Wander logo

Poems & Postcards

Inspiring travel through postcards and poetry.

By Katlyn CampbellPublished 3 years ago 15 min read
1
Designed by me

About Poems & Postcards:

Poems and postcards is my personal feat.

Please take note and grab a sheet.

There are many sights to see that are impressive and neat.

Now my travel journal is a little offbeat.

As it rhymes the whole way through and has a pretty good beat.

I will tell you the places I’ve been and people I did meet.

And give you advice on where to visit or retreat.

So share with your friends or maybe send a tweet.

Enjoy what’s to come and pull up a seat!

My Story: A traveler with a postcard collection and a passion for poetry.

My graduation cap with the 4 flags of USA, Ireland, UK, & South Korea

Studying abroad was my dream come true

And during college I went to Ireland, South Korea, and England too.

It inspired me to follow my dreams, persevere, and always pursue.

To tell you the impact it had on me is what I will do.

So I created a travel journal that is unique and will make you go oooo!

Because from beginning to end you’ll find it rhymes the whole way through.

So here is my story without further ado!

-

From my travels, many postcards I did accrue.

Last time I checked I think I have around one hundred and two.

They are memories of my time abroad- a keepsake I hold true.

And now I wanted to share them all with you.

-

I realized I had a knack for writing poetry and making things rhyme.

And my poems are stories that let me step back in time.

Along with a collection of photos make for a great rerun.

To remember the people, places, and things I’ve done.

The lessons I’ve learned and times that were fun!

-

So come one, come all, come everyone!

Maybe read a rhyme, or two, or a ton.

And welcome to Poems & Postcards… the rhyming has just begun!

Here's what I can offer to Vocal and Memberful

The Idea: To create a travel journal consisting of postcards and poetry.

The Why: To inspire people to travel and give tips on what to see & do.

There are many travel resources on the internet, but to come across a travel blog or book written entirely in rhyme is rare. As a child, I loved to read the stories from Dr. Seuss, Shel Silverstein and I remember spending hours falling in love with Where the Sidewalk Ends, The Giving Tree, Falling Up, and Oh, the Places You'll Go. Their poems were engaging, full of rhymes, funny, creative, and filled with immaculate illustrations. I hope to follow in their footsteps, and help people fall in love with poetry by giving travel advice in a fun poetic way that will make someone book a trip the minute they have finished the sentence.

How Memberful can help: A email subscription to a postcard and poem.

I created a blog back in 2018 through Wix that showcases my poems and travels. However, with Memberful I will be able to connect with a wider audience and learn how to effectively create a subscription service that will include a postcard and a matching poem. I will have access to tools, resources, and a community that can help me start building my dream.

The goal: To write a poem for every postcard.

I have a collection of more than 100 postcards hanging on my wall. My goal is to write a poem for every postcard telling a story about that particular city or country.

Poems and postcards I have included in this Vocal story:

  1. A Weekend in Sedona
  2. Berlin during Christmas
  3. Montego Bay, Jamaica
  4. Arizona Road Trip
  5. The Grand Canyon
  6. Route 66
  7. A Summer in South Korea
  8. The London Underground

& More!

  • Nottingham, England
  • Wollaton Park
  • London
  • Paris
  • Finland
  • Ireland
  • Glasgow
  • Edinburgh
  • Amsterdam
  • Brussels
  • Portugal
  • 1. A Weekend in Sedona

    Driving on the highway where the earth turns red.

    On 89A is the town of Sedona straight ahead.

    An unmissable stop from what I have read.

    -

    A place where people go to rest and renew.

    With magnificent green trees and a sky so blue.

    A weekend in this town was long overdue.

    -

    Built in the rocks, the Chapel of the Holy Cross stands majestic and true.

    Climb up Cathedral Rock to an unbeatable view.

    Sit on the rocks which are a deep copper hue.

    Or go to the top and yell “Wahoo!”

    -

    I will never forget autumn leaves in Oak Creek.

    The trees of red, orange, and yellow stood tall like a peak.

    Looking out the windows I was in awe and could barely speak.

    For the moment was perfect and made my knees weak.

    And when the snowflakes fell upon my cheek.

    This day in November was unforgettable and forever unique.

