Wander logo

Sirloc

Magik

By Linsey TulipPublished 3 years ago 14 min read
2

To start with, you have to ask yourself one thing, "Do you have an open mind?" Well open enough to think that there could be magik in the world. I don't mean the kind you see on TV, but the kind you have to feel to realize it's a real thing. Sometimes your eyes can deceive you and that makes them somewhat unreliable. For me my eyes are a lot to me but to some that haven't seen with them, they really don't know what their missing. Now do you believe that there are things and situations that just can't be explained? If you do then this just might be of some interest to you. Now this is from the point of view of an onlooker that for a lot I was but some I was part of. Dates, Places, and Names have been changed that's pretty much it.

As i awoke in my hotel room one sunny kind of chill morning. I kept thinking this as iI moved to close the window. "I left the window open last night because it was so freaking hot last night." I look out and there sits my Black 1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX. I had just bought it after the divorce and was on a binge driving spree. I had lost everything even including the dog. I didn't lose my money but I lost everything that counts in a family. As I turned away from the window I looked to the table next to the bed, a 9mm lay beside the clock and a AK-47 was laying against the wall. It made me think now why am I carrying this kind of heat around with me? But I had spent a lot of my childhood growing up in the 90's, in which time there were all these movies and television shows about people alone on a dark open forever endless kind of roads. Well that's just what I was doing out here, I am looking for anything of truth. The way I see it some of these urban legends have to have some even just a thread of truth to spawn it's legend. I did however plan that when you see these stories nobody ever has a gun. A lot of them are usually on some kind of road trip. Now ever road trip I have ever taken I have at least carried a 38 cal with me. But these stories ranging anywhere from Stephen King and his terror stories out of Maine usually. To the bandit type killers rolling the hills of the plains states. I wanted to find these kinds of events to in a way wright my own story. If I was to survive this little adventure of my own, I need to keep my eyes open. Either way I am not going down without some kind of fight in me against whatever shall fall before me.

It was June and was warm when the sun was out, but got cold at night and seemed to get colder the closer it got to sun-up. This made me believe I was in a western state of some kind. I'm not really paying to much attention to the places I had been, I am more concerned about which road I haven't been down yet. I found myself (very quickly) it seemed, before I was seeing for miles in every direction and could only see corn fields on either side of me for miles then I remember the Children of the Corn and think when I first seen it I was still old enough that I could of joined, however now I'd be one of the "Grown-ups" that they would prefer dead. the though brings a smile to my face thinking of the first time watching it as a youngster. I keep driving at a casual speed. I'm really not in that big of a hurry, the very few buildings I do see are really not even close to what I'm looking for right at the moment. I start to get that damn feeling in the bottom of my stomach and I begin to wonder, "Will I be walking very soon or can I get lucky and actually make it to a gas pump." As I'm thinking this I'm scanning the road ahead hoping to see a sign or better yet...and as the thought funs across my mind I see a building with gas pumps out front, start coming toward me on the right side of the road ahead. "Well hell yeah how about that and just in the nick of time too! But knowing my luck they'll be out of gas or won't accept cash or something like that." To my awe they are open, they even have ice cold Mountain Dew along with my kind of cigarette's. To my happiness the have gas and it's fairly cheap compared to where I bought it last time. After I had put my items in the car I start to fill up the car. As I'm watching the pump and looking around a trio of identical cars pull into the lot. Each one has a single symbol on the hood, a red flying hatchet. The symbol was in bright red and painted on an all silver cars with tinted windows and a sweet set of racing rims. Which when I was looking thru a magazine at the mechanic's before I left I saw all kinds of rims and tire sets that we're more than I paid for the car. But these are identical BMW 5 series, cause they aren't quite big enough to be the 7 series and not small enough to be a 3 series for sure. Not even a M class, none of them had any kind of labeling except that red flying hatchet. With the windows tinted it's hard to see what the people inside look like. A few seconds go by and still no one is getting out of any of the cars. Suddenly the clerk I paid burst out the door almost tripping over himself hurrying toward one of the cars. He approaches the passenger side of one of the cars that was pointing away from me. At one point he looks up and looks right at me, locking eye contact with me. At this moment I knew something was about to happen out there on that road when I leave no matter which way I go when I pull out of here. This is about to be one of those kinds of stories that's to wild to be true, that is if I survive this. My pump stops and I look at the price and round up to the nearest round number. As I hang up my handle and close the cap on the car I am keeping them in my peripheral vision watching for sudden movement. As the cars are pulling out of the lot I can see the clerk coming straight at me with a quickness in his step. He walks up without giving me a chance to speak asks "Do you know where you are? And by the way "what the hell are you doing around here anyway?"

