Wander logo

Oktoberfest and 3 Tips When Traveling Anywhere

Memories made in Germany

By Kendall PolandPublished 3 years ago 6 min read

Oktoberfest and 3 Tips When Traveling Anywhere

When I was a junior in college I travelled to Rome, Italy for a semester abroad. I was with a group of people heading to Oktoberfest for the weekend in hopes to celebrate it at the original spot, Germany! We went to a special dress shop that sells the costumes we needed to fit in. This place was like a big carnival, with massive tents that hold thousands of people from all over the world. My biggest worry of the night was getting back to my campsite. I had no way of knowing when the public transportation closed and I did not have any directions of how to get back.

Painted on the streets leading up to Oktoberfest in Germany.

Two younger fellas from the hostel my friend was staying at walked us into Oktoberfest. They were American like us. One of them wanted to get us a drink. He walked right up to the side of the building where the waitresses were stationed and asked for a beer. I just stood there so embarrassed. I knew that these boys had no idea what they were doing. They were trying to be pros and failed in the first couple of minutes. The first thing you learn online about Oktoberfest is you have to be seated to be served. My friend and I ditched them and went to another tent.

The tent we went to was packed, body to body. It was like rows of long, skinny lunch tables and people everywhere. My friend and I sat down with random people that didn’t speak much English. They ordered each of us a stein, which is like this big 1-litre cold beer. It was the most delicious beer I ever drank and it wasn't too heavy in my stomach. We tried to get to know the guys we were sitting with. I tried on one guy's hat and he tried on my flower crown.

We hardly had any kind of conversation but we tried to speak to one another and asked questions. Where are you from? What language do you speak? What do you like to do? After a while, we found someone who spoke enough English to have a conversation with. The music was loud and there was a lot of people talking and singing along. People yelled at the top of their lungs while standing on the chairs and tables to dance. It was some scene to see.

Crowded with people.

My friend and I needed to pee so we walked to the bathroom. She led the way and I was behind her making sure that she was going where she needed to go. We got to the bathrooms and there was a line of 25 women. She turns to me and says, “Oh my gosh, I have to throw up! I think I am going to puke.” I panicked as she pulled on my hand and ran her way to a stall that just opened up. Then this girl just shuts the door and acts as nothing happened.

“Don’t you have to puke?” I asked.

“No, I just said that so we could cut the line.” I just looked at her shocked and laughed. Clever girl that she was. When we got back we continued drinking and ordered ourselves a huge pretzel. When the pretzel came the waitress told the amount to pay. My friend told the waiter, "The person that said he was going to pay will be back any second." Everyone stared at each other, waiting. She made me so uncomfortable by making the waitress wait for the money. The waitress almost had to take our food back because it was taking too long. Finally one of the guys at the table took out his wallet to pay. I would have been willing to pay but she sneered at my whispered comment and told me the guy will pay.

I was having a wonderful night but every time I looked at the clock anxiety raced through me because I did not know when the public transportation system was going to close. I had to take a train and a bus ride back to the campsite. Mind you, I had no internet, no address, no one to accompany me. I spoke not one word of German and everthing around me was in German; traffic signed, street names, menus, words of any kind. I had no idea how to even say hello in German let alone what stop I had to get off at to catch the bus. It was solely up to me to get home. Those were the most uncertain times. My friend that I was with had it so easy. She was within walking distance of her hostel. So, I left with God, got on the train and wished for the best.

While I was on the train I still had on my costume from the festival and it screamed tourist. So I found a woman and started talking to her. She spoke fluent English and she kept me safe. On the outside, I made it seem like I knew exactly where I was going and what I was doing, but on the inside, I was a fish out of water. I remember I told her I had no idea what stop I had to get off at. I definitely felt the energy shift but tried to help me. I told her I will figure it out. On her stop, she wished me luck and went on her way. One or two stops after her I got off the train. I walked to the bus stop to a group of people that were waiting and I asked if they were headed to the campsite. They said YES! Safely home to my tent I went!

The tents where I slept for two nights.

This trip was so much fun. I cannot wait to go again. When travelling alone I found it very overwhelming and hard to take everything in. So much of your energy goes into staying safe and making sure you don't get lost. Being as young as I was terrified me since I have seen the movie Taken and I know that the events in the movie happen in real life. Whether the places in the film are true or not, sex slavery and illegal prostitution still exist. So here are my 3 biggest tips while travelling.

Number one rule when travelling: Look it up to know what to expect.

Look up Oktoberfest on Youtube and watch all the fun facts about it. Learn the culture and the customs so you don’t act like a fool. You will learn everything you need to know about anything and then some if you can look online before going.

Number two: Always be aware of your surroundings and bring a buddy.

Creeps exist, they come in all shapes and sizes, and they will steal your wallet with no remorse. Make sure your belongings are in your view at all times, zipped up and covered by clothing or your arm. Know how to politely respond to people that speak different languages. Do not ignore anyone that seems upset by something you could have accidentally done. Smile, nod, and apologize. Then get out of the situation and into a safe place away from danger. Having another person with you helps in difficult situations.

Number Three: Save up enough money to splurge.

You want to enjoy all the different aspects of travel; food, clothes, more food, drinks, entertainment, travel, etc. Having enough money and in the correct money currencies is important. It is not every day you get some stranger buying you drinks and food. Which you shouldn't accept if you did not see the drink poured or brought out by the waiter. Always report suspicious behaviour and don't take your chances, play it safe. But don’t be afraid to try new foods, drinks or fun activities. You are going to have a blast!

Safe Travels!

europe

About the Creator

Kendall Poland

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kendall PolandWritten by Kendall Poland

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.