Wander logo

The beginning

The first steps of learning to travel the world solo

By Meagan MeredithPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Freedom in Singapore, riding along the beach on a hot day in February.

Well, we have to start from the beginning, which is the day I left Washington State on February 22, 2017. With a 40L backpack, no real plan, and no intentions of returning. I was in such disbelief when I packed my backpack and was on the way heading to the airport. It was such a surreal feeling. Knowing this is everything you have ever wanted, but terrified of the unknown. So after going through security and boarding the plane, I sat down and realized there was no one else on this plane. I won the lottery that day the whole cabin was empty. I can say this was the best flight I have ever had in my life. I slept over all three chairs, stretching in the aisle, plus the amazing flight attendants. Being up amongst the clouds seeing the world from a whole new perspective. I had a sense of knowing I was on the right path, and I have never looked back.

Goodbye America, Hello Freedom

My first stop was China since I had to transfer flights and go through immigration. It was a long process, having to wait over 30 minutes to receive temporary access to China. The final destination, Singapore I arrived at 8 a.m., I felt sick. Since I am an American citizen, I get a 90-day visa upon arrival. Immigration was very easy to pass through. I had never flown for 18 hours in the sky. It was at this moment I realized that I get motion sickness. I packed sea-bands, they are amazing whether you are on boats, airplanes, cars, and trains. If you are like me and don't like taking medicine this is the alternative, plus peppermint oil. After a long flight, all I wanted to do was relax, it took a long time to find my hostel. I asked for directions but got pointed in the wrong direction. The lady was super sweet though and wanted to help, bless her for trying. Spirits still high I had done the unimaginable I found it. After walking 30 minutes in the wrong direction. It was up these steep, dark stairs, as I am carrying a 40L backpack feeling like I am going to tip over at any moment. Once indoors it was a cute cozy hostel, it was an amazing first experience. The Little Red Dot had an all-girl capsule dorm it was around $16 a night if I am not mistaken. I stayed for two nights at the dorms I meet amazing travelers with inspirational stories. The bathrooms were outside, and they had a great entertainment area. It gave me the motivation to believe in myself, seeing others doing what I have always wanted.

The Little Red Dot, Singapore

On the first day as I was waiting to check-in, I went out walking around within 20 minutes it started down-pouring. The feeling that washed over me was laughter and felt every drop of rain that touched me. It was as if the universe was telling me to wash away the past and allow these moments to create my reality. I had this new appreciation for experiences and creating lasting memories. I felt that my life was about to change for the better.

Couchsurfing Hosts house

With this new zest for life, the universe was about to test me. I created a CouchSurfing account and was in luck when I found someone to host me. Ladies, when using this website, there are a few rules I follow when I am solo. I make sure the person has over 50 references. Then I usually contact one or two of the references asking about their experience. A red flag I ignored was when my host had asked me to buy a pair of jeans for him. Since he explained they wouldn't ship overseas, and they wouldn't accept his card. I believed him, and he said he would pay me once I arrived at his house, mind you these were $250 pants. His apartment was very elegant, and the view was spectacular. I had asked him about paying me back he asked for my PayPal and said he would send it. Yet, I never did get the money, so the lesson learned, be careful when people ask you to bring things for them. But, I was not discouraged because I know there are amazing people out there. I won't let one bad apple ruin my whole experience, and am I so glad because it brought me the most amazing people.

Universal Studios, Singapore

On to the good stuff, what fun things did I do while visiting?

I will tell you the first place I went to was the beach I love swimming. I wouldn't say that the beaches are crystal blue waters, but you can swim in them. The reason, Singapore is a port country and it is small so there are many boats coming and going.

Singapore Beach

I did visit all the popular destinations that you visit if you look up where to go on the internet. I went to Marina Bay and walked around to see the spectacular views of the city. You can walk all around the Bay, passing the famous lion fountain. There is also a hotel that has a boat on top of it. I did go to a museum which was about Space. At night they have a light show, don't miss out on finding the best view from the top. There are many bars or night clubs overlooking the show. It takes a good hour to walk around the whole area so wear your walking shoes.

Marina Bay, Singapore

The next Couchsurfing host had friends living in Singapore and arranged for us to meet. So he could show me around the city, he took me to Singapore Botanic Gardens, which is breathtaking. They have a turtle rescue center where you can go learn and see turtles (side note you do have to pay for this). It started down pouring, running to find shelter until the rain cleared. After the long walk and waiting in the rain we went to the Hawker Center, which is a food court with different stalls. It was a fun day full of adventure and great conversations.

I also ventured to Universal Studios, yet as I arrived it starting downpouring. I was able to walk around for a while, but the rain forced me inside.

Botanic Gardens, Singapore

Getting around Singapore is a breeze, it is so efficient. The buses come every 5 minutes it is super easy to navigate. The trains are also very reliable and take you everywhere. In Singapore everything is in English, everyone speaks English.

I am glad that Singapore was my first stop, it helped me to acclimate to life abroad. It wasn't a drastic change from what I am used to.

If Singapore wasn't so expensive it would be a place I would consider living. Also if it didn't have so many malls.

If you want to check out more about me you can check out my website mindfullymovingmeagan.

Marina Bay, SIngapore

solo travel
1

About the Creator

Meagan Meredith

I want to inspire others to travel and help to guide their adventures in this world. I was born to be a storyteller. If you want to learn more about traveling solo around the world, I come and welcome you to explore my website.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.