Wander logo

Thailand: Week One

I’m not complaining. Just sharing my experiences so far.

By Lexi BellowPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
This is after a three mile walk in Chiang Rai, Thailand🇹🇭

Let me just start this with a few facts about myself. My name is Lexi, and I’m 20 years old. I’m not in school and I don’t have any particular reason to travel except that it’s all I want to do. I’m a waitress, and sometimes I completely forget that I’m lucky enough to see the world from places people in my hometown only dream about. I’ve traveled throughout the United States with friends and family, but that never compares to the sights that are outside of the country.

For the last week, December 2-11, I have been trekking my way through the northern cities of Thailand. The first three nights were spent in Bangkok, Thailand's largest city. It was truly incredible. The street food vendors and shopping spots were unbelievable.

Royal Paragon Hall is one of the largest malls in the nation. I truly was in awe every time I looked at something. Of course, I’m way too poor to afford anything in that building but it was something I will never forget. Across the street from paragon is another mall that is also rather large. Instead of Lamborghini’s and Gucci shoes, this is where you find the cheaper vendors. It’s so insane to me how they weren’t split into stores. Also, no dressing rooms??? I’m not complaining though. There were so many cute and very cheap items throughout this eight story building. Ranging from clothes, to electronics, to furniture, and even a movie theatre at the very top. Let’s just say that after going through for about two hours, I was completely shipped out and unsure of how I was going to get everything I bought home.

The food vendors seemed to never end. I’m extremely picky about food. It’s one of the worst qualities about myself. I couldn't really get myself to try most of what I saw, but what I did try was truly incredible. This food is made from scratch every day right there on the side of the road and you can taste it in every bite. I’m not the best when it comes to trying new things, but I am officially a huge fan of Thai food and the art that goes into making it.

I think my least favorite thing about the city is the overwhelming population of people who just want your money. The TukTuk is a rather popular form of transportation in the tourist cities of Thailand. It’s sort of like a scooter taxi, but not metered. You are supposed to negotiate the price of your ride before getting on and leaving. More than often however, you will be completely ripped off. I say this because they will drive you a mile down the road and make you pay 120 baht which is completely insane. Getting on a TukTuk can obviously be avoided because of Uber and the metered taxis driving around constantly wanting your money as well. The Tuks were mostly a problem every time they would yell at you from the car asking you where you were going, what you were doing, and who your mother is. At one point, we had a man walk up to us in a park while we were waiting for our Uber, and he told us that Uber is illegal and he knows that because he’s a journalist who travels. When we wouldn’t cancel our ride after he tried to convince us for ten minutes, he walked right back to his TukTuk and drove away.

While I’d love to make connections in the country and learn about their lives but it’s a little hard to know who you can and can’t trust.

I still have a week to go here. I think y trip will only get better as I continue to learn what this country is about. It’s truly an incredible and beautiful journey I am on, and I’m so happy to be welcomed by so many kind people along the way.

advicetravel

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lexi BellowWritten by Lexi Bellow

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.