Wander logo

The Iconic Tower Bridge

Tower Bridge

By Tabby LondonPublished about a month ago 4 min read
3
Tower Bridge

It is often confused with London Bridge by many around the world. That Bridge is one Bridge away, but not as attractive as this one, even though London Bridge has been around in some shape or form since the 11th Century. Tower Bridge, on the other hand, is over 120 years old and still going strong. Forty thousand people use it per day. That's a lot of people. It just highlights the ingenuity of its design and strength. Also, it's an excellent bridge to cross over.

It's Ageing Well

It was built between 1886 and 1894 as a way for the growing population of London to cross the River Thames. There's a reason why it was built the way it was. Its smart design has meant that people's horses and carriages could move quickly from one side to another. Plus, tall ships could sail through with ease. The River Thames was very busy in the Victorian days with trade.

Why Does This Bridge Matter More To Me More Now?

The Bridge has taken on a whole new meaning for me post-Covid. I grew up with this Bridge as a child and remember the excitement of going over it with family. I remember the 'Oh Wow' moments because they were unique and fun. Since then, it has always been in the background. However, in 2020, it took on a new meaning for me. I walked over it the first weekend the lockdown had ended.

Like many people across my city and the world, I sought familiarity during times of great uncertainty, and that's what I got when walking over it. As the road Traffic and pedestrians were light, I could walk at my own pace, process my thoughts and savour the steps. I realised the Bridge signified a silent strength, which was both powerful and cathartic. The walk will stay with me long because it is etched in my life journey during the summer of 2020.

Ingenious Design

My Trip To the Bridge

As part of 'Doing my bit' for London's tourist attractions, I booked my ticket the week after it reopened in 2020. Normally, 4000 visitors visit The Bridge each day. It's timed entry tickets now. I enjoyed my trip because I felt it was all mine. I remembered how busy it was when I last went, and it was VERY busy. I thoroughly enjoyed refreshing my knowledge of the Bridge's design and architecture by walking through the Bascule and looking down below via the glass floor. So cool.

The old Engine Room

The Bascule

Hard working Bridge

Behind The Scenes Tour

The two-hour tour gave us in-depth access to areas unseen by many visitors.

It was an early morning Sunday start, but it was worth every minute. A warm welcome awaited each guest at every touchpoint, from the staff standing outside to the team inside.

We had Shodukul, or Bob, as he called himself, who was so upbeat for a Sunday that we all forgot it was a Sunday morning. So there were 11 early birds in my group, and we went trudging up the 100 steps. As we got to the first stage, we learnt about the design and the structure. It is an engineering marvel, considering that it is over 130 years old, and they didn't have access to the technology we have today.

They had to install the bridge columns at the bottom of the river bed, and the men would have to take turns to go down into the river and lay the foundation.

Not One BUT Two Bridge Lifts

Once we got to the West Bascule, we took the photos and led to the East Bascule, off-limits to other guests. So we were told that a bridge lift was imminent, and we got a bird's eye view of the process.

Bob informed us that we would see two bridge lifts. First, we would see one from the top and one from the ground floor. We were excited to see the meticulous preparation for the bridge lift. But, first, the Bridge had to be cleared of all visitors.

Bridge Lift

The Bridge is raised to 45 degrees, enough for a ship with a sail to go through. However, The King is the only person it fully opens for (at 83 degrees). The main reason is that the Bridge is old, and too much wear could cause irreparable damage. Pre-COVID, there were over 1000 bridge lifts a year. Now, there are over 200.

Facts About Tower Bridge

❇️The Bridge can open in just 5 minutes

❇️Ships have priority over pedestrians. Even Bill Clinton once had to wait when he visited as President of the USA

❇️It's free to sail your boat through. You need to give the Tower Bridge 24 Hours notice

❇️The walkway fell into disrepair in the early days and became London's informal Red Light district.

❇️The two bascules at the top of the Bridge weigh 1100 tonnes each.

❇️11,000 tonnes of steel, 70000 tonnes of concrete and 31 million bricks went into building the Bridge

You can even do a behind-the-scenes tour and access areas not open to the general public. More details can be found here https://www.towerbridge.org.uk/whats-on/tours/behind-the-scenes

More information on Tower Bridge can be found https://www.towerbridge.org.uk

Thank you for your attention

Tabby

feature
3

About the Creator

Tabby London

The London I've been discovering is usually off the well-beaten track.I love the nooks and crannies and walking along the streets steeped in centuries worth of history. I'm fond of Zone 1 because that's where it all began centuries ago.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.