Wander logo

South Africa

Plettenberg Bay, July-August 2018

By Laura ParkPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Mother and Calf Humpback whales in the Bay.

Over the summer of 2018 I was lucky enough to take part in a volunteer research placement in Plettenberg Bay, South Africa. Over the course of four weeks I took part in many different activities to aid the community and the ecosystem.

I took part in boat based surveys to collect data on the marine mammals in the bay, taught children to speak English in the schools of the local townships, Beach cleans around the bay, dissections of beached whales, shark diving, visiting different sanctuaries such as: elephants, birds, monkeys and big cats; plant trees in townships, complete boat estuary surveys, Observations on a peninsula, clearing alien plant species, river health surveys and volunteering at an animal welfare centre.

Along the way, I was also able to capture some amazing sights, and further my love and passion for photography.

The bay of Plettenberg.

Within the first few hours of arriving in such a beautiful country, I had to go exploring. Just what would be my local area for the next few weeks—and I was not disappointed. With a view of the bay like this, I could have stayed and watched the world gone by for hours.

5am Sunrise over the Mountain range.

Alternatively the following morning was an early rise, and I was not disappointed with my morning greeting. Up at 5 AM to do a seal count of the local colony and this is what I saw—one of the most beautiful sunrises over a mountain range that continues on for miles reflecting across the serene and tranquil waters of Plettenberg Bay.

Thandi (means love) at the Elephant Sanctuary.

Weekend activities included more exploration, only this time, to visit the most amazing animals this world has to offer. First with my beautiful new friend, Thandi (Love in Afrikaans) the African Elephant that is one of 5 in the sanctuary before she progresses to a nature reserve so that she can live out the rest of her life free but in peace.

A less than friendly welcome.

Next, to a not so friendly looking companion. Shark cage diving in Mossel Bay was an experience of a lifetime that I will never be able to forget, yet can not wait to do again. Tranquil and graceful in the water, yet still not to be trifled with.

A bridge to the unknown...

When visiting other sanctuaries and locations that make up the Garden Route of South Africa, you come across some gems of beauty such as this one. A bridge across a canyon where you only find the destination by walking across. There's a slight ironical twist and metaphor to life there.

Knysna heads, where no filter is needed.

Whilst passing, we had to stop and take a look at the Famous Knysna heads, where crossing through into the Indian Ocean has to be perfectly timed otherwise ships running aground is a very big possibility. However, no one ever expects to be greeted by such a sight. Where you can distinctly see the depth changes in the water and where the greenery pops out at you from miles away.

My gorgeous little friend that took an interest in my nose.

Visiting and teaching children in the local townships to read, speak and write English was one of the most fulfilling experiences of my life. And when they found out you liked cuddles just as much as them...you had no choice! This cool little dude refused to get down because he was just too interested in my nose. This picture truly screams to me that racism is completely taught and no one is born with prejudice in their hearts.

He is my favourite friend, and I'll never forget him.

One figures out you'll give a cuddle...they all want a cuddle.

A Humpback whale half breach.

Now, the boats—every time I went out on a trip, I thought I had seen all there was to see, and every time I was wrong. This is a half breach of the tail end of a Humpback Whale, suspended in mid air, thrashing around. The epitome of grace and power wrapped into one photograph.

A view to remember.

My first day and my last day were spent like the picture above. Feet in the Indian Ocean, looking out across the bay to the mountain range, watching dolphin pods swim through the glass like water, just taking it all in. The sounds of the waves and people around me, the smell of the ocean and the sun on my skin.

My perfect month in South Africa.

Not to mention the AMAZING people above that made my experience just that little bit more perfect.

africa
Like

About the Creator

Laura Park

20 | UK | Student

Just my insight into the life that i'm living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.