Wander logo

The Get Away

Refuge

By Lindy LaDowPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
The Get Away
Photo by Colin + Meg on Unsplash

"We drove up the snowy, winding road towards the cozy A-frame cabin."

The morning felt haunted and eerie as the snow drifted quietly all around us.

I had the pleasure of watching the snow while Everette drove. We planned this escape a month ago.

My thoughts drifted like snowflakes pondering the weekend and our connection.

Returning from a great morning of networking events, I was thinking about the high-energy conversations I had. I was singing in my car.

After I parked my car and got out, I saw him smiling. He started walking towards me. He blurted out, “hello,” and I said, “greetings.” “What’s your name?” he asks. “Lily,” I responded. “What’s yours?” He says, “Everette.”

“Where is the most exciting place you have been? When was it? What made it extraordinary?” I queried. “Budapest, January 31st, it was snowing at midnight in the town square,” he replied. I visualized the scene. “Have you been to Spain?” he asked. “No,” I responded. He told me what a beautiful place it was. Again I could see it in my mind's eye. All he had to do was share his experience. I saw it in living color.

I found out that he rented part of the parking lot from my company for his business. His dark brown eyes sparkled with curiosity, and when he smiled, the space between his two front teeth only enhanced his gaze.

I was curious too, and when I told him I had questions, he suggested lunch. The lunch happened a week and a day after our initial meeting.

He seemed so familiar to me. Every day until our lunch date, we shared smiles and quick greetings. Somewhere we started briefly hugging. “We are just friends,” I tell myself.

Lunch was engaging and fascinating. He shared how he got into his business. He shared stories of learning about the trade and meeting key people that would invest and partner with him. He explained the setbacks and the successes that all led him to today.

I hardly ate, and he didn't eat either.

When we walked outside, he put his hand gently on the small of my back, guiding me. He walked me to my car. I pointed to my license plate. It says, “my other car is a dragon.” We laughed. We hugged goodbye.

The next day, we planned to walk in a park nearby as soon as our schedule allowed. We soon found we were too busy to complete that walk.

One morning I arrived extra early, just before sunrise. I was surprised to see Everette there too. No one else was on the premises. We chatted for several minutes. I said, “I should get moving.” He moved in towards me. He kissed me on one cheek and then the other. He explained the reverence of his gesture.

“Let’s go,” he states. “I stay at an Airbnb occasionally to snowboard. It is an A-frame up in the mountains where we can hike, talk and drink hot chocolate. It is my sanctuary, and I have not shared it with anyone, but I would love to with you.”

He smiles, looking down at me. I nod yes.

Over the next few days, we talked about dates. When we settle on a weekend, Everette makes the arrangements.

So here we are, driving to his place of refuge. “Do you know the owners? Will we meet them?” I ask. “No,” he responds, “not this time. They left everything we will need for the weekend. Clean sheets and towels. Cheese, bread, some fruit, and hot cocoa.”

“Are they nice people?” I ask. “Oh yes, they are nice people,” Everette smiled and continued, “I have had some fun conversations with them over the years.”

“Wow, how long have you been coming up here?”

“About three, three and a half years. As you know, I like to snowboard, it is close to a run I like. That is why I originally came, but I found it is also a great place to be alone. Alone, especially after a good day of snowboarding. Snowboarding gives my mind space and the time alone here gives me time to reflect.” He glances at me, “We can have coffee and scones tomorrow morning at a little café that I know of. It’s close to the cabin.

We reach a stretch of straight highway through a small town. “Not too far now,” Everette murmurs.

“What a perfect experience,” I sigh. Everette smiles at me. He asks, “What adventures do you want this weekend?”

Everyone wants a true love story. Find yours at an Airbnb.

couples travel
1

About the Creator

Lindy LaDow

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.