Wander logo

Captivating Greece

The start of my Europe tour began in Athens, Greece

By Meagan MeredithPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Overlooking Athens

Oh, My Goodness I was in Greece, I still couldn't believe I was no longer in Asia. Exploring a whole new place. I was spreading my wings and flying off while being mindful of my thoughts and manifesting my dreams. Flying to Athens was one of the worst flights I have ever experienced. I admit I booked this flight since it was an affordable price. But, this company has no in-flight entertainment, as well as food and drinks, which are all at an expense. Let me tell you it isn't a quick flight this flight was 12-hours. I would suggest Scoot if you want a cheap flight. But, be self-prepared with snacks and entertainment.

I had found a host previous to arriving in Athens, so, off into wonderland trying to find my way around.

Athens, Greece take a step back in time

First I had to buy data there was only one option I could find which was Vodafone. I don't recommend this carrier if you need a ton of data as I do. If you are looking for the best plans I have done the research for you. After getting data on my phone, I took the lovely train to Syntagma Square, where I waited for my host to find me. Pushing my luggage up a hill, an older gentleman started talking with me. Which is an occurrence that happens quite often. Roughly 30 minutes went by while I was taking in the sights, sounds, and feelings of this new environment.

An old little church in the middle of the city.

I am so blessed to find incredible souls who are willing to open up their homes. CouchSurfing is a great website that I have used since I started traveling. It has created some unbreakable bonds. While in Athens, my first host was fantastic I got a lovely vegan meal cooked for me. I also got the best tour guide who showed me around the city. I was only in Athens for four days, but that gave me enough time to eat my heart out.

I love Athens for the simple fact that they know how to make Vegan food I was in a food coma by the time I left. I spent a day walking from one Vegan spot to the next eating up all this mouthwatering deliciousness. I forgot to mention that they have vegan ice-cream not only at the grocery stores but at cafes around the city. Cookoomela Grill:

Cookoomela Grill the best vegan gyros!

You will see police officers in riot gear all around the city, protests are a regular occurrence. Learning the history in the countries I visit always captivates me in different ways. Spend a day talking with locals, they love sharing, and I love listening.

After spending four marvelous days in Athens, it was time for me to head to Kalamata.

Packed and ready to head to the bus station I was waiting for my cab, as he arrived I was in for a shock. This situation had me shaking my head at how stubborn people can be. Let me paint you a picture the cab was driving up this narrow one-lane road as a truck starts driving down the hill. I bet you can see where this is going, it was a standoff, and neither one was planning on giving in. They were both waiting for the cops to show up to determine who was in the wrong. I worried I wouldn't make it to my bus on time. My cab driver finally moved his car and took me to the bus station. After going off on a racist rant of how these people feel like they own the road. I was so confused at how this predicament became about us vs. them. If you are looking for the best way to get around Athens, I can help.

Kalamata, Greece

I had planned to volunteer in Greece for a month. So I had arranged a WorkAway host in a small town in Messini, Greece. Little did I know I was about to meet my little Greek family. Everywhere I go, I make these remarkable connections. This family took me in as one of their own.

I arrived in the evening, at the bus terminal, I sat there waiting for my host. I was a little worried since she wasn't online, and I didn't have her phone number. After about 20 minutes, they arrived with open arms and big hugs, and a great sense of humor. As we pulled onto their street, it was a long, dark, spooky road as she commented we promise we aren't going to murder you. I knew I belonged to this family. There was, homemade lentil soup, I was back into food heaven. Then I went to Grandma's house where I would be staying during my time there. Workaway connects you with local businesses and you volunteer your time. In exchange for food and accommodation. This lovely lady had an English school, which I helped teach the kids English. I had such a remarkable time teaching these kids who had a huge impact on me.

Messini, Greece

I was getting vegan meals cooked for me every day. I had a super flexible schedule. It was one of the best places I have volunteered at I felt right at home there. After a month of living with this family who spoiled me, it was time to continue onward. I love traveling because I get to meet astonishing souls who share their stories and lives with me. It always brings me joy when I can extend my family tree.

It was time for me to head back to Athens, where my second host awaited me. This time my visit was much shorter only one night as I was leaving for Albania the following day. Even though I only stayed one night, my host invited his friends over for a game night. I am always down for board games, and this one was super fun. It is called Colt Express. I recommend you give it a try. Luckily the bus company I was taking was only three blocks from my host's house. I was sad to be leaving Greece as I had not only met some lovely people, but I was going to miss the food. Goodbye, for now, I am off on more adventures.

If you want to learn more about traveling the world check-out my website.

europe
Like

About the Creator

Meagan Meredith

I want to inspire others to travel and help to guide their adventures in this world. I was born to be a storyteller. If you want to learn more about traveling solo around the world, I come and welcome you to explore my website.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.