Wander logo

The owl of the night

The glowing eyes

By Isabella DemarestPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I found myself lost again. In the deep hollow forest. I was at the point were there were only two paths to go. Neither looked pleasant. I decided to get lost and create my own path. I was always told if I get lost stay and wait for help. I was also told to not go too far off path. I stopped caring. I kept walking. It was dark, foggy, and I heard all types of critters crawling. Spiders always jump out on me in the dark. I wasn’t scared but I knew what I was doing wasn’t right. I could get eaten by a bear or a wolf any second. I felt like dorothy. The lions, the tigers, the bears oh my. I kept walking. Each step I felt more alone. I felt more brave. I felt more mystical. I found a cave with leaves and branches to hide it. The only light I had was the fireflies or lightning bugs in my jar. I walked through the cave. It was a path. I kept walking. As I kept walking the rocks and mud started to turn back into leaves and grass. The strangest sight to my eyes. It was daylight. I don’t know what I walked myself into. How was I going to get back home? I got really anxious. I heard A noise. A Snapple crack of a stick. That’s when I met him. That’s when I met winxy yap. The white owl of the hickory cave deep in the hollow forest. He was the wisest, the grumpiest, and still the most ancient of the hickory cave. His eyes glowed of embers and amber. He introduced himself with a wink. I was confused on how I knew him. I knew him from my dreams. I knew him from the childhood books I would write. I didn’t know he was real. I didn’t know he knew me too. After the first night I found myself hiking back to the same cave each night after my parents fell asleep. I couldn’t get enough of him. He would show me around the cave and the other forest named twigmox. He would tell me the ancient stores of him and his ancestors. He would introduce me to the other animals. He wasn’t friends with them but he thought I deserved to meet them after my 4th night of coming back. There was a Caterpillar who always laughed and mocked me, his name was geofillowdee. The caterpillar wore a bow to show elegance. The wolf named Margo was sad and always begging for my attention. Margo lost her pack 6 years ago; she hasn’t been the same since. She always had a red blanket to lay on. Then I met Jilly who was a bunny always playing tricks on me. Jilly wore a hate to make her taller and had magic cards that could change colors. Then the grasshopper who wore goggles and a compass. He would be good at therapy but he stutters so much I can hardly get a word out of him. Last was the willow tree. We called her mother flow. Flow and winxy yap were the ancients. They knew more about history than the humans. Flow was emotionally supportive to me. Each night I crawled into that cave. I even made a map to find my way back. Each night I brought a different story book and colored pencil. Each night I brought along my notebook and sketchbook. I had to write down these stories winxy yap would tell but in return I would share a story from my collection even if they were my own stories they still got the animals hooked. There were many more animals in the woods who listened but they were too afraid to show themselves. They were scared I would bring friends to my secret spot. I wouldn’t do that. One day though after it got really late I went again this time it felt strange. Something wasn’t right. I wanted to go so bad I ignored my instincts. I grab my pencil and books. I wouldn’t bring a phone, it was forbidden. As I walked into the cave I heard steps behind me. Light fast and squeaky steps. I turned around to find Ryo, my friend from school. My jaw dropped as my eyes flopped. And as I turned back towards the path in the cave all I found were walls. Cave walls. That was they say I found out two things. Only I can go in and out. Ryo has placed his two feet in a place where they shall not land. The next night I went back and that was when I learned my hardest lesson. I broke a rule. It looked like I brought a friend, a human friend. I was locked out forever.

nature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.