    -

    A Pink Jeep Tour is honestly great fun.

    The Road of No Return was shrieks and screams for everyone!

    That evening was incredible - we laughed a ton!

    It was a picture-perfect day under the sun.

    2. Berlin in December

    The sights of Berlin, there are plenty to list:

    First the Cathedral, Brandenburg Gate, and Museum Island please visit I insist.

    The Reichstag, Checkpoint Charlie, and the Berlin Wall are not to be missed.

    Because here is the well-known graffiti painting where two men kissed.

    -

    Don’t forget Alexanderplatz, because here in the middle is a really neat clock.

    And make sure to look at traffic light man- he’s on the crosswalk!

    And late night currywurst is tasty after a long day’s walk.

    -

    Berlin during Christmas is a spectacular sight.

    And Christmas Markets were definitely the highlight.

    With streets and shops decorated with twinkling, sparkly lights.

    They lit the night sky all dreamy and bright.

    German glüwein and gingerbread were an absolute delight.

    And for a chocolate lover like me, I could have stayed there all night!

    -

    On a cold winter’s day, down on a strasse or street.

    An incredibly sweet family I certainly did meet.

    A stop for afternoon tea was exceptionally sweet.

    And the coffees and cakes were a delicious treat.

    Reminiscing about the old days was a little bittersweet.

    Because of all the things travel can give, friendship cannot be beat.

    -

    Although our languages are not the same, I really did not mind.

    So danke schön, your hospitality was amazing and kind.

    And to return I would be ever so inclined.

    3. Montego Bay, Jamaica

    With my dad, I jetted off to Montego Bay.

    The island of Jamaica was the perfect getaway.

    Home of cool music, Bob Marley, and reggae.

    Black, green, and gold, a beautiful array.

    ‘Ya Mon’ you might hear and is what they say.

    Not to mention the incredible food, Jerk Chicken, and a delicious buffet.

    This island in the Caribbean is a place to get away, the perfect hideaway.

    -

    Up the waterfall, over the rocks, and under the tree .

    At Dunn’s River Falls, we climbed to the tippity-top with glee.

    Made it to the top and shouted whoopee!

    Parasailing and snorkeling were a first for me.

    Laying on the beach and living carefree.

    A day like this is my cup of tea.

    All you need is sand, sun, and vitamin sea.

    -

    Every day was filled with a pleasant afternoon.

    Swaying in the chair that looked like a cocoon.

    Swimming with the plankton in the Luminous Lagoon.

    Listening to the waves under the moon.

    Made a wish under the stars and they floated away like a balloon.

    I hope to return someday soon.

    4. Arizona Road Trip

    We went on a road trip that was an incredible feat

    And I was the navigator in the passenger seat

    Because here in Arizona there are many sights that cannot be beat

    Take an adventure and you’re in for a treat

    But the question is: can you take the heat?

    -

    The road trip of Katie and Kate

    One of my favorite family vacations to date

    A total of 1,000 miles on highways, back roads, and the interstate

    Because to be a tourist in your own state

    Our history and land I did appreciate

    So, take my advice a visit to Arizona is terrific and great

    But please remember to wear sunscreen and hydrate!

    5. The Grand Canyon

    A natural wonder that is utterly cool

    The only place in America where post is “Mailed by Mule”.

    Coming here will make you feel as tiny as a molecule.

    Here I welcome you to the Grand Canyon- Arizona’s crown jewel.

    -

    Come with me and I’ll be your guide.

    Step up to the rim and you’ll go wide-eyed.

    And walk the Trail of Time in stride.

    Or journey to the bottom by mule ride.

    Sit on the rocks at Hopi Point to watch the sunset, and great pictures it will provide.

    Be careful and cautious as people have died.

    But you won’t find another place worldwide.

    You will stand there in awe and put your worries aside.

    That give you this feeling like no other, 100% bona fide.

    6. Route 66

    Our trip is not yet finished and would not be complete.

    Without a visit to America’s most famous street.

    Route 66 is a step back in time where nostalgia is sweet.

    Where the oldies music makes your heart skip a beat.

    The bright neon lights are the first thing you greet.

    And to take a stroll in the evening the mood is pleasant and upbeat.

