Wander logo

The Plane Trip

Come on this journey with Bella and her friends to their trip to New York

By Lillian HiersPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

Our classroom was the 3rd one to be called up to go through the metal detector and get our luggage checked by security. I breathed in and slowly breathed out; just the thought of leaving the solid ground in a plane made me slightly queasy. Two lines down I heard BEEP BEEP BEEP, one of the alarms must have gone off. A few people including me covered our ears with our hands to block out the loud noise the machine made. There was no serious reason the detector went off, it was just a kid that was not with us trying to sneak his phone with him, I’m guessing his parents got mad at him and told him he lost his phone privileges or something around that topic.

I looked away from the scene and I saw that there were only two more students left in front of me, one was my friend Bailey and the one in front of her was our other friend Carter who was setting his bag onto the table to be checked. He walked through quickly then Bailey was up she seemed to get through the process quicker than anyone else and before I knew it my turn was up. I set my purple Jansport backpack that I’ve had since the 5th grade down onto the table and placed my phone and watch into a pink bucket then I walked through the metal detector quickly and without a sound, I went and grabbed my items out of the bucket and picked up my backpack. I met up with Carter and Bailey who were waiting for me with the rest of the class. I looked back to see the last two people coming so our teacher Mrs. Nelson said,” Lets go.” We walked to the desk that had our flight number on a sign and everyone handed the Lady at the desk the tickets.

We walked down this beige narrow hallway that led to a door. Our teacher led us outside to a plane, everyone headed in and went to their assigned seats. I had the seat over from the window and Carter was on the left of me and Bailey was to the right. This was my first time ever going on a plane so I decided to take in my surroundings. The plane seats were a light gray color and they were leather, when I looked up, I could see the tops of seats and the tops of people's heads who sat in front of me. The plane doesn’t really have a distinct scent, it just smells like a used car, and I can hear the loud voices of my fellow classmates that attended this trip. Within a few minutes we heard the flight attendant start to speak over the intercom and quickly every student stopped talking.

The flight attendant just talked about the safety precautions and rules to flying on any plane. After this Mrs.Nelson took attendance to make sure all 11 of the students are here on the plane. “Mckenna, Carter, Nick, John, Bailey, Austin, Abbey, Chloe, Zachary, Drake, and Bella.” Of course, I’m last, I’m always last since my last name begins with a Z,” Here.” I say loud enough for my teacher who is standing near my row to hear, but not loud enough for the other students on the trip to give me any attention because I’m the quiet shy kid. Our teacher then exclaims,”Fasten your seat belts we are about to leave for New York!” I quickly fastened my seat belt and so did everyone else on the plane including the teacher. “You nervous Bella?” Carter said with a sympathetic tone, “No, I’m not scared even the tiniest bit.” I reply in a sarcastic tone.

He sends me over a slight grin followed by a chuckle. “How about you Bailey, this is a four hour flight, and I know how quickly you get motion sickness.” “There's a reason I picked our seats to be in the front, not the back Bella. Now can you guys please be quiet I’m going to try and sleep before I actually do get motion sickness.” “Ok fine Mrs. Boring.” Me and Carter say at the same time. Me and Carter have had that saying since the 6th grade when we both realized that Bailey can be fun half of the time but the other half of the time she can be boring and stubborn. Carter and I look at each other and attempt to laugh quietly. When the plane started to move, I squeezed my eyes shut and said,” Carter tell me when it’s safe to open my eyes.’’ “Alright.” He exclaimed. I felt the exhilaration run through my body as it kept picking up speed in order to fly.

Then even with my eyes closed I could feel the plane lift up off of the ground. Within around four or five minutes Carter told me I could open my eyes as soon as I did Carter said,” Look out the window.” I did as he said and faced the window what I saw was beautiful, it was the baby blue sky with the tint of the window which made it have a slight tone of purple and around the sky you could see the fluffy clouds that look like cotton candy. I couldn’t even hear the noises of anyone talking, all I could focus on was this beautiful view thats right to the side of me that looks like an abstract painting. I said,” Wow!” as soon as I was done looking out the window. Carter said,” I know right? That’s probably the coolest thing I've ever seen.” I was about to respond by saying Probably?? More like the coolest thing ever when the plane began to shake like crazy it felt like a 9.0 magnitude earthquake happening in the sky.

First thing that came to my mind was this was probably just turbulence until I heard everyone screaming, shouting, and crying. Now I realized our plane was about to crash I took either of my hands one now holding Baileys hand and one holding Carters. I closed my eyes and began to scream like everyone else on this plane. I could feel the plane picking up speed as it went downward towards the deep blue ocean, one of my biggest fears is drowning and now I will end up passing away from it, I began crying which quickly turned to sobs. We were about to hit the water... I could tell by the loud noise of waves that is ringing in my ears. I couldn’t help but think how the sound of the waves is overpowering everyone's screams and cries.

The sound of waves got louder and louder until everything stopped except the sound of waves and everything turned pitch black. Am I dead? I thought to myself. I slowly opened my eyes to take a look at where I am. I'm in my small, blue walled room. I look to the left and I see my phone sitting on my night stand with my alarm going off. The alarm is set to the ringtone of waves like always. I clicked stop and looked at the date and time it's 6:30 in the morning on saturday November 20 the day I’m supposed to leave to go on my trip to New York.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Lillian Hiers

Sorry that my stories may not be good but I am only 14 and my dream career is to become an author or a writer for something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.