Wander logo

San Francisco and Lisbon - 3 Similar Things I Found

“You gone find” twin bridges, beautiful trams and “gentle people”

By Zen MichaelPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
San Francisco and Lisbon

I remember when, a few years ago, being in Lisbon, I was talking to someone on the Internet that lives in the San Francisco area.

At one point he mentioned that the best-known bridge in Lisbon (the 25 of April Bridge) was very similar to the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco.

After our conversation, I remember looking at some images and finding some similarities. I found it interesting, but this matter quickly stopped being present in my thoughts.

Three years ago I had the opportunity to pay a quick visit to the city of San Francisco and then everything changed. This association becomes stronger and the similarities between the two cities now come to my mind many times.

1- Twin Bridges

Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco | Image by: Pixabay
25 of April Bridge in Lisbon | Photo by Sven Hornburg on Unsplash

The Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco (California, US), and the 25 of April Bridge in Lisbon (Portugal), have not only similar colors and shapes but — at least to me — inspire similar feelings.

When I see the bridges, I get a feeling of admiration and also of something special. It’s as if those structures were not only admirable because of their architecture, but also because they were connecting more than just different places. Like if they not just creating a way for people to reach another place, but also a way to go much further and higher.

I have only been once to San Francisco, where I had the chance to admire the Golden Gate Bridge from a touristic bus and also from a boat trip.

I found that view and feeling from looking to the Golden Gate Bridge from the river, very similar to what I feel when I see the 25 of April Bridge in Lisbon.

On my way to work, I have the privilege to get a very close view of 25 of April Bridge. And, since I visited San Francisco, that view always brings me to my mind the pleasure and feelings of the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco.

Even being so far one from each other, the two bridges seem to be connected in some way, in my mind and heart.

2- Beautiful trams

San Francisco Tram | Photo by Daniel Abadia on Unsplash
Lisbon tram | Photo by Paulo Evangelista on Unsplash

Trams help to create a special atmosphere on the streets of these two cities. It is as if they were a celebration of the past, a simple and frequent way to remember it, to celebrate it.

A past time that is remembered by the sound of a passing tram, or when we get inside one. Like if we were going on a trip in the past time, a time where everything seemed to be calmer and more welcoming.

In San Francisco and Lisbon, we can feel the special effect of these beautiful old trams.

3- “Gentle people”

San Francisco | Photo by Clayton Cardinalli on Unsplash
Lisbon street | Photo by Vita Marija Murenaite on Unsplash

My contact with people from San Francisco was not much, it basically boils down to what I observed during my short stay in the city and some contacts I had via the Internet with people who live in that area.

But I got the feeling that people are friendly, calm, and very open to hearing the perspective of others.

In Lisbon, friendliness is also a constant in the attitude with which visitors are received. Anyone who needs to ask for directions to go somewhere will have no trouble finding someone willing to help.

Tourists are very well received in Lisbon and usually find it easy to communicate with people who walk the streets of the city and who are always willing to give any information they need.

Summer is also the best time to visit both cities so — using a famous song as example — I believe we could say:

“If you’re going to San Francisco” or Lisbon

“You’re gonna meet some gentle people there”.

“For those who come to San Francisco” or Lisbon

“Summertime will be a love-in there”.

"If you are going..."

To finish, I will remember the song that inspired this article, maybe it can inspire other also, wherever they may be: in San Francisco, Lisbon, or any other beautiful place!

I wonder if there are any other cities similar to these ones…

“If you’re going to San Francisco, Be sure to wear some flowers in your hair…”. Scott McKenzie.

culture
Like

About the Creator

Zen Michael

Happiness in on the Way, not at the end of the road. Calm, joy, meditation and creativity shape the Way. Don’t search for happiness and it may find you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.