Wander logo

The Night Was Who

Chapter One

By Kendra J. AnthonyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Kendra Anthony, A Walk in the Park

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky. I watched their beauty unfold for the umpteenth time as I reminisced the old times like the chapters of a decrepit book. Walking along the murky ponds edge, I could hear the crickets chirp and the frogs croak, ceasing their nightly songs the closer I ventured; dawning again as distance grew. A melody only a certain few seemed to relish in.

I enjoyed my late night walks, it was the only time I felt at peace in a world of hustle and bustle. Though, living in the deep suburbs had its advantages. The three ponds were a mere ten minute walk from our cozy little home up on the hill, a near forest full of wildlife and a serenity the progressive city could only wish for. I couldn't imagine living without silence.

The tree tops reached as high as the tallest sky scrapers and I could walk for miles in the flowering meadows that reached out to waters edge. It was pure bliss, especially during the night when those lilac clouds made their way across the valley, illuminating the scenery in their wrath of purples. I wondered if the city folk could even see the beauty that they are, with their light pollution and haze filled streets, I had my doubts.

I carried on with my enchanting walk, meandering in thoughts of who's and what's. I never quite understood a life without nature. She spoke to me in ways the concrete jungle never could. The way the trees danced with the cool, nightly breeze or how the creatures scurried themselves to rest in their beds of cushiony moss and dewy grass. Though most things stilled and went to sleep, the night seemed so very alive with the purple clouds bouncing along the hills and the nightly critters making their rounds of scavenging for food. Alluring was the night, irenic was the who.

Deep within my nightly adventure, I decided to take a seat on a sizeable, flat rock that was half covered in a soft moss. Looking out towards the middle of the violet embellished pond, I watched as a toad hopped and flopped from lily-pad to lily-pad. Dazzled in my thoughts, I heard a faint call coming from beyond the meadow along the tree line.

"Darling, where are you?" the voice called, "it is quite chilly out tonight! I thought I would join you with a blanket and tea!"

Startled at first, I quickly became calm and rose to my feet. How endearing, my soulmate came all this way to keep me warm.

"Over here, Owen!" I motioned my arms in hopes he could see me over the soaring grass, for I wasn't the tallest of women.

"My dear Aine, I also come with unnerving news." His once cheery tone became more abstruse.

Struggling through the tall grass he finally made his way to my cozy, moss ridden rock and stopped a mere foot away from myself. He placed the blanket and cannister of tea beside the rock and looked me in the eyes.

"What is it?" I asked, nervously taking his hands in mine. Owen knew better than to abate me with sad curiosities, I only knew better that it must be serious. His dark eyes seemed disturbed and it took him awhile to spit out the terrible news. My heart sank as I watched him toil with the words he needed to tell me.

"Aine, there is no easy way of saying this. The city council has decided to expand.." Owen started.

Tears had already started to swell my eye lids.

"They have decided to expand the city limits through our enchanted home."

naturesatirehumanityfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Kendra J. Anthony

She was a gnomist, a writer of beliefs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.