Wander logo

Sailing with the sail fish

The cruise adventure..

By Holly Allison-KayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

We heard the horn blow as this huge floating little city proceded out of the port area and began our cruise adventure. The ship glided perfectly over the calm seas allowing excellent opportunities to watch for marine life. While my husband and I were cruising the Pacific Ocean off of the coast of Mexico, camera in hand, out popped this beauty! I have always loved taking photographs and recently became obsessed with nature. Two days into our cruise was a particularly beautiful, sun filled day with minimal wave and swell making spotting achievable. The mesmerizing sun-filled day began with a hot cup of coffee and croissant, enjoyed out on a secluded side deck. As I felt the warm ocean breeze and warm sun on my skin, I found my mind would wander off, strangely remembering “The Little Mermaid” and how it becomes a whole new world under the sea. Other than photography, another of my passions is snorkelling. Floating through calmness of underwater with the abundance of life peaking out all around me. The assortment of shapes, sizes and flora of these creatures is always so intriguing. Equally abundant is the fabulous plant life, observing the underwater creatures nibbling on the plants, spewing sand while digging their trenches and pathways down to the, unknown to me, treasure below. During my snorkel adventures I have spotted a variety of marine life but today I focus on the sail fish becoming curious of the long barb leading it’s way as it travels so quickly and effortlessly through the water. I wondered if this sword of sorts was to penetrate food, or to assist with balance, speed, what was the creative design purpose? So I begin my research and I learn some fun facts about the sailfish! I learn that this species of fish holds the record for the fastest speed of any of Earth's marine animals, how fascinating! The sail fish gets it’s name due to the “sail” type fin hidden on the back. This sail protrudes and becomes raised when attacking prey. Supposedly, the raising of this sail makes it difficult for the head to move freely discouraging predators as the long bill looks less desirable to eat. Also, during spawning the female sailfish will attract a male partner by extending her dorsal fin above the surface of the water. So this fin has much purpose. This fish hunts and manipulates the “sword“ to injure it’s food, making the meal more easily attainable. Studies have shown that most of their prey get injured from the back versus the front as they swiftly speed up behind the school of fish bumping their food source enough to inflict an injury allowing the possibility of capture. Approximately only 24% of the hunt is successful. These fish really work hard for their meals! These fish tend to hunt in groups for various reasons, such as, fish can be predictable and a fish on it’s own can repeat its movements and directionality. Studies show that the mob mentality creates much movement at the same time making it more difficult for predators to track or plot their path. More fascinating, is studies have shown that these fish may be able to change colour, throwing off their predators. Studies also show that this species may be able to communicate with each other and that they have the ability to display emotion, who knew, fish can have emotions. I was thrilled to see this Vocal challenge, prompting me to step out of my comfort zone, chose my photo with then educating myself on these majestic water beauties. I look so forward to my next wildlife adventure!

nature
Like

About the Creator

Holly Allison-Kay

Proud mom of triplets, married to my knight in shining armour, loving life and literature!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.