Wander logo

Thank You Mexico

You Have Earned My Respect and Admiration

By Everyday JunglistPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
Mexico does have a kick ass flag. Image by David from Pixabay

As I approach the 9 month mark of living in Mexico (Baja, California) I have been reflecting on lessons learned, and thinking a lot about the various mistakes and missteps I made in this first year as a US expat in a foreign land. While there are a few things I would do differently, I do not regret at all my choice to move here, and given conditions in the United States at the moment, from an economic perspective at least, each day that passes makes it seem more and more like a very smart move. That said, I have not been sparing in my critiques of various aspects of the country, particularly its immigration system, which makes the process of obtaining residency about as simple as triple integrals. However, when looked at in comparison with the US system, about which I have heard a host of nightmarish tales, it does not look all that bad. I also was a bit unlucky with my timing as an influx of Haitan immigrants flooding the system at exactly the wrong moment greatly complicated my own situation. There are other aspects of the country I have critized as well, and though I believe in all cases those criticisms were fair, I do not want them to overshadow all the very good things I have come to know and love about the country of Mexico. I have also written at length about some of these, and they are the reason(s) why I have chosen to stay. With those in mind I woud like to offically say thank you so much to the following:

The people of Mexico

Thank you people of Mexico for reminding me that life does not have to move at one thousand miles per hour at all times. It is OK to slow down on occassion and just enjoy the world and each other for what it is and who they are. Also for reminding me that smiling, not frowning or looking dour, should be the default look at most times in your life. For your ability to drive in the worst of traffic and stay off your horn, and they way you keep your fingers where they belong instead of one sticking up in the air thrust in the face of the nearest driver in your line of site. It has also been a revelation to realize that most intersections work perfectly well with nothing more than stop signs, as long as people believe in and follow regular order, as you all seem to do at all times. Thanks for reminding me that having someone else pump your gas and wash your windshield while they are at it is really a much nicer system than having to do it yourself. Yes, New Jersey has a similar system but, I mean its New Jersey so the gas pumping thing does not make up for the disaster that is the rest of the state. Thank you for your extreme and unending patience with my terrible Spanish. The way you humor me with smiles and laughs and good natured encouragement as I fumble about with the language has given me the courage to at least try when in many countries I would likely be too fearful of ridicule to even bother. And yes, I am looking at you France. Finally, thank me for welcoming me to your country with open arms and treating me like a visiting brother from day 1 until now. Not many countries, the US included, have such favorable attitudes towards immigrants and immigration, and your position on the matter gives hope to many who seek a better life in a foreign land.

The government of Mexico

Thank you for granting me residency in your country. While the process was as challenging as just about any thing I have attempted in my life it was navigable and in the end doable. At no time did I feel as if I was being dissuaded from trying, and, in fact was encouraged to soldier on at many points in the process by the kindness of the Mexican government officials working the various immigration jobs with whom I interacted. They always treated me as an equal, with respect and dignity, and kindness and professionalism. This includes the Mexican soldiers and other officials working the border at San Ysidro, Otay, and Tecate crossings. Their professinal attitudes and just doing their jobs demeanor sets an example that I wish I could say US customs and border patrol officials followed. Your immigration officials are a credit to your government and I salute you for it. I have also been a bit surprised and actually favorably impressed with the behaviors concerning the various military and police forces patrolling the streets of Mexico in Baja (with one big exception that I am currently writing a follow up piece about). Mostly from what I have seen it seems they spend a lot of their time helping stranded motorists, handing out the occassional speeding ticket, and keeping a watchful eye on the border and large gatherings of people. I have yet to see any behaviours I would consider unkind or uncaring let alone brutal or unlawful. That is not to say such behaviour does not happen and I am certain it does. As with any police force there will always be bad apples who spoil it for everyone, but, at least in my opinion, there are many more of the good guys than the bad guys. Finally thank you for keeping gas prices and energy costs at reasonable levels even as they soared in the US and globally. I know this sort of government intervention in the marketplace is frowned upon in the US and in many other corners of the world, but, for myself, and many others actually living in that world, reasonable gas prices and affordable energy are a huge economic boon.

Thank you Mexico for everything!

humanitycentral america
Like

About the Creator

Everyday Junglist

Practicing mage of the natural sciences (Ph.D. micro/mol bio), Thought middle manager, Everyday Junglist, Boulderer, Cat lover, No tie shoelace user, Humorist, Argan oil aficionado. Occasional LinkedIn & Facebook user

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.