Wander logo

The Magic of Cap May

A great way to celebrate my husband's 60th Birthday

By Brenda FluhartyPublished 26 days ago 3 min read
1
the ocean waves

I gazed out of the car window as we drove along the winding roads leading to Cape May, New Jersey. The early morning sun cast a golden hue over the quaint houses and lush greenery that lined the streets. It’s a lovely drive from my home to Cap May. My husband and I relive memories of our youth as we drive along. The roads are filled with reminders of why New Jersey is called the garden state. There are farms and forests all along the way. It’s a peaceful and joyful drive.

We could feel the anticipation bubbling inside ourselves as we approached our destination: Cap May. It had always held an enchanting atmosphere for both of us. You could almost feel the magic of Cap May as you went over the bridge, entering the realm known as Cap May.

Mark, my husband, was celebrating his 60th birthday, and I wanted to make it extra special. Cape May seemed like the perfect destination, with its charming Victorian architecture, stunning beaches, and a touch of magic in the air. Cap May is a soul healing place. A place my husband and I could always go to heal and remember. We felt a sense of peace wash over us the moment we arrived.

We wandered through the streets of Cape May, marveling at the intricate details of the Victorian homes that lined the cobblestone roads. I felt as though I had stepped back in time, the magic of the town enveloping her in its embrace. We visit all types of shops and I had to go to the Guardian. Looking for a sandalwood candle, but she was sold out. I found this beautiful Celtic Cross. It seemed as if it was meant to me mine. When I first saw it, the price seemed too high, and I wasn’t going to buy it. I got a crystal dog, in loving memory of my dear departed Fred, who is my guardian animal. The car being parked right by the guardian shop; I promised myself I would come back before we left and get to the Celtic Cross.

We can across a Caffee named after our dear sweet Freedom Freeda. Yes, she is named after Fred, my guardian dog. I believe she is the reincarnation of him. Fred was an older dog when I got him, and I only had him for one year and eleven months. But he put a mark on my heart like no other dog could. Five years later, we obtained Freedom Freeda.

We had to stop at the fountain in the middle of town. My husband, being a stump grinder, helped make this place beautiful. He removed the stumps of the old trees. Both of us having sweet memories of visiting fountains with our grandfathers. Them telling us that if we throw coins into the fountain, all of our dreams will come true. When we were here at that fountain, we could feel our grandfathers with us. We both throw a quarter in the fountain. New dreams and a new phase of life have begun for us.  Our son no longer lives at home and we both dream of living the rest of our lives in peace, joy and harmony.

The last stop was the beach. We strolled hand in hand along the shoreline, the salty breeze tousling my hair. We walked to the stones that lead out into the water and watched as the wave crashed against them. I watched as Mark gazed at stones across the water, his laughter mingling with the sound of crashing waves.

We remembered the time he walked out on the wet stones and fell. We all thought he had broken his foot. He was alright though. Just no longer a young kid wanted to play on the rocks. I could see the look in his eyes. He wanted to go out onto the rocks. He did not, though; it was cold, and he did not want to get wet. It is moments like these that make my heart swell with love and gratitude. Knowing our grandfathers brought us together. In these moments, surrounded by the magic of Cape May, I know that our love will only continue to grow stronger with each passing year.

natureliteraturefamily travel
1

About the Creator

Brenda Fluharty

Brenda Marie Fluharty is a Spiritual Life Coach, dream interpreter, a past-life therapist, energy healer, a freelance writer, blogger, poet, pet owner, and author.

Author of "Rise Above: A Seven-Day Journey to Overcoming Self-Sabotage"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Martha DeMeo26 days ago

    What a beautiful love story of you and your husband! Cape May sounds like so many memories were made there! Happy Birthday Mark!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.