    7. A Summer in South Korea

    I got an email of an opportunity I could not forgo.

    At first I was nervous but soon realized I could not say no.

    That summer I traveled to South Korea to teach in Jeollanam-do.

    The Korean cuisine, culture, and language I came to know.

    And soon I was saying “Anyoung haseyo”,

    Which is a greeting that means hello.

    To teach English at a summer camp as a person I did grow.

    In every single aspect from head to toe.

    This amazing experience I thank you so much, and gratitude is what I will show.

    When it was at the end I shed a few tears, as I did not want to go.

    8. The London Underground

    Being in London you might take the Underground,

    So here are fun facts and a little how-to:

    -

    In 1863 the Underground made its debut.

    The city of London it does run through.

    And despite its name only 45% is underground- which I never knew.

    -

    There are 12 lines which have different colors, so here is a little preview:

    Piccadilly is dark blue and Victoria is light blue.

    Northern is black and Jubilee is grey; which leave from Waterloo.

    Central is red while Waterloo & City is a turquoise hue.

    Hammersmith & City is pink, and going from east to west is what it will do.

    Circle & District are yellow and green, yes this is true.

    Metropolitan magenta, Overground orange, Bakerloo brown are alliterations, a helpful clue.

    And Elizabeth line is purple which very soon will be brand new.

    -

    And during rush-hour there will be a queue.

    So please mind the gap as you might fall through.

    And mind the closing doors or you might lose a shoe.

    If you are ill and go ach-oo!

    Please use your elbow, a handerkerchief or tissue.

    And one last reminder always be nice to the underground crew.

    9. Maynooth, Ireland

    Here is where my journey does start.

    Chased my dreams and followed my heart.

    Moved to Ireland, my first time apart.

    The scenery is beautiful, a real work of art.

    And how sad it is when we have to part.

    -

    Maynooth in County Kildare is a small Irish town.

    A lovely little place all around.

    And it feels like my second hometown

    When I return you will never see me frown.

    The time I spent here was the best hands down.

    -

    Many people here are kind and polite.

    The restaurants, cafes, and pubs are an absolute delight.

    Thursday nights at the Roost walking home under the streetlight.

    To friends I met here I know one day we’ll reunite.

    -

    If you want a place to read or write.

    Walk down to Carton House, it’s a peaceful and a wonderful site.

    Make a wish on a dandelion and it’ll fly away like a kite.

    Taking your dream far away and out of sight.

    -

    I’m so thankful that I took that leap

    And forever these memories I will always keep

    When I left many tears I did weep

    I will dream of Ireland in my sleep

    And remember I’m the girl from Arizona who’d never seen a sheep

    Farewell Study Abroad

    In 2015, I studied abroad at the University of Nottingham in England. Here are 11 poems that I wrote at the end of my semester abroad to remember the different countries I traveled to.

    1. Nottingham, England
    2. Wollaton Park
    3. London
    4. Paris
    5. Finland
    6. Ireland
    7. Glasgow
    8. Edinburgh
    9. Amsterdam
    10. Brussels
    11. Portugal

    On my trip abroad I visited eight countries I must confess.

    And all were a 100% terrific success.

    If you ask me to go back my answer will surely be a yes.

    As you travel the world the possibilities are endless.

    And when you follow your heart don’t stress.

    Wherever you go you’ll be happy nonetheless.

    1. Nottingham, England

    About my study abroad this rhyme I wrote.

    So rather than writing a boring old note.

    Here is my funny little anecdote…

    -

    From Arizona to England I went.

    A semester at the University of Nottingham I spent.

    The buildings are quite nice especially Portland, Pope, and Trent.

    Watching the geese and squirrels by the lake made me happy and content.

    And at the end I can say my time here, was time well spent.

    2. Wollaton Park

    Wollaton Park is my favorite bar none.

    And here is Wayne Manor from the Dark Knight, a fact that is fun.

    The tree lined road is perfect for a walk or a run.

    I would sit by the lake and write a postcard to a loved one.

    It’s indescribable what I felt to be here on a day under the sun.

    Watching the geese waddle to the lake one by one.

    Tis a writer’s dream and gave me inspiration to know I’ve only just begun.