He gets this really weird look on his face as if he just got out of a haunted asylum. I ask "What did they say to you that made you look up at me?" His face goes straight and he calmly says "They plan to kill you shortly down the road from here. they'll be hiding till you go pass then they plan to run you off the road and make it look like and accident." I look at him and start walking to my driver's door. "Then this could prove to be a good day to die." The skies are beautiful and the weather couldn't be any better. As I get in I keep eye contact with him half expecting him to say something else. As I pull away I leave him standing next to the pump, staring at me in the mirror as I am looking back I am loading my pistol the last couple of shots that will fit, and making sure the rifle is loaded and the extra ammo is within arms reach. Slipping the pistol into my belt line I lay the AK in the passenger seat. Once I am happy with the placing I set to finding a good song to have some fun too. I have taken extra care not to let people know that I am packing heat at all times no matter where I went. Once I have a good song I head up the road the way the clerk said they would be waiting. Sure enough after I crossed out of the town limits they are on my ass trying to push me off one side of the road that has a bit of a drop to it. Big enough of a drop that at 80mph your not going to just get up and walk away from that one at all. But when the first car pulled up next to me I simply stick the Ak out the window and blow out the engine in one trigger pull. Next thing I know the car goes flying backwards away from me, there isn't another car behind me as I look in the mirror. I can see by some kind of luck when he was trying to pass, that particular car was the very first in a line of cars all of which we're lined up just the right way. When I caused it to suddenly stop, it caused all but one car to fall over each other and smoke everywhere. The last car slammed on it's brakes after missing the pile up and stopped where the other's had gone off the road. Needless to say they were no longer an issue for me. So I figure I need to get off this road. I need to find me a safe place to camp. Somewhere I can hide out of sight and hide my car as well all in the same spot. Although as I'm looking forward and scanning the road again this road just seems to go on forever as far as I can see.

As I am vigorously looking for a place to get off this road, out of the dark on the left side of the road comes a even darker mass. My headlights hit it and I can tell right off it is a group of trees clumped together. "Now if only there will be room to park inside the clump instead of behind it. I really can't see anything past them anyways." I'm saying to myself as I start to pull the car toward the left side of the road, when all of sudden in my mirror I can see headlights coming up from far away. So seeing this I quickly hit the kill switch I have set up to shut off my tail lights and one for the headlights. Depending on where the people are that I don't want to see me it gives me a slight advantage when someone is looking for me or I am looking for them and don't want anyone to know I am there. Shutting them off I make a quicker effort to get to the trees and get behind them from the way they are coming. Parking it shut everything off including anything in my car that can make a noise or create a light or slight glow. Rolling the windows down I slide the rifle into my lap as I quietly open the door and back out of the car keeping my eyes on the lights coming at me. I'm thinking "As long as they can't see me I'll be fine." The lights are close enough I can start to hear the motor. As the light gets closer and closer I can hear the motor slowing down till it comes to a stop about ten to twelve yards away from. They have stopped n the middle of the road. I can hear the gear's change as I can hear tow doors open on the vehicle. Then a voice "I swear he's got to be around here somewhere!" A slight silence then a different voice, "Nah man he wouldn't have made it this far. I bet he's back somewhere off the road we didn't see hiding. Let's go back and see what kind of help they are going to need. The motor revs and I can hear the gears change, the vehicle's lights swing around till there is only a slight red glow as they pull away and out of sight. Now taking a deep breath out of the darkness I hear a deeper breath being taken in like it was standing behind me close enough I am waiting to feel the hot air on the back of my neck. To my surprise there isn't even a breeze out. Spinning around I am met with nothing but more darkness leading out till I can no longer see. Looking around and turning a few times scanning anywhere my eyes can see. Nothing, not even the noise of the night in the open country. "Now this is weird, I can swear I heard someone else breath right after I did. Am I just hearing things? But that's not it there isn't a noise out here. What was that? Maybe just me still trying to calm down and I just had an overload of my sense's." Shrugging it off I go back to my car and find my flashlight and start looking to see if there is a way into the trees maybe at the least I can sleep in there and cover my car with branches. Walking around slowly, I keep looking down the road to keep an eye out for any kind of lights. At this point I don't care if it's a police officer I am not dealing with anyone it's best as if I am not here. After getting about half way around the clump away from the way they would be coming from I find an opening big enough and just tall enough under the branches to get the car in as well.

Takes about twenty minutes to set up camp, including a little campfire for dinner but hidden by the car and extra branches I bent down and pulled to pile in from the fire from all the sides I can. After eating and putting out the fire I keep the car doors open and climb into the passenger seat and lay back and use a coat for a blanket I slip into sleep. Not sure how long I have been sleeping but, (whisper's under my breath) "I swear I just heard that breathing again, but this time there seemed to be multiple breaths. Enough that it's the reason I woke." I scan the car over and out of the corner of my eye toward where the fire was I swear I see to little lights. As my eyes focus it dawns on me their eyes. There about three to three and a half feet off the ground. My mind starts to race when they start to move closer to me. It's like whatever it is it knew when I saw it and decided to move slowly. With both of my arms under my coat it's a safe feeling, till I bump the handle of my pistol resting on my stomach. I start to slowly slide my hand down to fully grab the handle. As soon as I moved, and slowly moving it seemed to notice and stop moving. We both lock eyes, these eyes are a blueish tint to them. Suddenly every animal I can think of I am comparing to those eyes still staring at me without blinking or moving anymore. Suddenly I hear the breath again, this time it's coming from right where those eyes are. Then like someone in the tops of the tree shown light right toward the eyes. What really happened was the moon came out and made the eyes take full body shape. I am now looking at some kind of really big cat. I try to take a breath and it wont work so I try to swollow but my mouth is dry. Then the eyes start moving upward like they we're bent over piking up something. I can't believe what is happening in front of me, this big cat has stood up like a bear would and has started to fade in and out of focus. I'm rubbing my eyes as I am getting out of my car and standing. Suddenly when it comes into focus I am looking at a beautiful woman draped in a white and gold cloth type robe.

To be continued... Part 1 of many

literature
2

About the Creator

Linsey Tulip

I have always had a over active imagination since I was young. I never grew out of it, it just became more detailed as I get older. So one day I started writing them down. And here I share them, hope you like them, or at least one.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.