed priorities, being fashionable and hip has become supplanted by utilitarianism. Hence, this one is ideal if heading into a metropolitan city for a day of shopping or hitting museums. If you are traveling and want safety and protection, it's a superb choice. Or, even for day-to-day wear, it's my go-to bag unless I need something dressier or more elegant.

Your time is valuable. I'm honored you chose to spend some of it here. Victoria😎🙏

© Victoria Kjos. All Rights Reserved. 2024.

product reviewtravel tipsfemale travel

About the Creator

Victoria Kjos

I love thinking. I respect thinking. I respect thinkers. Writing, for me, is thinking on paper. I shall think here. My meanderings as a vagabond, seeker, and lifelong student. I'm deeply honored if you choose to read any of those thoughts.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Victoria Kjos Written by Victoria Kjos

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.