    There are poems to come, and I’m not yet done!

    3. London

    London by National Express to and fro.

    The view from Primrose Hill is beautiful you must know.

    And a walk through Hyde Park I would never say no.

    Where the world is split in two we did go.

    At the Heart of London, Trafalgar Square had a majestic glow.

    Borough Market, the Tower Bridge, even a Shakespeare show.

    The River Thames and Camden Town we checked off the map.

    But if you travel to London always remember to please Mind the gap.

    4. Paris

    It was Paris at the end of February.

    To the city of love my heart I did carry.

    A walk along the Seine and Montmartre were visionary.

    Notre Dame, the Eiffel Tower, and Versailles were exemplary.

    Not to mention the Catacombes, the world’s biggest ossuary.

    5. Finland

    18 Pounds by RyanAir I flew.

    So here I present Finland without further ado.

    Both Suomenlinna and Seurasaari had a breathtaking view.

    The reindeer was delicious, and so was the stew.

    Your composer Jean Sibelius I love this is true.

    My friend you are remarkable and want to thank you.

    But to the Emerald Isle it was time I said adieu.

    6. Ireland

    To Ireland I went right over.

    The land of Guinness and the shamrock clover.

    Saw an old friend I hadn’t seen in a while.

    To my home away from home I sure did smile.

    Malahide, Howth, and Wicklow too!

    Because here is where they filmed P.S. I Love You.

    7. Glasgow

    From Dublin to Glasgow our plane did go.

    Onwards to Scotland, home of Andy Murray the tennis pro.

    The university looked like Hogwarts from head to toe.

    And Kelvingrove housed Dali, Sir Roger, and Victor Rousseau.

    To the guitar player with dreadlocks, you gave an excellent show.

    But next was Edinburgh, to which we said hello.

    8. Edinburgh

    The tales of the stone, Greyfriars Bobby, and the stool were a feat.

    Not to mention JK Rowling and Harry Potter, which was actually pretty neat.

    Next we climbed up Sir Arthur’s Seat to a view that you could not beat.

    And walked on cobblestones up and down High Street.

    Lunch next to the Heart of Midlothian, our meal deals we did eat.

    But here is the end, our trip is complete but saying goodbye I felt bittersweet.

    9. Amsterdam

    12 hours by Megabus across the sea.

    To the city of Amsterdam we said yippee!

    Eating Febo, fries, and stroopwafles with glee

    Canals and bikes are everywhere don’t you agree?

    Anne Frank, Van Gogh, and Vondelpark we did see.

    But now to Brussels because today was day three.

    10. Brussels

    The Heart of Europe was simply bliss.

    We saw the Atomium, Grand Palace and even Manneken Pis.

    The chocolate was pure decadence even better than a Kiss.

    And on our tour, it was said that building is pretty but please reminisce.

    Because it came at a great cost and people don't usually remember this.

    With my two friends I had a lovely time and La Belgique I will miss.

    11. Portugal

    A trip to Portugal we did adore.

    Guarda and the Serra da Estrela we did explore.

    We even picked cherries till we could pick no more.

    The Little Venice of Portugal and Costa Nova were certainly not a bore.

    And the tasty cuisine of the pastry, Port Wine, and even the cod

    In Porto, the view over the Douro River at sunset is something I applaud.

    I will forever say ‘Muito Obrigada’ to my lovely friend for our wonderful time abroad.

    Want more poems? Here's what the future of Poems & Postcards look like:

    • Cruising Alaska

    • New England & Canada Cruise

    • The Big Apple

    • Exploring Cote d’Azur: The cities of Southern France

    • Life in London

    • Day Trips in England: Oxford, Cambridge, Brighton

    • Scottish Highlands Tour

    • A Weekend in Barcelona

    • Life in a Small French Town

    • Tulips in Amsterdam

    • The Sights of Vienna, Prague, and Budapest

    solo travel
    1

    About the Creator

    Katlyn Campbell

    Traveler. Teacher. Poet. Writer. Photographer.

    Inspired by the places I've called home 🇺🇸🇮🇪🇰🇷🇬🇧🇮🇹🇫🇷

    IG: @katlyn.campbell

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.