Wander logo

Take a deep breath

finding peace

By shobhana kadamPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
Ganga

I was feeling very restless for some days, nothing was feeling good. I was feeling lonely but I didn't feel like going into the crowd. I felt like leaving everything and running away somewhere.

Then I thought that if I go somewhere in nature, maybe I will start feeling better. But where?

I had heard from people that there is a lot of great peace on the banks of Ganga. And by bathing in Ganga river, the dirt of the body as well as the mind is washed away.

So I packed my bags and left for Hrishikesh (India). Took a direct bus from Delhi, traveled for 5 hours and reached Yoga city Hrishikesh. The weather here is different, there is different peace.

It was evening by the time I reached, so I thought of starting the journey with Ganga Aarti(A ritual is performed in which incense and lights are offered to the river Ganga). So I reached Triveni Ghat (wide set of steps descending to Ganga river).

Just by sitting on the Ghat and looking at the Ganga, all the thoughts in the mind go away. I kept looking at Ganga for some time. It seemed as if seeing Ganga had calmed down all the restlessness in my mind! As soon as the mind became calm, the heart automatically started taking deep breaths. Then when I touched Ganga water, my mind felt such coolness, which is difficult to describe in words.

After some time the Aarti started and it was such a wonderful scene that my mind and soul were satisfied. The pure water of Ganga, the fire of Aarti, the cool fragrant air, the open sky and the mountains…. I felt the five elements of nature together.

It was such a supernatural scene that the body was trembling on its own, tears were flowing from the eyes. The mind became so happy, so calm that for a few moments it seemed as if everything had stopped. It is very rare to find such immense happiness.

After that, the icing on the cake was the bhajans (devotional songs) of Shri Radha and Krishna. Everyone present there was immersed in devotion, everyone was singing Radha Radha Krishna Krishna.

My legs also started lifting on their own, every pore of my body started dancing. It seemed as if Shri Krishna himself was present there. Then the bhajans ended, it was getting late, but I did not feel like leaving the Ganga Ghat. It was such an amazing experience that I will probably never forget these moments in my life.

Lamps floating in the Ganga, lights shining on the water, it seems as if even the stars have come to take a bath in the Ganga. Spent some more time at the Ghat, then stayed at a hotel nearby. I had such a relaxing sleep after a long time.

Tree holding a rock or rock holding a tree

Although there is a lot to do in Hrishikesh, like River rafting, Bungee Jumping, Cliff Jumping, Body surfing , Trekking, Ayurvedic Massage and Therapies, Parasailing and Paragliding , Yoga and Meditation etc...

Planned a trek to Secret Waterfall the next early morning. It was a very beautiful experience. But the time spent at Ganga Ghat was being remembered again and again.

So I again reached the banks of Ganga, roamed around on the Ghat, took bath in Ganga and spent the rest of the time on the Ghat. In the evening, once again lived the wonderful moment of Ganga Aarti at Triveni Ghat. And taking such a wonderful experience with me, I headed home by night bus.

natureculture

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    This without a doubt was definitely a beautiful experience! Thank you so much for sharing it with us!

  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    Yeah definitely I will take a deep breath. Thank you.

SKWritten by shobhana kadam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.