Wander logo

South Korea — Don’t They Eat Dog There?

A simple question with a complex answer

By Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl TravelPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
9
A classic Korean pet dog wearing trainers and a red jumper (Photo credit to the author)

So you’re a dog in Korea, life could go one of two ways. Either you’re all dressed up for dinner, or well, you are dinner.

If you are a handbag-sized dog, fluffy and white, congratulations, you have won the coin toss of life. Heads, you are a pet.

One of my favourite past times in Korea is laughing at funny little dogs in silly little outfits. It’s more strange to see a dog WITHOUT a jacket than with one. Someone call the police for indecent exposure; that dog is NAKED!

Of course he needs a spiky backpack ! (Photo credit to the author)

I’ve seen it all. T-shirts, shoes, denim shorts, jumpers, dungarees, backpacks, dresses, jaunty hats. The list goes on.

And it doesn’t stop with clothing; I’ve often seen a dog with a fluffy purple dip-dyed tail — even makeup and jewellery. I’ve seen dogs with little circles of pink blusher dyed onto their cheeks and a bead necklace.

But my personal favourite was a white dog with thick black eyebrows drawn on it, and it looked so surprised! Two hours later, I was still giggling to myself whenever I thought about it.

Doggie dungarees in store(Photo credit to the author)

As most people live in apartments, it’s unusual to see larger breeds of dogs on the streets. When you do, they are admired and respected. Koreans love and dote on their pets; they are often very spoiled. If you cannot have a pet, you can go to a cat or dog café to spend an afternoon petting them.

What about the other side of the coin? If you are a larger sized dog, mainly the Korean breeds Nureongi (누렁이) or Hwanggu (황구), I’m sorry it looks like you’ve lost.

Dogs in cages at the dog section of Gupo Market, South Korea 2014 (Photo credit to the author)

I lived in a place in Busan called Gupo, which has a huge outdoor market. This market had a prominent animal section or, more precisely, dog section. Now I have walked through this section of the market, and it was jarring. I saw live dogs in cages next to dead dogs in glass cabinets with their chest cavity split open and ribs exposed. Not your average shopping trip.

Upon doing a little research for this article, I was happy to hear that the Gupo dog market closed down in 2019. I also read that many other large markets and slaughterhouses have closed down.

I know this can bring up a big debate about why it is considered OK to eat some animals and not others. I can’t answer that question. I love dogs and their sweet, kind nature, and it doesn’t sit right with me. My vegetarian friend cried and refused to go anywhere near this section of the market.

Eating dogs (Gaegogi) is believed to have medicinal properties, especially in virility. Still, it is not commonplace in modern Korea to see it on restaurant menus.

Attitudes of the younger generation are changing. There’s been a rise of animal rights groups in Korea. The government is closing down large operations to clear up its image.

Through this, I believe and I hope that eating dog will become a thing of the past.

Thank you for reading! Hearts and tips are always welcome and your support is very much appreciated.

This was originally published on Medium

If you want to read more about life in South Korea then check out 👇

Georgina Nelson. Traveller. Writer. Photographer. Yoga teacher.

Sh*t Happens - because the things that go wrong make the funniest stories.

culture
9

About the Creator

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel

Hi! I’m Georgie and I share travel stories of when sh*t happens. I think that sometimes the worst things that happen to you traveling, are often the funniest

Follow me on Instagram! https://www.instagram.com/sh.t_happens_lost_girl_travel/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alice Abyss2 years ago

    SO well written <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.