Wander logo

The Essential Moment is Now

The present is the only thing you’ve got.

By Toni KorazaPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Power of the present moment

I was elated by his remark. It was insightful to something surprisingly deep about me. Even though we met just a few days earlier, my new friend could see it clearly.

I love that you are present. I like people that are here. We can actually share a moment together in the crazy world of today. ~ Edward

That is me in a nutshell. I’m here. I’m with you. I’m present. And I have a new friend. He knows how to feel people.

There is no better place than right now. This is where I feel most comfortable. Present means peace for me, tranquillity for my soul. It is soothing to the worries of the future and embarrassments of the past. It makes me feel like myself.

I didn’t even realize it until recently. The present is my home for the past few years. The best few years of my life. It is not like everything is perfect now. It is still life after all. It gets bumpy for everyone. I just learned how to accept it.

My biggest life struggle until then made me present. It was like a punch in the gut that sobers you up. That tingling sensation which breeds instant change.

I can perfectly recall the moment it all changed. I wasn’t aware of what was going on then.

It was a sunny summer day on the island of Ibiza. Third largest of the Balearic islands in Spain. Weather is almost always nice there. One of the sunniest and most beautiful places on the planet. Unique, uplifting energy. My best friend and I had plans to spend our summer there. Work a little, play a lot.

What could go wrong there? Right?

I ended up being homeless. No return flight. Zero knowledge of speaking Spanish. I could say I understood a few words like que tal, todo bien and chicka guapa, but that wasn’t going to negotiate money, a roof over my head and a flight back home.

There is something powerful in the feeling of losing shelter. One of the basic life needs. It was one of these things you can’t help but take for granted. Until you lose it — that is.

To put it simply. I was screwed like never before. Down below the point of digression. 3 feet under and still falling.

I saw a random guy laughing at the restaurant. At such a simple moment, it struck me.

I have nothing. A few shirts and pants are nothing. God knows I don’t want to know how I smell after a couple of weeks of street life. I won’t forget that I need a shelter or money. I don’t need to think about it. I can’t see my future. I can’t change what happened. The only thing I have is right now. I want to live it.

The moment I could come to terms with the reality and accept it with both hands — I was truly at peace. Feeling I needed the most. It became my currency.

After that moment everything fell into place. Found a job at the restaurant. Rented a room. Met lifelong friends and connections. Shared most intense moments with the people around me. I was pure enjoying life. People around me could sense it. The feeling was engaging.

I came back home after that summer to a life that was amazing. Everything had more meaning. I was enjoying basic small talks. I started to create. Organizing events, trading and a new college degree were on the agenda. Good job opportunities were starting to form.

There was suddenly an insane amount of energy present. I was in love with everything around me. There was a new connection with all things.

Life is available only in the present moment. If you abandon the present moment you cannot live the moments of your daily life deeply. ~ Thich Nhat Hanh

Life is happening right now. No past identities or promises of the future matter. The moment that is truly important is right here.

humanity

About the Creator

Toni Koraza

Curious Fellow | Founder at madX Digital and 2 Minute Madness |

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Toni KorazaWritten by Toni Koraza

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.